This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Sparks and Shands in Namibia

Namibia between 14 Aug 2010 and 1 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"An excellent trip with many exceptional highlights, kayaking with Jeanne and walking at Sandwich Harbour with Ernst being among the best!. We would like to return as there is so much yet to see.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Maintain the present enthusiasm and attention to detail."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Overnight stay at start of trip"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2010
"Friendly welcome. Clean and spacious. Taxi organised for evening trip to and from Windhoek. Excellent breakfast."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2010
"Excellent, friendly welcome with chilled drinks and towels after lengthy drive. Superb location, excellent sunset and stars.

Food and service efficient, friendly and first class. Welcome drinks and snacks for our companions' anniversary very well received. Toiletries excellent! Bed rolls on roof to sleep under stars magical experience, comfortable and warm. Very accommodating with early wake up and breakfast before our trip to Sossosvlei. Lovely place to stay.

Some difficulty paying with card and time taken making up bill delayed early departure."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"First class guide made our visit memorable."

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2010
"Welome and briefing by Uska our guide. He was friendly, helpful and informative. His personality and sense of humour enhanced our visit.

Accommodation was superb, spacious, luxurious and pristine. Food was generous and first class, beautifully prepared and presented. All day drive with Uska was a pleasure. He explained all aspects of the landscape, flora and fauna...not to mention the fairy circles! we saw giraffes and kudu as well as the more prolific oryx, ostrich, springbok etc. Lunch was delicious and he was an entertaining companion. Uska's sundowner drive was a highlight of our trip for location, ambience and company.

Dining with other guests was most enjoyable. Dining area is warm, welcoming and beautifully presented. Special mention to Andy Smith and his delivery of the menu in Click language with his special brand of humour. An excellent visit all round.

Absolutely brilliant packed lunches for our trip....excellent, different class."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Wine tasting extraordinaire"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2010
"Superb! A real treat, Sam is a character and made us so welcome. Swakupmund may have been wet and cold but Sam's Giardino was warm and welcoming. Wine tasting with Sam was entertaining and educational.....we went on to sample several of the bottles from his cellar during our stay.

The first night we had dinner in the "cave" which was cosy and intimate. Dinner was delicious and service excellent. Very comfortable rooms overlooking the garden. Excellent breakfasts with vast array of cereals, preserves, bread etc. and fantastic cooked breakfast to start the day's activities. Beethoven was a hit with our party.

Excellent choice for a stay by the sea and so close to town."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge

"one night only"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2010
"Lovely location, accommodation adequate but sadly lacking in any ambience.

Staff did not seem to be managed in any way and there was no organisation as such. Dinner was ok but only one person seemed to serve many guests....a bit like a school dining hall. We left before dessert as there was little atmosphere and had a drink back at our chalets.

Management issue, not staff."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Desert Elephants experience"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2010
"We loved it! Superb location, game drive to track desert elephants and sundowner with Ignatius were memorable! Accommodation excellent. Outside shower choice and beds which can be rolled out under the stars......fantastic. Very spacious accommodation, excellent bathrooms all first rate and well designed, very comfortable.

Food excellent and a highlight was being entertained by staff after dinner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2010
"Really liked it here. Quiet, loved the rooms especially tin bath and CD reflectors on lights!

All very welcoming."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2010
"Excellent accommodation, more hotel than camp in style. Food very good, staff friendly and helpful as in all camps.

Swimming pool freezing but we did enjoy a dip after game viewing!

Beds and linen luxurious!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2010
"Magnificent setting! Brilliant camp/ back to nature!

Drive into the camp beats any fairground ride! Food superb. Guided walk informative and very enjoyable. Fantastic views from summit, excellent guide. Attention by staff was superb.

Private anniversary dinner for our companions was quite remarkable and made it a very special occasion and stay.

Really enjoyed our stay here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team