This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs B & Ms W from Surbiton

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

Serengeti & Rubondo

Tanzania between 1 Feb 2013 and 9 Feb 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We visited in February and felt as if we had the Serengeti all to ourselves. It was the wildebeest calving season in the southern Serengeti which attracts several tourists. We saw plenty of calves but very few other tourists because of Ubuntu's location and the northern Serengeti was virtually deserted by visitors but full of "normal" resident wildlife.

Rubondo was the perfect ending - an unspoilt island with a new chimp tracking project. Serengeti and Rubondo together were a great combination."

Feedback response

In the sake of good order - as with the trip below, this party consisted of a mother and daughter, and the daughter is a journalist for whom this trip was an individual press trip - and it cost less than usual. However, her mother was travelling on a normal basis, paying for her trip as any other travellers would have done so.

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

"Wildebeest calving season at Ubuntu"

2 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2013
"A long way from the airport but also a long way from other camps which gave us a feeling that we had the plains and the little wildebeest calves to ourselves.

For a mobile camp, the accommodation, facilities and food were all excellent. Our guide Makubi was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and fun, and Meleijahas our Maasai warrior was exceptional - spending time with him was a great experience and he spotted wildlife, particulalry cheetah, that were way in the distance."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

"Out of season Sayari"

2 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2013
"A beautiful, peaceful camp. John and Carol were the perfect hosts, welcoming and great company.

The wildlife out of the wildebeest season was superb, we saw plenty of big cats, zebra, elephants and even rhino and had the perfect sundowner watching a leopard in a tree with a kill then moving on to a lioness with cubs playing on a boulder.

We really didn't want to leave this place!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rubondo Island Camp

Rubondo Island Camp

"Chimp Island"

4 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2013
"What a beautiful island! Forest walks with the chimpanzee researcher and trackers were fascinating - we got to learn all about their habits, nests, diet etc and my daughter actually saw chimps on a later walk she did but which I - sadly - didn't attend! It's not easy to spot them but Rubondo isn't just about the chimps - it has great birdlife and fishing (not our scene, but others would love it) and other wildlife too - we particularly loved Bella, the resident bushbuck.

In terms of the activities and facilities, it's a bit difficult to comment because we went before the camp was officially open and it wasn't completely finished (we did know this beforehand), so the swimming pool and reception area were still incomplete. However, the lounge and bar/dining area had stunning views across Lake Victoria and were extremely relaxing, the food was superb and the rooms well-equipped and beautifully located.

Some of the roads were also inaccessible (meaning we couldn't get to the area where the giraffes frequent) but were being repaired in time for the opening in June. Our grades therefore relate to the activities and facilities which were up and running at the time of our stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

The whole trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 5 Oct 2011 and 20 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"The itinerary worked really well - from a gentle start at Nkwali for my first time in the bush through to Nsefu, then microlighting at Tafika and culminating in an adventurous conclusion at Zebra Plains.

Seeing how local communities live also enhanced my experience as a whole.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

In the pre-departure information, there was very litttle about Zimbabwean visas. Although my daughter knew about these, I didn't and other customers may not."

Feedback response

In the sake of good order - we should say here that this party consisted of a mother and daughter, and the daughter is a journalist.

This was organised as an individual press trip for the daughter - and cost less than usual.

However, the mother (aged in her mid-70s) was travelling on a perfectly normal basis, paying for her trip as any one of our other travellers would have done so. It is the mother's comments which have been included in the various reviews, below.

Arranged By Claire Scott


Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2011
"A great place to start my first safari..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2011
"Another great camp. Elephants clearly thought so too because they stayed outside our room for an hour. Fortunately we were in the bar at the time, in the company of four guides, and had to stay there until the elephants left..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kawaza Village Visit

Kawaza Village Visit

"Kawaza"

8 Oct 2011 • Morning excursion

An inspiring experience!
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"A truly inspiring camp! We thoroughly enjoyed visiting Mkasanga village and school which Tafika supports through the Tafika Fund and would urge other guests to go to see another perspective of life in the bush. It seems that Tafika really makes a difference to the lives of people here.

In my mid-70s, I had my first flight in a microlight - a wonderful experience with exceptional views over the Luangwa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Zebra Plains, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Zebra Plains"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2011
"Zebra Plains provided one amazing experience after another, from our short canoe trip across the river on arrival to our final walk tracking a leopard, steering clear of a sleeping hippo and watching a herd of elephants as they walked close by. The staff here are excellent. This was my first safari, and everyone made me feel relaxed and safe and enhanced the whole experience.

Garth is a brilliant guide - fascinating, entertaining, informative and fun. We didn't walk with Malemia but he was charming company at mealtimes.

For such a remote location, the food was very good but I felt they were perhaps a bit too ambitious at times. Sometimes, the simple food was the best - like the delicious breads baked daily in their earth oven. Accommodation and facilities were comfortable and clean and it's good to know that the camp is removed at the end of each season leaving minimal impact on the environment.

For a camp that has only recently opened, everything ran very smoothly and professionally."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"Very relaxing end to our trip. Nathanda at Zambezi Safaris, the in-house tour operators, was excellent!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team