This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr P from West Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Fantastic fortnight

Namibia between 12 Aug 2007 and 26 Aug 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Carefree driving, plenty to see.

There was something different every day, and we never quite knew what was coming next, but we were never disappointed."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2007
"This was really just an overnight stop, but there were activities we would have done had there been more time.

Two nights would have been better to enable us to do these. Pleasant walk roung the Kudu Trail.

Ernst and Joanna were very welcoming, and we spent an enjoyable evening meal around the table with them, and other guests."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Super starry sky"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2007
"Very helpful and considerate staff. Good packed breakfast for Sossusvlei trip.

Unfortunately, there seemed to be a problem in the kitchen one evening, and as a result the meal was undercooked, which was disappointing as the other meals were fine. However, we were not the only ones to mention this, and the staff were most concerned and apologetic. An allowance was made for this when we settled out bill on leaving."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Cool western coast."

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2007
"We had a most pleasant stay at Sam's. He takes a real pride in his establishment, and his attention to detail was most impressive.

Again, there were trips on offer which we did not have enough time to fit in, but that was no fault of Sam'!

We enjoyed Swakupmond."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Exciting elephant safari"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2007
"We were most impressed with Doro Nawas.

The staff could not have been more helpful, and quite often if we were just sitting around would come to make sure everything was all right and there was nothing we needed.

The accommodation was first class, but sadly it was a bit chilly for sleeping under the stars, although a lovely idea!

We all particularly enjoyed the off-road elephant safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Brilliant waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2007
"On arrival we felt a little disappointed, as this was not quite of the standard we had had up until then, especially as when we went to check in, we were told that we were not on the computer and they could not accommodate us. However, after a couple of 'phone calls to Expert Africa in Windhoek, and perhaps a closer look at the computer the matter was resolved.

Gradually we gained a better understanding of what the camp was all about, and found it to be quite good.

Our bungalows in relation to the waterhole were brilliant. The dining room was undergoing refurbishment at the time and meals were served in a marquee, which everything considered was quite good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Good base for the park"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2007
"Again, when we arrived here we found we were not expected, and they told us they were full up and could not take us. We produced our vouchers, and waited. Finally, they found us a bungalow, (which was number 41), which seemed to be adequate, although whether it was our intended accommodation we did not know.

Breakfasts were a bit scant, and this was not because we were late taking them. The cooked part was good, but there was often a shortage of juice, or fruit and glasses, plates and saucers. The evening meals were better.

Considering this is described as the best camp of the three main ones, we did not find it so, and prefered Okaukuejo. Having said that, its location with regard to waterholes and drives nearby was very good.

No information on mealtimes, amemities or activities."
Average
Location
Excellent
Food
Poor
Rooms
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Pleasant and relaxing mountain accommodation"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2007
"The tented accommodation was very unusual, but every attention made to make our visit relaxing and memorable.

The restaurant, service, and food were well above expectations.

Alas only one night stop-over."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team