This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs T Mrs N from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Amazing experience

Namibia and 1 other country between 29 Apr 2011 and 19 May 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"One of the best holidays we have ever had. What an adventure. The organisation was second to none. We could do it all over again. Indeed we didn't want to come home!!

Recommend you change the Mazambala though - unless there is a change of management!

You will undoubtedly be hearing from us again"

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 30 Apr 2011
"The only problem is the location. It is a little way from anywhere to eat and due to a late take off from London causing us to miss our connecting flight to Windhoek, it was 7:30pm in the evening by the time we found Hus Sonnneneck. We had been up for 30 hours, had difficulty finding it and really only wanted to collapse in a heap not go out to find a restaurant.

However we were made very welcome and provided with a very large plate of cheese sandwiches, accompanied by a glass of wine so we survived!! I can see that the close proximity of Haus Sonneneck to the B1 and start of our journey the following day was probably the reason it was chosen."
Good
Location
Poor
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2011
"Very good food and service. Trips very well organised and interesting"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2011
"Beautifully appointed rooms. Great attention to detail. Very, very helpful and courteous. Excelletn food and service"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2011
"Lovely location, excellent service and food. Great excursion with very helpful and informative guide"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2011
"We appreciate that this camp is a very different venue to our other lodges, vaguely reminscent of a 1950's Butlins Holiday Camp, however it doesn't excuse the very rude and disinterested welcome we received on arrival. Although the rooms were quite well appointed and very clean they were rather claustrophobic.

The food left a lot to be desired (but perhaps we had been spoilt) and again the service was generally unfriendly.

We enjoyed the Etosha reserve and wouldn't have missed the experience. The food. rooms etc didn't matter that much is was just we were made to feel as though we were a bit of nuisance!"
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2011
"Lovely setting. Excellent service and food. Every attention to detail. What a difference to the previous place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 May 2011
"A very different experience. Really enjoyed it. Excellent food and service. Very friendly staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2011
"There are no words to describe how wonderful it was. Truly our favourite place! Stunning location, great food and wonderful company. Horst and Chris were great mine hosts. We were very spoilt as we had their undivided attention because no one else was staying.

We experienced two of the most magical river cruises and a truly memorable game drive with Chris in the Mahangu National Park where we saw just about every species in the park.

Sleeping under canvas with a hippo waking you up at 5 in the morning thrashing about in the mud 3 yards away was to say the least a very interesting experience!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Mazambala Island Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Mazambala Island Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 May 2011
"Beautiful location, excellent trips but poor service from all the staff bar the guides.

The chalets were so close together you could hear personal convesations, they were very dark and gloomy and not overly clean.

The food was very average and invariably cold with birds pecking away at the breakfast cereal! The service in restaurant was poor. It was hard to get anyones attention and even when you did they often forget to bring you what you had ordered. Most of the staff seemed totally in thrall to the owner who was more interested in entertaining his own personal guests than his paying ones!

Although he was on hand to greet us and also to say goodbye he very rarely acknowleged us at any other time and I have to say his manner was somewhat repellent.

It was the only place we visited that didn't take credit cards and as we were nearing the end of our trip we had run down our Namibian dollars. We fortunately had some US dollars with which to settle our account but people should be informed that there is no credit card facility at this lodge or suggest they change their policy"
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2011
"Very impressed. Lovely hotel, excellent food and service. Good facilities.

Wilderness Safari provided fantastic service and were on time to pick us up from Kasane, take us across the Zanbesi, take us through customs and deliver us to our hotel. Also arranged a helicopter trip and sunset cruise"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team