This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs Tru from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

99% perfect

Namibia between 17 Oct 2007 and 2 Nov 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Trip was well arranged and discussed by most helpful staff and in great detail.. We knew what to expect and it was all there (with the one exception of the hire car not being available when promised).

We made great use of Chris McIntyre's book comments and found for example his recommendation concerning the Etosha Park waterholes particularly helpful.

We thank Sabina for her care and attention and for phoning us at Swakopmund apologising for the problem with the car"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Hilltop House review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2007
"Very relaxing, great situation and helpful host, Alan. Very minor mention. plane arived approx one hour early and Alan not made aware, Pleasant hour in garden with coffee and no real problem before room was ready.

Easy walk downhill to Joe's Beerhouse. Great atmosphere. Great value steak/kebab menu. Huge seating area but subtle division design gives feeling of intimacy. Despite short distance and against our normal judgment best take a taxi back!

Our free day in Windhoek was spent in traversing the whole city on foot with a taxi back. No real problem and excellent midday oasis was the centrally placed Zoo Garden where refreshment can be taken and relaxation taken as exampled by the locals sprawled out on the grass banks"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Private Camp

"Wolwedans Private Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2007
"Great informal Cessna trip with superb aerial views of the Namib desert to the camp airstrip to be met promptly and registered with welcome drink by our very personable and reliable guide, Ben, our companion for the next 36 hours. Took us the long scenic and animal rich route to Wolwedans Private Camp. Very important first introduction to Gemsbok, Zebra and Springbok.

Camp quite outstanding with our one night stay in the "Suite", very luxurious and large at the end of the line of lodges. Comprised super bedroom facing east; middle decked area with o/s decked day bed and chairs and lounge /kitchen area well stocked in every respect with books, drinks, etc. Welcomed and looked after by Trauss who prepared and served our five course evening meal to perfection including of course a G&T aperitif, wine and a lliqueur.

Preceding this we went on our first "Sundowner" with Ben sighting animals and finishing with a splendid photo opportunity accompanied by a sparkling toast to the Sun, Beauty and Stillness. An opportunity for Ben to unfold to us a little of his own life, background and aspirations.

Back to the Camp and a very magic picture unfolded. Under the starry sky laid out in the desert was our prepared dining table surrounded by a square of kerosene lamps. Romantic and inviting.! Totally at one with the peace and stillness of the desert! Trauss narrated in English followed by his own tribal language, the detail of our fare. The surprise was that his own language from the Damaraland included a large number of "clicks".

After a great day we collapsed on the daybeds soaked up the beauty of the stars and took to our real immense bed later to rest and look forward to our first desert sunrise.

The next morning, after a dip in the Camp pool, Ben whisked us off for our lenghty journey through the desert, with diversions to see the baboons and giraffes, to our next Camp at Kulala Desert Lodge"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2007
"Larger than Wolwedans but still fairly personal, despite an overnight 20 plus busload, somewhat voluble, as may be expected from a big group. Slightly disappointed that our Room was the furthest from the main complex but guess someone has to be there. The pool was not in use due to lack of water.

Our guide for two days, Hans, was extremely personable and his two years working in England gave him a great understanding of our culture and priiorities. He was polite but ambitious and we wish him well in his career! The camp has the advantage of a quick access to the Soussusvlei Dune area, good enough reason on its own to make this your base for exploring the famous red dunes, a number of which face you across the desert from your room . You can enjoy their particular splendour at sunrise and sundown without moving from your balcony!

Best if you can get your guide to take you out to "Big Daddy" and "Big Mummy" early in the morning before the bus crowds arrive through the Sesriem Park Gate. You'll then be able to walk up the Daddy Dune ridge and helter skelter down barefoot into the dead Acacia "Lake" in peace and with maximum fun! Further wandering and picknicking in the "fertile" Soussesvlei area is a must! Vestiges of greenery give promise to the beautiful tranformation of this location when the rains come.

Wouldn't we, like many, love to return and see it again in its multi splendour with the birds, dragonflies, animals and coloured flora and fauna! Jonathan our general camp manager told us his phone rings constantly when rain is forecast, so many wnating to share in the spectacle. The Sesriem Canyon is worth a viisit, if only briefly as an overture to the unforgettable spectacle of s Sundowner among the Red Dunes.

