This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs C from Edinburgh

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Zambia/Namibia Trip - Amazing!

Namibia and 1 other country between 23 Oct 2009 and 16 Nov 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an absolutely amazing trip to Zambia and Namibia and a lot of this was thanks to the excellent advice and recommendations from the Expert Africa Staff and the reviews of previous customers on the website.

Everything worked like clockwork and we would definitely use Expert Africa again. Indeed we have already recommended you to a couple of our friends planning Africa holidays....

Suggestions for improvements:

We were very impressed with the service - cannot fault it. It was especially helpful getting notes on the trip, maps etc prior to departure."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2009
"We absolutely loved our stay at Chongwe and cannot fault it in any way - all of the staff go out of they way to make sure that you have everything to make your stay enjoyable and you are made to feel so welcome that you really start to feel like part of the family.

All of the activities were excellent and the guides were very knowledgeable. There are also a good number of choices of activities from canoeing to fishing to walking safaris and game drives so you will never be bored. You are also very much in charge of your own itinerary and the staff will do all they can to make sure that you do whatever activity you fancy on a particular day.

I must also mention the food as this particularly good - the best we had on our 3 week holiday. I would recommend Chongwe without any hesitation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2009
"We stayed at the Zambezi Sun purely because of the location and in this respect it was excellent - we could wander down to the falls on our own and it was close the other activities on offer - white water rafting etc. We were not expecting much from the hotel itself but were actually pleasantly surprised - there were a lot of Saga tours and kids but the breakfast was good and the rooms were clean and you can easily eat/drink at the neighbouring Royal Livingstone (which we did) to get away from the tour groups.

The activity centre on site was very helpful in booking activities. If you want to stay close to the falls but do not want to pay the higher prices of the Royal Livingstone then I would definitely recommend the Zambezi Sun. It is not luxury but has everything you need if your focus is more on the falls and the various adrenalin activities on offer in the area."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Hilltop House review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2009
"We only stayed at Hilltop House for 2 separate nights when we arrived in Namibia and before we departed. The time we actually spent at Hilltop was therefore very limited.

We found the set up a bit strange and felt a bit awkward as though we were intruding in the owners' house. When we returned to Hilltop before departing the owner showed no recognition of the fact that we had stayed there only 6 days previously and did not ask us about our trip. It would have been a nice touch to remember us (there are only a few rooms and they were not all full so it would not have been that hard!).

The room itellf was nice enough and the breakfasts were good but I would probably not recommend Hilltop to others simply due to the fact that we did not really relax or feel very comfortable here."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2009
"We had a great time at Okaukuejo. The accommodation was very nice, modern and clean and considering that they were catering for such large numbers, the food was excellent, especially the dinners where you had a choice of meats which were cooked in front of you.

It was a very different safari experience to the private game reserves but we really enjoyed having freedom to do our own thing and managed to see a lot of wildlife. The floodlit watering hole beside the camp was excellent for night time viewing. Before we went we worried that it might seem a bit like a stage show but the lighting was well done and it felt like you really were watching the animals in their natural environment.

There were organised game drives on offer but we did not take part in any of these - it is so easy to drive around yourself. The park is also very well set up and we could drive for long periods of time without seeing any other cars even though the camps were pretty full."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2009
"Villa Margerita was a lovely place to stay and an excellent location right in the centre of Swakopmund.

The breakfasts were delicious and the staff very helpful in recommending places for dinner, reconfirming activities etc.

The room and the communal areas were very stylishly decorated."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2009
"We loved Sossus Dune lodge - the individual huts were very well decorated and very clean. The location also cannot be beat for being able to get to the dunes for sunrise.

The food was great and the staff were helpful in giving us a packed breakfast the morning that we got up early to see sunrise. The staff were all very young and although very friendly and attentive they were perhaps lacking in knowledge slightly and when we asked questions about time of sunrise, best place to see sunrise etc nobody seemed to be able to answer our questions.

If the staff could perhaps be briefed on local knowledge (or indeed an information folder be put in the rooms) and this would perfect this otherwise great accommodation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team