This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs G from Bristol

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2013 trip

Zambia between 1 Jul 2013 and 13 Jul 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an absolutely fabulous trip. It met all our expectations and we will be planning a return trip to Africa sometime in the future.

We would definitely use Expert Africa again as you were very helpful, knowledgeable and provided the most competitive quote for our trip. Well done and thank you."

Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Flatdogs Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2013
"Great camp in a very convenient location. Very friendly and helpful staff with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Our luxury tent was superb with a great view of the river. Our guide Ed was excellent and provided a brilliant introduction to us as safari novices.

The only negative is that this is at the busier end of South Luangwa so there were a few times when we saw a lot of vehicles and some guides (thankfully none from Flatdogs) acting a little irresponsibly. This took the shine off our experience a little.

However this is still an excellent camp and brilliant value for money."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2013
"Chikoko Tree Camp is beautiful and in an amazing location. We had an absolutely fabulous time doing the Chikoko walking trail.

All the staff were incredible, the food fantastic and it was a real privilege to be guided by Isaac with his wealth of experience and slightly cheeky sense of humour.

We would thoroughly recommend a few days walking safari and couldn't imagine anywhere better to do it than here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Crocodile Bushcamp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2013
"See previous comments on Chikoko for our overall comments of walking the Chikoko walking trail, which was brilliant.

Of the two camps we preferred the accommodation and location of Crocodile slightly more. Sitting watching a herd of elephants surrounding the camp to feast on the ebony fruits was one of the highlights of our holiday.

With hindsight we might have spent 2 nights at Crocodile and 1 at Chikoko instead of the other way around. Better still would have been 2 days at each!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

"Kasaka River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2013
"The camp is very good value for money and set in a beautiful location on the river. We were very fortunate to be in Tent 1, which with its private deck and outside bath was wonderful.

The staff were all very friendly but lacked the detailed care and attention shown at the other camps we stayed at on our trip. Part of this is down to the shear variety of activities on offer with game drives, boat safaris, canoeing and fishing all on offer. All of this in a reasonably large camp does mean you meet many different guides and don't develop the individual relationship smaller camps offer. However it was really good to have so much to do.

The highlight of staying in the Lower Zambezi was definitely being able to get on the river and view the wildlife that way."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

"Tsika Island Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2013
"This was the highlight of our trip to Lower Zambezi. It felt like a mini expedition setting off to the island for the night. The island is beautiful and the accommodation the perfect balance between rustic charm and comfort.

We took the time to visit the local village and school, which was fascinating and put our whole trip into perspective. Spending the following day canoeing back to Kasaka was great fun and gave us some great wildlife sightings along the river.

We were surprised to find that not many people were aware of this being an option from Kasaka but would thoroughly recommend it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

"Kasaka River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2013
"See previous comments. [Ed: see below]"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2013
"If you want to be close to the Falls but not spend a fortune this is the place to stay. Superb location with easy and unrestricted access to the Falls.

We went back to seem them several times and at different times of the day to really appreciate them. The rooms are comfortable. The atmosphere and service is relaxed and efficient if a bit impersonal. Breakfast is very good but lunch and dinner seemed expensive and not great quality.

However it is a short walk to the Royal Livingstone for something a bit nicer and surprisingly not much more expensive."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team