This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr Nawas from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

Fantastic holiday - one of our best ever

Namibia between 27 Jul 2007 and 12 Aug 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Maruska was absolutely excellent and came back to us very quickly with an answer to every question we asked. The itinerary was perfect and we wouldn't have changed anything.

All the details which make a difference had been sorted out - I can't tell you how much nicer it is to find hotels expecting you to be a vegetarian than having to explain it at each venue as if they don't know.

The information you gave us in the form of maps and directions was also amazingly thorough."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Good start at Hilltop House"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2007
"A lovely room and delicious breakfast. Well situated - near enough to walk but quiet area.

An excellent place to start our holiday from.

Only reason to not give it full marks - we had asked if a table reservation could be made by the staff at HIlltop and when we got to the restaurant they had no record of it. Also, when we asked where the nearest supermarket was, they were unable to give us directions by car (I appreciate that they usually walk themselves!)"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Exceptional hospitality at Zebra River"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2007
"Rob and Marianne could not have been more welcoming. We were treated like friends in their home. The specially-made vegetarian food was absolutely delicious. Our room was lovely.

We loved the relaxed atmosphere and the dogs and all the staff were extremely friendly. For us the walking was fantastic - breathtaking scenery and easily-followed paths.

(If we hadn't had the massive good fortune to be upgraded to a 4x4 at the airport we would have found the approach very dodgy!)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Unforgettable dunes and ballooning at Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2007
"Again the hotel itself and our room were lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. Our trip to the dunes (Willem was an excellent guide) and the balloon flight were unforgettable.

The food was a little ordinairy for one meal. Much better for the other. But generally cold!

The swimming pool didn't look especially inviting when we arrived (there had been 10 oryx drinking from it the previous night!!) and there was some algae on the first day. It looked much cleaner the second day!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Wine, woofs and waves at Sam's!"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2007
"The decor in our room was a little ordinary compared to the other places we stayed in but the room was spacious and clean.

Sam was a very interesting host and again we loved the dogs. The lady on reception was also very helpful and had booked a boat trip for us within minutes of the request. We throroughly enjoyed Sam's wine-tasting session - learned a huge amount - and followed by the five course meal this made for a very contrasting evening from the rest of the holiday.

The Walvis Bay boat trip was fantastic!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Unforgettable - but very high!"

2 Aug 2007 • Morning excursion

This was fantastic -a lthough hadn't appreciated that we would be flying quite so high - I had some idea that we'd be scudding along ten metres above the dunes - so I'll admit to being a bit scared! But it was a great experience and I know Danny absolutely loved it.

Although the breakfast was lovely we both felt that he would have preferred the balloon flight to be (a bit) cheaper and not include the brekfast - it was special enough on its own.

The entire trip was extremely well organised and felt totally safe.

Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Unforgettable elephant excursions"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2007
"Our room was lovely (although we lost power for a short time one evening) and the setting of the hotel is stunning. A really beautiful hotel.

Our hotel-organised trips to see the desert-adapted elephants were fantastic - although on our first trip the clutch went on our way back and the hotel had to send out another vehicle to pick us up. We did feel that on our arrival back hotel staff might have shown a little concern - we had been sat in the cold and dark for more than half an hour - but no one asked if we were okay. We had to rush to get to dinner. The food was cold - and the portion of soup so small it could barely have been a spoonful. The food on our second night was much better.

We did drive out to Twyfelfontein which was very interesting to see - but spoilt by the fact we had the least enthusiastic guide we could ever remember having - anywhere! No tip! (Someone at the site - nothing to do with the hotel)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Wonderful Water Hole at Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2007
"The new decor was excellent (and unexpected). Lovely shower, taps, bedding, etc. It was still unfinished (gravel being laid outside) - but this was really not a problem although I think the first night we were there was the first time dinner had been served in a marquee (during the renovations) and it was rather average - and cold.

The water hole was fantastic - but any chance of suggesting it be made a 'no-smoking zone' for future watchers?!

Generally we were thrilled by the wildlife we saw in the park."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Amazing birds as Namutoni"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2007
"The room in Namutoni was gorgeous - although the open-plan toilet a little strange!

The water hole here was the least attractive and seemingly least visited of the three rest camps (we called in at Halali on our way through) however the bird's display as the sun set was absolutely incredible...What must have been millions of tiny birds appearing from all over the sky, swooping in huge flocks, landing on trees, lining up on the rushes and suddenly setting off again was breath-taking.

The food here was massively better than at Okaukejo - both dinner and breakfast very good.

The shop was not especially well stocked (compared to the other rest camps)

When we came to leave Etosha we could not find the form we had filled in on arrival. Although we eventually found it after a stressful 45 minutes which involved unpacking all our luggage and driving back to Namutoni - it would have been good to have known that we would need to show this on departure. The woman on the gate was not going to let us out without paying again if we couldn't find it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Magical finale at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2007
"Okinjima is a fantastic place to stay. The bungalows are beautiful. The main hotel lovely. The food was good (cold as usual!!). It was wonderful to sit out round the fire and enjoy a drink before dinner.

The activities are extremely well-organised and the chance to see the cheetahs and leopards at such close quarters is something we'll never forget.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly (although every time we went out being told or asked on our return if we had enjoyed our activitiy was a little excessive - a very small gripe)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team