This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms WM & Mr DS from Dublin

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2013 trip

Namibia between 22 Jul 2013 and 6 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Average
"Trip was nice but I became tired of the long car journeys torwards the end. Also, on balance, while we enjoyed our trip a lot, it was very very expensive we felt. Comparing our trip with holidays we've done down through recent years, Malaysia, Cuba, Mauritius, Egypt, Central America, we felt that our money for accommodation didn't really go very far! What I'm trying to say I guess, is that I feel you need to spend an excessive amount of money to stay somewhere nice in Namibia.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really. Angela was superb in helping us put our trip together. Expert Africa website is also superb."

Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2013
"We absolutely loved Okonjima.

We were given the honeymoon suite which was fabulous. A wonderful card and bottle of sparkling wine were left in our room from the Okonjima team which touched us very much.

The (honeymoon) chalet was really terrific. We felt very privileged to be staying there. :)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2013
"The most beautiful accommodation we stayed in during the trip. Rooms are beautiful and main 'house' of the outpost is gorgeous.

Food was fabulous."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2013
"Ongava Tented Camp was fabulous.

The staff have a way of making you feel like you're the only guests there. Activities were excellent and it afforded us our best wildlife spotting, rhinos and lions, of the holiday.

Exhilarating to hear lions roaring next to your tent!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

"Damara Mopane Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2013
"Accommodation a little dreary perhaps, in particular the bathrooms. I just felt a little more effort could've gone into the decoration of both the bedrooms and the bathrooms.

Among the nice things here were the food, it was excellent, the pool, largest we'd seen, and the deck for sundowner drinks was nice. We liked being able to dine as a couple also, as opposed to eating in a group.

On leaving we were given a little trinket with our names painted on it by the security man at the main gate. We thought it was so sweet & we wished we'd had more cash on us to give him a decent tip. It's actually very pretty & a nice idea. Don't know if he undertakes producing them personally or if it is done by the establishment."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2013
"I wasn't really looking forward to staying here as I thought it looked a little scary from the flier we'd been given, but it was actually fabulous!, a real surprise.

Reception very kindly gave us a family suite and it was superb! Oodles of space, kitchenette, two balconies, fabulous bathroom (well two actually!) and of course the restaurant there is tremendous and very very good value for money.

There was also a wood burning stove-type unit in one of the rooms which we absolutely loved. You have to supply your own wood & firelighters though, which of course isn't a problem at all."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2013
"Kulala Desert Lodge was really lovely.

Chalets are great and the reception/restaurant/main bar building is lovely also. It was the first place we'd seen any kind of Namibian singing and dancing and we really really enjoyed that! The manager there is lovely and treated us very very well.

We appreciated the opportunity to dine as a couple as well, which we welcomed from time to time, rather than having to eat in a group.

One thing which we felt was a real shame though is the fact that using their access to Namib-Naukluft Park is prohibited. We were getting a little fed up of driving at this point and the opportunity to use their access to the park would've been very much appreciated!, even if they'd wanted to charge a fee. I think they could meet people half-way and consider that their guests have paid money to stay there and some sort of deal would be worked out whereby guests can use the access to the N-N Park for a small fee, or no fee preferably!!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2013
"As with Damara Mopane, our room & bathroom here were a little dreary! We hadn't realised that there was an option for a nicer room at not much extra cost. Perhaps it wasn't available at the time but I feel it may have been, as not all of the better rooms looked to be occupied, but I could be wrong.

For me, Bullsport only has an interest as a stopover point. I thought the owner of Bullsport wasn't all that friendly, whereas I'd read somewhere that the welcome there was wonderful!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team