This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Kiwis in from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Family trip to Namibia

Namibia between 2 Jul 2012 and 17 Jul 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great holiday. There were certainly parts of the trip where it was more difficult for the 70+year old member of our family to manage and it would have may have been useful if the lodges we stayed at knew that one of the members of our group was older as we were put in some rooms that were quite a long distance away from the dining areas.

We would have probably liked an extra day in both Swakopmund and the Erongo Wilderness Lodge areas as there was not enough time to do what we wanted to do in these places.
We had a member of the group who is unable to eat certain foods and at all the accommodations we were very impressed with the catering for her.

A highlight for us was Etosha and this may have been further improved by having accommodation in the park at the Anderson Gate (this could have been highlighted to us when making the booking and we could have considered changing our travel arrangements to deal with this).

The Nissan vehicle we had was not at all comfortable in the back seat with 3 persons seated there.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Gwynneth did a great job organising this trip for us given the time frame from starting the booking to the date of travel. I wonder if more phone contact would have been useful to iron out little things that could have further improved the trip?"

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2012
"This was a gorgeous place to start our holiday. The manager was extremely helpful and attentive to questions."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2012
"Accommodation was very comfortable.

It would be good if the place had a bigger sign outside (we weren't the only guests to drive past the entrance)."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2012
"Desert Homestead was very comfortable.

Lighting to the rooms at night was not the greatest and it would have been useful if torches had been provided for the trip too and from the rooms in the evening. It would also have been useful to have some information in the rooms about the lodge and activities. Also not enough bedding (or a hot water bottle would have been good) to keep you warm in the winter nights!

The staff here were all very very good and we did do two of the activities offered. Both we thought were worth the money paid due to the guides' knowledge."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"A garden oasis"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2012
"Sam is a great host."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"N/A"

8 Jul 2012 • Morning excursion

N/A
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Loved our stay here"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2012
"We really enjoyed our stay here.

We went on the elephant trip on the afternoon we arrived and then the next day saw the same herd of elephants walking in front of the lodge when we were having afternoon tea. This was a relaxing place to stay, the rooms are beautiful and staff are great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

"Handy location"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2012
"It was good to have extra blankets as it was very cold at night here and there are gaps between the floor boards. Enjoyed the meals here.

No one advised us of any activities that were available."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2012
"This was a lovely place to stay, however our door blew open with the high winds overnight and it was not possible to secure the door latch so that this did not continue to happen, so we had to keep waking up to push the hook fully back down into the catch. We were the only guests to experience this as I heard some other guests mention that their door also flew open over night!

Could I suggest that the management look to have a more reliable method to secure the door?"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2012
"Once again a lovely place to stay with excellent staff on hand to make our stay special. Once again, extremely cold overnight, especially with the open floor boards!

The lighting on the paths to the tents could have been a bit better as some of the steps are quite uneven"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team