This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The B Party from Hampshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My June 2012 trip

Namibia between 8 Jun 2012 and 26 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our second trip and another great one. Namibia offers luxurious accommodation, delicious food and staff who love their job and country.

not to mention the breathtaking scenery and the fantastic wildlife.

Tourist numbers are noticeably down - so more people should visit !"

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Great food and welcome at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2012
"A welcome stop after a long sleepless night. An excellent light lunch and a siesta revived us for the rest of the day. The room was good as was the food and there was a comfortable lounge to sit in. wifi was available.

We were taken to see the new complex which was quite stunning. Very upmarket and expensive but great to see such beautifully designed rooms.

In winter the eating area was a bit chilly though there was a patio heater which helped."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Another great stay at Sossus Dune Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2012
"Our second visit and it was nice to see that standards hadn't dropped in the last 4 years.

All staff were friendly and helpful and, as is common in Namibia, very proud of their hotel.

The food was excellent with all meat dishes very tender.

The rooms are spacious and nicely designed and there is lots of hot water for the shower. Great view over the empty desert.

The complex must be well built as there was a tremendous gale on our first night with the wind howling all night - bit scary but we and the room survived !

there is a lovely lounge to sit in after dinner - but no one did so !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone - A pleasant play to stay"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2012
"Easy to find and safe to park.
Easy and safe to walk into town for restaurants etc.
Rooms based round an attractive courtyard.
Good breakfast in pleasant dining room
Owners helpful with suggestions on eateries etc."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas - a unique place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2012
"We were the only guests at Doro Nawas and were given exceptional service.

On our first night we were served dinner under the stars on the roof terrace. On our second night we ate by the swimming pool.

The first morning we left at 6am for our desert elephant trip. After a short ride we stopped to be treated to a surprise sit down breakfast and a welcome in song from the staff. They had been up for ages preparing every possible item you could possibly want on the camp fire. A magical experience and one we will never forget.

We had an excellent guide for our desert elephant trip and saw lots and lots of elephants as well as being given much information about the natural history of the area.

The rooms were very comfortable and spacious and the restaurant and lounge areas are attractive and comfortable. Splendid views from the terrace and the rooftop.

This is a "must" place to stay - for its location and for the elephants but what made our visit extra special was the amazing treatment we were given by the staff who couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay and who clearly enjoyed themselves too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great waterhole at Okakeujo"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2012
"Having stayed here before, i knew what to expect.

Think most people come for the waterhole which can be viewed 24 hours a day.

You wouldn't come for the food which, compared to everywhere else we ate, was poor. However, if you like self service and "eat as much as you like", then it's good.

The waterhole chalet was comfortable and the shower hot. But next time i would pay the extra for a preimum waterhole chalet which is far more luxurious.

Service generally was poor. The staff (with one exception) showed none of the enjoyment in their work that we saw elsewhere on our travels."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp beautifully designed"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2012
"What a lovely place to stay. So much thought has gone into the design of the complex.

Beautiful rooms, the best shower of the trip, and hot water bottles in the bed !

The lounge area is attractive, spacious and comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful and very proud of their hotel and the food was superb."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great trips at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2012
"We were lucky enough to be given an upgrade to the Bush Camp.

Rooms comfortable, food excellent and yet again friendly, helpful staff.

We did the leopard hunt (leopard finally spotted just before it got dark) and the cheetah hunt on foot. Would recommend both but would advise doing the leopard hunt in the morning rather than afternoon if possible as it got dark too quickly (5.30pm).

Only suggestion would be for the staff to give you a written outline of the various trips on offer on arrival - this is much easier to take in than the spoken word.

Restaurant was cold in the evening - more gas needed for the patio heaters !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team