This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs Falcon from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

WONDERFUL NAMIBIA

Namibia between 28 Mar 2009 and 14 Apr 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was excellent. My only substantive comment would be that I think you over rate Doro Nawas and Namutoni and under rate Okaukuejo, though I appreciate that this is just a personal view based on one visit only.

I was also intrigued that during the booking process, we had difficulty getting in where we wanted to be when we wanted to be there. This resulted in a less than ideal sequence of lodges. In the event, none of the lodges were full and most were nearer to being empty. This was fine to the extent that we usually had guides pretty much to ourselves, but it meant extra driving and some back tracking. This was a pity."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2009
"Note; We were upgraded to the Bush Camp - we loved it. It is a very good example of what a really well run lodge should be like.

All the answer below refer to the Bush Camp, not Main Camp. We did visit Main Camp briefly. The general atmosphere was not as attractive as at te Bush Camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Mar 2009
"The regular manager went on leave the day we arrived. We were disappointed by the level of attention to detail of the management. Cleanliness of the bungalows left something to be desired. Staff were friendly but not as well trained as at e.g Okonjima. The atmosphere was a little too laid back and the food was disappointing."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Skeleton Coast Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Skeleton Coast Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2009
"We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the Skeleton Coast. However, whilst the staff did their utmost to make up for the fact that the Main Camp had just been burnt down, there is no disputing that the Fly Camp was not able to provide the level of comfort we had been looking forward to and had paid for!

There should in my view have been an immediate offer of some compensation. We are still waiting!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 4 Apr 2009
"See previous comments. I would add that the guiding was good, but not of the very high standard experienced at e.g. Okonjima or Hobatere."
Average
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2009
"Difficult to fault. A memorable visit. If only all the guides at all the lodges were as knowledgeable as Stephen Brain!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Apr 2009
"Etendeka is a superb location. The "tented camp" experience was fun, but would have been enjoyed more if the matresses had not been so awful. They really have exceeded their useful life expectancy.

The activities were a little disappointing. We had expected a serious safari outfit, with real attempts to get close to game on foor. In the event the walk was marred by the other guests - slow, noisey and more interested in photographing each other than in the environment (not entirely the management's fault of course) and if we had not seen, after a long and very bumpy drive, the black rhino, the game drive would have been a disappointment too.

In short, we left with the feeling that full advantage was not being derived from the splendid location and the knowledge of the proprietor and his wife."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Apr 2009
"Okaukuejo was probably the best value for money of the entire trip. The waterhole is outstanding, the rooms were very well appointed and whilst the restaurant is large, busy, noisey and distinctly lacking in atmosphere, the food was excellent.

We really regretted spending only one night there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2009
"Namutoni rests on its "designer" bathrooms and the atmosphere of the old fort. The rooms lacked mosquitoe nets and were smaller than at Okaukuejo. The food was poor, service indifferent and the waterhole simply not in the same league as the one at Okaukuejo.

We kept wishing we were back at Okaukuejo!"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"Waterberg Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2009
"We were upgraded (?) to the "Plateau Lodge". Lovely secluded rooms with excellent fascilities - probably the best bathrooms of any experienced in Namibia so far (certainly better than the fancy "designer" set ups at Namutoni) stunning views and close contact with the natural environment. Absolutely ideal for honeymooners or those who just want to chill out!.

The place is excellent for birds and smaller game, but the guides were not tuned in to these aspects. In fact the standard of guiding was well below average which meant that we left feeling that we had not derived anything like full benefit of the possibilities of the location.

Glorious place to stay (especially delightful staff) - very disappointing on the activities front."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team