This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr I,Mrs A&friends from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2015 trip

Namibia between 29 Aug 2015 and 10 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic. Stunning scenery, and lovely laid back, friendly Namibian people.

The book on Namibia was invaluable, particularly, the guidance on local, en-route stops. Obviously written by people who knew their way around Namibia.

The level of support provided by Sabina was outstanding."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"A great start to our holiday."

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2015
"Staff were lovely and helpful. The honour bar was a good facility and animals walking around the site was a nice touch. Bath and shower overlooking the Kalahari excellent. Dressing gowns very welcome. Meals although limited in choice were excellent.

The tour guide for the drive although very pleasant, was not well informed regarding the wildlife. Despite being told it was our wedding anniversary, the lodge completely forgot or ignored the information and had to be reminded by our friends.

The swimming pool was dirty and looked like it had not been cleaned for some time."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Great views but disappointing & underwhelming"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2015
"Stunning location. In good weather would probably seem much more inviting. Hot water bottles at night a nice and very necessary touch.

Weather was cold and staff failed to light the central fires in the morning and during the day, despite the issue having been raised with them. Doors and windows very poorly sealed against the biting wind. Supposed to offer ear plugs for the wind noise but they had run out. Staff not engaged or appearing to be happy in their work. Lack of sufficient seating in the lounge area. Food at breakfast served cold.

Access to the lodge very difficult and road really not suitable for standard saloon vehicles. At least one was badly damaged during our short stay. You must advise your clients of this. Our least favourite place of our stay."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Image alt

Kairos Cottage

"A very warm welcome."

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2015
"Excellent host and staff, providing a very warm welcome. Very happy staff. Owner extremely helpful with information on taxis etc. Excellent bed linen and comfortable beds. Kitchenette a nice facility, including good sized fridge. Breakfast limited in choice but freshly cooked and tasty. Owner and staff trying very hard to please.

Kitchenette needs a few plates. Bathroom and floors could have been a bit cleaner, slightly grubby in corners."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Wonderful, exceptional. Did not want to leave"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2015
"The highlight of our holiday. What a fantastic welcome. Smiling staff who really enjoyed their work. Guided tour to Sossusvlei by Michael was incredible and we learned so much and Micheal made it so entertaining. Alfresco lunch was amazing, as was our sundowner experience to end our stay.

The star gazing afterwards was such a bonus and unexpected. Should be offered as a planned activity. Spent one whole day chilling at the lodge which was also wonderful. A packed lunch provided on departure was very welcome and a lovely surprise. We cannot rate this place and its staff highly enough.

Lighting a little too low in the chalets. We were not aware that we were on a full board rate and could have had lunch on our second day (probably just as well!)

Other than that, absolutely nothing to complain about."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"A superior, family run guesthouse"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"A very warm welcome. Lovely owners who could not do enough to make our stay comfortable. Reliable, free Wi-Fi. Good DSTV. Mobile phone to contact owners on 24 hour call very reassuring.

Secure off-road parking and premises. Owners recommended and made restaurant reservations for us. Lovely comforatable beds and soft linen. Breakfast choice and ambience in the dining room was excellent. International wall socket was a real plus. For a guest house, this place was exceptional.

Thin walls, meant we could hear people in the next room. Variable water temperature in room 7 a bit of an issue."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

"Ending our Namibian adventure on a high note."

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2015
"A lovely welcome with canapes and sparkling wine. Porters to bring the luggage from the car park to our rooms was very welcome.

Excellent swimming pool and grounds. Terrace with views of the city was stunning, with more than sufficient tables and chairs for guests. Dinner, wines and breakfast were very special.

Staff were friendly and attentive and truly service ambassadors."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team