This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Oxon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

Rwanda - an amazing trip

Rwanda between 26 Aug 2010 and 1 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved every second of the trip. Although we were only in Rwanda four nights we did so much it felt a lot longer. Visiting Kigarli and the genocide museum was an interesting and humbling experience. The country is beautiful and very clean. The people were welcoming and friendly where ever we went.

Seeing the gorillas was a memory we'll never forget. Every guide we had (I hope I have remembered their names correctly - Edward, Francis and Pappy) was excellent, very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Seeing the Golden Monkeys was another interesting experience and a great contrast to the gorillas.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Tracy has been great and has promptly answered any questions we have had. The service has been excellent this is the second time we have travelled with Expert Africa and will certainly do so again in the future."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Fantastic stay at Gorilla Mountain View Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2010
"We loved every minute at the lodge. The views were amazing. All staff were always happy, very friendly and helpful. The room was great - nice decor, large and clean. Due to the location we weren't expecting to have hot water any time of day but we did.

The food was good. Our only comment was it would have been nice to be given the option to try some local dishes. Our boots came back from cleaning after treks cleaner than when we had arrived. The children who came to do local dancing in the evening were very entertaining.

In a nut shell we couldn't fault anything with the lodge and would certainly go back again in the future.

Concerning the private guide that we organised for these travellers, they commented:

Guide in Rwanda - Johnson - an amazing person and guide

We can't praise Johnson enough. He was a fantastic guide. In the short time we were in Rwanda he gave us an amazing insight into the country, its people, history, culture and wildlife. He is a very knowledgeable and caring person.

Any requests we had he went out of his way to deliver.

We were sad to say goodbye and feel we have gained a new friend. We intend to travel back to Rwanda to see more of the country in the future and will definitely request Johnson as our guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Amazing Kwando safari camps

Botswana between 14 Nov 2007 and 24 Nov 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an amazing time. Everything was perfect. Not only were all aspects of the camps great we also met some lovely people also on holiday from different countries.

As mentioned perviously [Ed: in the reviews, see below!] the comment on the food was not a negative one just a suggestion as we like to try local/different food when we are on holiday. We appreciate to logisics of getting the food to the camps.

I think Botswana has really spolit us for a safrai holiday and will definalty look to return to another area of the county in the future."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Amazing Kwando safaris - Labala camp"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2007
"Two days was not long enough! The camp, it's staff, the food, our guide and tracker were all very good and friendly.

Our only comment (and this applies to all camps) is that when we were in Namibia a few years ago we tried different local game. The food we had here was very good but consisted of chicken, lamb and beef. The ostrich we had one night at Lagoon was a nice change and was lovely.

The animals we saw were amazing especially the lion cubs."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Amazing Kwando safaris - Lagoon camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2007
"The camp, it's staff, the food, our guide and tracker were all very good and friendly.

Although all our guides and trackers were excellent Kaybee and Baruti (sorry may have spelt names incorrectly) stood out. We tracked three cheetahs for well over an hour and found them. Following the wild dogs on a hunt was truely amazing.

The ostrich we had one night was lovely."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Amazing Kwando safaris - Kwara camp."

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2007
"The camp, it's staff, the food, our guide and tracker were all very good and friendly.

We think Kwara as a camp stood out over the others due to the view from our room, the camp and lookout town. Lazy afternoons were spent watching hippos in the lagoon and elephants, baboons and impala wander past."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team