This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The Ramblers from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Namibia: potholes but no pitfalls

Namibia between 13 May 2011 and 29 May 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our 2 week tour of Namibia was the best holiday ever. After fears that our plans would be scuppered by the exceptional rains in April / early May, we were blessed with no rains during our visit, and completed our planned route despite the many appalling potholes and water-filled 'dips' in both the gravel roads and also within Windhoek itself. Sabina was diligent in juggling lodge reservations to fit in with the dates we could make, and was happy to discuss and provide advice whenever necessary - many thanks. We were struck by the variety of the places we saw - Klein Windhoek & Katatura township; delightful walks amongst wild flowers and along gorges in the Naukluft mountains; the sweltering desert heat in the dunes at Deadvlei; indulgent seafood and historic architecture in sunny Swakopmund; more walking in the rocky Erongo mountains; and a wealth of animals at Etosha and Okonjima."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 14 May 2011
"A pleasant if rather impersonal place to stay, with a good breakfast buffet and eggs cooked to order, and tea & coffee available all day. On arrival we were given a printed sheet warning us about muggings on tourists and advising us to take a taxi to and from the restaurant in the evening. On a weekday evening we drove into the centre of Windhoek and parked outside a restaurant where car-guards operate, and did not feel threatened or at risk in doing this. We enjoyed wonderful food at Gathemann's in a lovely old fashioned setting, also lunch on the terrace at Cafe Zoo was most enjoyable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2011
"This was the most enjoyable place we stayed at, because of the friendly, family atmosphere around the shared dinner table, and the chance to converse with fellow guests of various nationalties. The food was good homely cooking of a high standard. We were upgraded to one of the new rooms which were spacious and comfortable. The walking trails on the Bullsport land are very well marked and the Naukluft mountains are beautiful with the chance to see kudu, klipspringer, dassies & baboons. We also did the Olive Trail in the Naukluft National Park while at Bullsport - this was a lovely walk but the infamous chains section above the pools in the gorge was more difficult than expected. The access to the start of the Olive Trail was by 4x4 or high-clearance 2WD."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2011
"The rooms are comfortable and well equipped if rather dark, and there is the option of an outside bathroom, which we did not use in the chilly May nights. The food is of a high standard and the staff attentive. The location near to Sesriem is excellent for access to Soussusvlei. We'd like to highlight the helpfulness of the manager David, who was so kind when our car failed to start on the morning when we were to drive to Swakopmund."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2011
"Good location and very helpful reception staff who booked restaurants for us. Free internet access was appreciated. The breakfast buffet was varied and eggs were cooked to order. After consulting the reception staff we walked to the restaurants, taking minimal valuables, and felt safe doing so, despite reports of muggings on tourists. We would recommend the seafood at both The Tug and especially The Jetty. We enjoyed exceptional weather while at Swakopmund and would have appreciated more time there as there is plenty to see and do both there and at Walvis Bay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2011
"The setting of this camp is lovely, as is the opportunity to walk directly from the site and see baboons, dassies, lovebirds etc, and the self-guided Eagle walk and the guided Sundowner walk & 6am walk were very enjoyable, and Gelasuis our guide was friendly and informative. The accommodation was the least comfortable of any on our trip - the tent flapped noisily all night in the chilly brisk wind, which also made the outside bathroom distinctly unwelcoming (unlike Hoodia there is no inside alternative). Maybe in summer the tents would be more appealing, but in early winter they spoilt an otherwise pleasant stay."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2011
"Although much larger than the other places we stayed in, this was an enjoyable stay. The restaurant is busy and large but the self service buffet is of a fairly good standard. The location within the park boundaries is excellent, as is the waterhole on site, at which we saw large herds of zebra and an elephant at sunset."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2011
"Staying at Okonjima for the last night of our trip was special and we regretted not staying longer to enjoy more of the facilities. Our View room was enormous and superbly equipped. Our guide Daniel was excellent on the leopard tracking and we were delighted to see not just a leopard munching on a steenbok, but other game too. The evening meal was of a very high standard and the staff helpful. The camp is 24km / half an hour along a rough track, and you need to time your arrival before the activities start at 15:30 (winter)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team