This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms W & Mr W from Kent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2015 trip

Zambia between 29 Aug 2015 and 14 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This holiday was one of the best of our lives. On every level - the wildlife, the people, the landscape, the camps - it was an adventure we will never forget.

Maruska advised us very well - we were delighted to be able to do some walking, but glad we didn't do too much more on our initial trip, as we saw so much more wildlife from the vehicles. Each of the camps had its own style and personality, so nothing felt repetitious and it was great to be exposed to two very different national parks.

We're already longing to return to Africa and some of our camps so will plan to be in touch!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Just make them cheaper so we can go more often!!!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2015
"This was our intro to African safaris and Matt and Charlie made us feel at home immediately. Matt was a very knowledgeable guide and great fun to spend time with.

Game in the area was simply astounding - lions galore, leopards day and night, along with all the other mammals. The hides were a spectacular addition, enabling intimate photography with animals and birds. The food was excellent and we especially enjoyed our romantic dinner on top of the anthill.

Mwamba provided the perfect blend of bush camp life with a high level of comfort. We couldn't have had a better introduction."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2015
"Chikoko was our introduction to walking safaris, which gave us the chance to learn about the bush at a more intimate level. Issac's many years of knowledge and experience provided insight on hundreds of things we'd never have known - from those tiny ant lions, to the territorial habits of animals, to the peculiar habits of plants and trees. The view from our hut was gorgeous, with elephants close by every day.

The food at Chikoko was extraordinary - we couldn't believe they could turn out such excellent meals from that small kitchen. Another great experience.

One small suggestion - place mounted bed lights outside the mosquito netting to discourage the entry of bugs/flying insects."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2015
"Tafika was 5-star camping with running hot and cold and solar power round the clock. John and Carol have established an extraordinary camp in a stunning setting, overlooking the river.

The guides at Tafika were in a league of their own. Brian combined a wide and deep knowledge of the bush with an instinctual sense of animal behavior and habitat. The two Mucupas were a fantastic team, who turned up spectacular sightings. We'll never forget cycling in the bush with John or our trip to the local village, where we were shown around the school, entertained with song and dance and began to get a sense of life in rural Zambia.

The food was delicious and it was a surprise to discover that much of it was coming from a gorgeous garden on site. We'd never seen a garden protected by electric elephant fencing and anti-monkey cages!

We decided on the spot that we simply must return to this camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2015
"Chongwe is in a beautiful setting, on the confluence of the Chongwe and the Zambezi rivers. The water activities were superb. Bird sightings from the boat were outstanding - a bird lover's paradise. The canoe trips were extraordinarily tranquil, even with crocs on the riverbanks and hippos in the water.

While the game sitings were good, they were a long way from camp, but accessing them by boat was great fun. The negative though, was canvas roof on the land cruiser. We understood they had been added to provide comfort for guests, but they really restricted the view, especially with 6 guests onboard. And although there were several excellent guides, there weren't enough experienced ones to cover the number of guests and activities on offer.

While beautiful, the style of the tents was the most hotel-like of the places we stayed. We realized that we prefer more authentic bush camps. The atmosphere around the communal table in the evening was lively and fun and the food was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"What a perfect place in which to end our safari! The camp was everything we'd hoped and more - right on the water's edge, with lions in view and ellies frequent visitors. The game drives urned up multiple sightings of all Zambezi's big game and small and the boat rides took us close to crocs, hippos and a wealth of colorful birdlife.

The camp itself was perfect - small and comfortable, with spectacular water views right from our bed. Ryan and Pam were terrific hosts - organizing everything from a surprise bush brunch with ellies to an amazing birthday cake for Peter. The food was excellent and the guiding unbeatable.

This is the other camp we'd love to return to."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team