This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Scots on the wing from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Return to Africa

Namibia and 2 other countries between 4 Sep 2015 and 23 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Nearly all the arrangements for our holiday were perfect. In particular we were very pleased that we decided to go for the private guide option, rather than self drive in Namibia, as we would definitely have missed out on a lot, particularly on bird recognition and other aspects of the Namibian culture.

One point of ambiguity arose in that our package stated "local beverages at each establishment(water, beers, ciders, juice, soft drinks, house wines and local spirits)" were included. However, it was not until our arrival at Andersson's Camp that this was clarified and agreed with Ultimate Safaris after we had been purchasing our own drinks for four nights."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2015
"We were amused that we were in the same room that Prince Harry had been in on his visit to Windhoek in July!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"Fine"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Floodlit waterhole brilliant"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2015
"One of our favourite camps. It was amazing to be almost "sleeping" amongst lions as they roared seemingly at our door! Wonderful to see giraffe, a pride of 10 lionesses, duiker, black rhino, innumerable helmeted guinea fowl, jackal, zebra at the waterhole on our first night to be followed by African Wildcat on the second night though we missed the brown hyena. The whole atmosphere of the camp was very relaxed and "intimate". Great quirky accommodation!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"A bit too "new" after Andersson's Camp. It felt somewhat lacking in "atmosphere" though all the facilities were excellent."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Galton House

Galton House

"Wonderful location"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2015
"Just sorry not to have time to take advantage of the superb accommodation.

There was a problem in that it was almost impossible to stop the shower flooding the whole bathroom (and more!). It needs a "lip" to stop the shower overflowing into the bathroom."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Wildlife paradise at Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
":Probably the highlight of our holiday along with Andersson's Camp. Warthogs, elephants and baboons walking right through the camp not to mention hippos grunting in the reeds. Wonderful atmosphere; great game drives (but no leopard!), Outstanding sunset experience in the middle of the Okavango by boat.

THE experience of the whole holiday was the mokoro trip gliding silently through the narrow channels of the Okavango (hippos at a suitably discreet distance - generally!) and getting so close to birds."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje's superb escarpment location"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2015
"A wonderful location looking down on the huge herds of zebra, buffalo and other animals far below.

The boat trip on the Chobe river was memorable, getting so close to crocodiles (!), huge numbers of elephants, over 50 hippos out grazing in the middle of the day - we'd always believed they only left the water to graze after dark. Not to mention wonderful views of various water birds at close quarters. Also the wonderful lunch!

After the freedom of the game drives at Kwara , it was frustrating having to keep to the tracks in the National Park. On quite a number of occasions our guide/driver found spoor which he was not allowed to follow. Still no leopard!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2015
"A comfortable, old world hotel . Warthogs and monkeys roaming on the lawn. If the wind was in the right direction the spray from Victoria Falls could be seen. The constant buzz from the sightseeing helicopters was a bit of an irritant but that would apply to anywhere in the township of Victoria Falls."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team