This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs B &co from Switzerland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2013 trip

Namibia between 31 Jul 2013 and 18 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Good
"We loved the whole Namibia adventure - the bush, the desert, the mountains and, of course the welcome of the people at all times. We will recommend it to our friends as a once in a lifetime African experience.

Due to the high season and the late booking, we were obliged to choose some accomodation which did not always meet our standards of comfort and food service. Unfortunately the last 3 accomodation choices were substantially inferior to the first 4 choices.

It would have been helpful to know in advance that the rooms and the tents would be very cold - at night and early morning - as they had no room heating. We weren't prepared (with the right clothing) at these times and for the game drives and this
did affect our health and thus our enjoyment.

This was made worse by the drought, which caused very low temperatures across the country early morning and late at night - less than 10° and -3 at Windhoeck on one morning!!

The advice and support ( patience !) of Gwynneth was outstanding at all times and greatly appreciated. This was an important part in the planning and the success of the holiday. So many thanks to her."

Image alt

N/a'n ku se

"N/a'n ku se review"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2013
"The lodge was great but we can' t make any comment about the game drive"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

"Okonjima Villa review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2013
"Memorable experience the service was first class staff and guide excellent Too good for the beginning !!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2013
"It was great. Nice tented camp : Unfortunately, the cold weather made the night in the tents very fresh

The game drive in the reserve was great but we didn't enjoy the etosha park -too touristic-"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2013
"We were very happy about this reserve because you can see rhino and lion in their perfect environment.

Lodge was very comfortable but the restaurant buffet service was average. the staff and guide were excellent"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2013
"In our room allocation, the junior suite was inferior to the double room -
(1) the shower and wc were only outside . With the cold weather, we couldn't take a morning shower.
(2) the junior suite did not have a terrace with a view at all compared with the double room which had a nice terrace with a good view
(3) The food was disappointing
We expected much more from this Camp"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Atlantic Villa Guesthouse, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Atlantic Villa Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2013
"Worst choice of the journey.
The positioning wasn't as close to the sea as expected.
The reception manager was not well organised .
The rooms were damp and some facilities did not work ( heating Coffee machine ...)
Breakfast buffet was disappointing . For the 2 mornings, they served butter portions with an expiry date of July (one month too late!) even after we told them.
We do not reccomand this place"
Poor
Location
Poor
Service
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2013
"It was not as comfortable as we had expected.
This was made worse by the cold weather . In the morning, we woke up with the temperature around 10° inside the tents!

The food was very disappointing -the worst of the holiday.
The staff was very helpful especially in managing the plane charter for the Mullaly family.
The guide was also very good.
No wifi"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Image alt

Lapa Lange Game Lodge

"Lapa Lange Game Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2013
"This lodge was surprisingly empty - at one dinner we were the only guests.
The lodge is in a transformation phase ( owner's quote ) and he is currently training kitchen and service staff.This is certainly necessary as the food was very disappointing.

The game drive was so disappointing compared with all the other lodges and very expensive, at nam$250 pp with a non english speaking guide. The animals were not plentiful (1 giraffe and 2 rhinos) and the others behaved as if they were beeing hunted and kept about hundred metres away. It was definitely the wrong decision to spend 3 nights there!!!"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

"Olive Exclusive review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2013
"Best way to finish the holidays.
The suite was perfect for our needs.

Staff were very helpful and professional.
The brakfast was presented in a very stylish way and the lunch and dinner were great."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team