This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr P from Bucks.

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

2

Enjoyable trip with good mix of activities

Tanzania between 4 Oct 2007 and 21 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Good
"Itinerary was really good & scenery in both Crater & Serengeti are stunning. Generally good levels of game. Mafia really is a great destination to relax at the end of the trip. As expected the guiding / service aren't up to the standard of the best Southern Africa camps.

Overall it was an enjoyable trip that felt like a long break as we kept doing different things.

Suggestions to help you improve: Nothing really - excellent as ever - Many Thanks to all the team"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

"Really good base for Manyara & the Crater"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2007
"Comfortable rooms, great food & service plus swimming pool make this a really good base - nice to stay in 1 place for 3 nights rather than moving around. Day trip into Lake Manyara National Park - Good gentle safari introduction in this relatively small park.

Half day trip into Ngorongoro Crater - Excellent! Obviously you come prepared for lots of other vehicles but other than immediately you get down into the crater we felt the level of other vehicles was okay.

The natural environment both at the top & down in the crater is stunning - well worth our trip (we actually did a full day in the crater)
Take note - the road into the crater is truly dreadful - given the amount of fees that go to the park authority it really is a disgrace."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

"Worth the trip"

7 Oct 2007 • All-day excursion

Good gentle safari introduction in this relatively small park
Olakira

Olakira

"Good stopover"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2007
"We only stayed a night to break up the drive between the Crater & the far north of the Serengeti.

If you're driving up there it definitely makes sense to break the journey somewhere like this"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"Fantastic scenery - a must visit"

8 Oct 2007 • Morning excursion

Obviously you come prepared for lots of other vehicles but other than immediately you get down into the crater we felt the level of other vehicles was okay.
The natural environment both at the top & down in the crater is stunning - well worth our trip (we actually did a full day in the crater)
Take note - the road into the crater is truely dreadful - given the amount of fees that go to the park authority it really is a disgrace
Excellent
Image alt

Suyan Camp, Tanzania (this camp has since closed)

"Has potential but need to put customer first"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2007
"Good location just outside Kleins Gate - gives opportunity for walks, night drives & trips into Serengeti. Standard of tent & food excellent & service around camp good.

Real issue is failing to ask what client wants - 1st evening just arranged a walk without asking what we wanted to do. Failed to ask about our level of safari experience / our interests. Arranaged 7.30am start without asking. We wanted to go out at sunrise (6.30) in order to maximise the day & get the best light for photography - we insisted on earlier start but really shouldn't have to.

Then took 25 mins to get through Kleins Gate due to Tanzanian bureaucracy - I can't believe that the camp can't come to a better arrangement with the park authorities. Guide seemed intent on telling us every fact about every animal much of which we knew already."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

"Great location, guides need to improve"

4 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2007
"Great location in the far north of the Serengeti near the Mara river means you see very few other vehicles. Very close to one of the Mara river crossing sites so fantastic to see a crossing. Good levels of game. Location means you can drive off road & get out of vehicle for picnic breakfast / sundowners - a real bonus for the Serengeti. In short well worth the trip up.

As with Suyan just didn't ask about our level of experience / what we we looking for - we generally got what we wanted but had to push for it (e.g. only agreed to picnic breakfast once we made a fuss despite knowing what we wanted & having no good reason for not doing so).

Driver seemed inexperienced & guide came from the school of giving every fact he knew despite the fact that us & others already knew it. Once pointed this out he did adapt."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Lovely relaxed place - excellent"

6 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2007
"Lovely location with easy access to great snorkelling / diving. Excellent service & general relaxed atmosphere. Good range of trips / activities - lack of a pool wasn't an issue.

Got a good feel of local life from visit to nearby Chole island etc"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team