This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr S & Ms H from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

A superb trip from start to finish

Namibia between 2 Nov 2010 and 20 Nov 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"A stunning and memorable holiday. We had high expectations from friends who had visited Namibia and we were not disappointed. We have every intention of returning to the country to see new places and revisit others we enjoyed on this trip - notably Mundulea.

A real bonus was the pleasure of Sabina's company during our stay in Mundulea. Great fun and a good ambassador for Namibia and Expert Africa.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

There were a couple of occasions where we would have felt safer in 4wd - for example, we experienced pretty unseasonal rain at Little Kulala and on the journey back to Windhoek.

Most other travellers seemed to be in large, clumsy looking Toyotas, which seemed like overkill. There must be something in between - in fact, we saw a 4wd version of our Nissan X-trail. Could you track down a smallish 4wd?"

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2010
"A very good standard across the board, relaxed style and very welcoming.

The drive from Windhoek is not long or demanding, the activities are not too strenuous, so a good place to acclimatise at the start of the holiday."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2010
"We were somewhat apprehensive about staying here in advance of our trip, having had mixed feedback from friends and fearing it might be too commercialised.

In fact, we liked it very much - well run, delightful accommodation, very enjoyable game drives and a thoroughly professional and friendly staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Mundulea Reserve review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2010
"The clear highlight of our holiday - loved every minute of it.

Bruno Nebe is a wonderful host and inspirational guide. He has also built a camp with the best showers we found in Namibia. The camp has everything except mains electricity, which we did not need.

We left Mundulea on a high, much better informed and keen to return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2010
"Mowani has a stunning location and had been highly recommended by friends who had visited several years ago. Everywhere we went in Namibia , the staff were great and we felt that Mowani's were probably the best we encountered, so praise indeed.

Somehow, it didn't quite fulfil expectations and was probably the only place that disappointed in any way. Our luxury room was a good size, well furnished and had great views but the shower was erratic (too hot or too cold) and the bathroom did not deserve the luxury designation - tired, stained plumbing and fittings, cracked shower waste.

Quality of food ingredients was high, but vegetables at dinner dull (plain boiled everything) and usually cold.

The camp has recently had a new manager who perhaps has not yet had chance to make his mark - it feels to us that this place is trading on its reputation. We would hesitate to recommend it on this showing - it's excellent in some things and distinctly below average in others."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2010
"A friendly and unusual place to stay. Not luxurious but very comfortable with good food, wine and a charming host.

Would definitely stay there again if we visit Swakopmund."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2010
"A luxurious camp that lived up to expectations - all the more impressive since it is so very remote and isolated.

The scenery and isolation appealed to us very much. In common with our experience throughout Namibia, the staff were very warm, friendly and excellent at their jobs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 18 Nov 2010
"A lovely small hotel and a very practical place to stay for our final night in Namibia. We were well looked after and well fed.

Useful to find internet access available for checking onward travel arrangements and the like."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team