This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs D from Oxon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

A fantastic trip to Namibia

Namibia between 14 Oct 2007 and 31 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Good
"The whole trip was a terrific experience only marred by minor things which could so easily have been avoided.

We only saw Etosha and Damaraland but this wet our appetites to see more of a marvellous country."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Under own arrangements

"Cape Town"

5 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2007
"Our outward flight from Gatwick to Windhoeck and onto Cape Town went smoothly apart from the fact that we had organised our seats on the aircraft to have a window and adjacent aisle as my wife gets claustrophobic. I fixed this with Sabina when we payed the balance of the holiday. We were even given the seat numbers. On booking in, Air Namibia denied all knowledge and we ended up in the middle block of seats which was not a good start. They also said we had not reserved seats for the return flight, when we enquired on arrival at Windhoeck. The time in Cape Town was organised by ourselves and so is not relevant to your survey."
Average
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2007
"A very warm welcome from Cameron, Wendy and staff. Excellent activities although the 6 hour safaris were a little too long but very informative. We had an amazing bonus by watching the final of the rugby world cup in the garden of one of the owners of the Ongava reserve with a back drop of a waterhole with a black rhino, lioness and cubs.

A memorable experience - shame about the result of the match!!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2007
"After Ongava this was disapointing. The bungalow was air conditioned and comfortable but could have been in suburbia. The restaurant was not good with pretty mediocre food. The waterhole , which had a fabulous location produced no game morning or evening - possibly due to the large number of noisy, smoking, flash photography people.

I think it is worth emphasising that the Rest camps are in no way comparable to the private lodges"
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Brilliant"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2007
"After a long drive Okonjima was a welcome stop. Everything about it was first class, the staff, activities, food. The only downside was that the drink was expensive compared with the other places we visited, We were even charged for small bottles of water and our sundowners ."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

"Huab Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2007
"This was another memorable place. everything was brilliant and the wine certainly flowed freely (literally and metaphorically)

We were looked after very well by all staff but especially Hermann and Joop.

If there was a criticism it is the relative paucicity of game."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2007
"We were told to be at the pickup point at 14.00 hrs and so had a hairy drive to be there in time. In the event it clearly did not matter when we arrived, which would have resulted in a more relaxed journey.

The camp is in a fabulous location and again all staff from managers to the cooks and guides were lovely and welcoming. Activities were good with a mixture of walking and driving. The only negative point is that the tent was a bit 'tired' with staples and safety pins holding up blinds. Also holes in the window netting."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team