Hans took us on a long day's excursion to the Naukluft Mountain Park, a very memorable contrast to the Namib Desert. An hour or two's walk up into the mountains in and alongside dry riverbeds cheered on our way by families of fig eating baboons and enlightened by real tumbling water and colourful flora we "discovered " a series of beautiful tumbling rock pools. Too much for Hans. "Hallelujah"! He was in and savouring something the dry Camp pool could not offer.. We felt gratified to have experienced the Namib and Naukluft in one stay! To be recommended!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2007
"We travelled to Swakopmund by Cessna from the Kulala Airstrip. Super deja views of the red dunes and then of the abandoned diamond mines and the coast, Walvis Bay and then a landing at the small Swakopmund Airport. Our only hitch of the planned itinerary Failure of our rental car to appear. It was sorted by the next morning so we cabbed into town and walked the town's grid pattern of streets. A solid community contrasting with the desert on its doorstep. Shops enough and an obviously self sufficient population with its own activities and amusements as well as the attraction of the seaside beach.

Sam and his welcoming Guest House are both very original!. Sam is an ex pat Swiss with experience back home in the large hotel business who had a dream to create his own very comfortable establishment some nine years ago. It is very relaxed and he will spend time talking with you about life in Namibia and particularly in Swakopmund with its core of long term German and Swiss residents. He takes great pride in his creation and his loyal team of staff. He has plans for further development of the property. he will provide an in house five course meal with excellent accompanying wine.

He has just suffered the loss of Mr. Einstein, his P.R asst. Mr. Einstein's comfortable kennel house and water garden are to be taken over by a younger female companion. The tributes to Mr.Einstein continue to pour in.

Trips from here to Walvis Bay and Cape Cross are recommended. Try to get to Cape Cross (approx one hour drive) by ten in the morning to beat some of the bus trippers. Amazing sight of thousands of fur seals, all active or lolling on the shore within easy view. Do not be put off by the warnings of the stench. Soon forgotten when this special animal place seduces you to simply stay and stay and keep watching !"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2007
"Very impressive new Lodge well designed in every respect, giving great views but blending with the landscape. Food very ordinary with little choice. Very helpful polite and cheerful staff.

Guided trip to track the desert elephants very exciting. Trip to see rock paintings/carvings interesting but sketchily presented by local guide.

Overall a very pretty different type of scenery (Damaraland) and much appreciated after the desertland further south."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"great animal viewing in well organised Camp"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2007
"As with Halali Camp would recommend strongly staying in Park to take advantage of wonderful viewing at own waterhole. Night drive revealed very little, Night, as well as day, viewing at waterhole was spellbinding for hours on end. One theatrical act followed another with all the animals taking their turn to drink in a certain pecking order Elephants rhinos, lions, giraffes, warthogs, zebras, oryx, springboks, wildebeest, hyenas, jackals all in wonderful abundance!

The camp restaurant was well managed and the numbers dealt with efficiently. The pool had been recently refurbished but had been left in very scruffy state e.g smears of cement everywhere allowed to dry on the surrounds. Very few pool loungers (about 5/6) and for most part broken or with torn cushions. No laundry yet and towels rationed!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Great waterhole. Large camping area"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2007
"Great waterhole viewing. Well situated for drives and great very pretty waterholes to be sought out.

No organisation at all in restaurant and needs someone senior as in Okaukvejo. Too much standing around and doing nothing!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"Waterberg Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2007
"What a wonderful location. Only regret not having extra night to go into the Kalahari and meet up with the "locals".

We stayed in one of six widely spaced bungalows set against the plateau cliff and beautifully accommodated with own plunge pool and most tremendous views east across the Kalahari. Out of this world and quite stunning in every way and worth the somewhat steep and bendy track from the farm and lodge level below.

Would really recommend stay here for everything it has to offer. Three hour drive into the Kalahari very interesting . Pretty with plenty of fauna and birdlife. tracked down the pair of "home" rhinos imported from South Africa at some great expense. to see them both in the wild so close was memorable. Good luck to them in their breeding plans. Be just perfect to see some little ones soon"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team