This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by D & D from Cork

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful experience

Namibia between 9 Oct 2016 and 22 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We enjoyed our trip immensely. This was our first time in Namibia and we were so impressed by the country and its people. The variety of places to visit and things to do was great. The organisation from Expert Africa was second to none and ensured that everything went smoothly.

Overall the standard of accommodation far exceeded our expectations (with the exception of The Beach Hotel Swakopmund which was acceptable and Halali camp as outlined above). I know that because of the unexpectedly busy tourist season in Namibia we were a bit stuck for places to stay and this is understandable.

We took a kayaking trip with Jeanne in Walvis Bay as recommended in the guidebook and this was really excellent - she was a great guide.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We were completely happy with the service provided and will have no hesitation in recommending Expert Africa to friends and family."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"Unfortunately due to our flight being delayed and missing our connecting flight to Windhoek we did not actually get to stay at Hilltop Guesthouse."
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Absolutely wonderful place."

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"We really enjoyed our two nights here. The welcome was warm, the staff were very helpful and attentive. The accommodation was lovely. The food was excellent and the relaxed setting of the lodge was very pleasant. We were entertained by singing and dancing after dinner on our second night.

We went on a guided trip to the dunes with our guide Castro and he was an excellent guide. Hiking up the Big Daddy dune was a bit of a challenge but well worth it! Seeing the dead vlei after was amazing. I would highly recommend this trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Beach Hotel

"Good location"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2016
"This hotel is well situated close to the beach as well as Swakopmund town. The hotel is comfortable enough although I found the decor a bit old-fashioned despite the fact it is a relatively new hotel.

The bar area is not very well designed really - not really a bar more a rec room with a tiny drinks area in the corner so there wasn't really anywhere very nice to relax in the evening.

Breakfast was good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Amazing place to stay"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2016
"We were blown away by this place! Very remote location but fabulous facilities. We were greeted with local singing and dancing which was lovely. All the staff were very helpful. The main restaurant/bar/lounging area with outside deck is a really lovely place to relax.

We were only staying one night and would have liked to be here a second night to really enjoy the experience but they were booked out. The accommodation was really something special - so well designed and spacious, very impressive - with the outdoor shower area and the beds that could be rolled out to sleep outside.

We had a Bush dinner on the night we stayed - fantastic dining outdoor under the stars. The food was good as was the wine.

The bonfire in the courtyard was not lit the evening we were there as we had a Bush dinner but it would be a lovely way to spend some time if it had been. As we were staying only a night we did not do any activities here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Remote luxury"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"We were very impressed with Damaraland Camp. In such a remote location to achieve this level of accommodation and service is really something.

The main area was a lovely place to relax. The afternoon tea on arrival a lovely bonus. The staff were really lovely. The food was excellent as was the wine with dinner. The communal dining table was a good feature.

We went on a Drive in the morning with Teek our guide to look for the desert-adapted elephants which was excellent. He proved a good guide - very knowledgeable about the area."
Excellent
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

"Etosha Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"We enjoyed our one night here although the scale of the place was so much bigger than the previous places we had stayed and it had more of a hotel feel than lodge.

The individual room was nice with a good spacious shower area. The food was pretty good. The viewing deck outside the bar area was a good feature and a lovely place for a sundowner.

Overall we were happy with this lodge but were also happy to move on after the one night. Having said that it would make a good base from which to see Etosha if you were not staying inside Etosha itself."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Functional"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2016
"We found Halali camp to be a bit of a disappointment to be honest. The staff were not particularly friendly. The room in which we stayed was very basic, with a bed and a couple of armchairs but no table. There was a fridge which was good.

The main restaurant area I found quite dismal really - very canteen style feel to the place. The food was ok (we only had breakfast here). The shop was very poorly stocked when we were there.

They opened the gates in the morning well after sunrise so you couldn't get a really early start which was frustrating.

On the plus side the waterhole was fantastic - the only bit of the camp that is well worth going for."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Fantastic cheetah and leopard sightings"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2016
"This was a wonderful experience. The accommodation was outstanding - very spacious room with large windows for viewing passing kudu and oryx. The main restaurant/bar/lounge area was exceptionally well laid out with lovely areas for relaxing both indoors and out. The food was very good - especially the breakfast. The staff were attentive and friendly.

We went on both the leopard and cheetah tracking trips with our guide Gideon. On these trips we were lucky enough to come up close to a leopard and cheetahs. Walking near the cheetahs was a special experience. Our guide was able to explain all about the animal conservation efforts being made and it made for a fascinating insight into the local area.

Overall this was an extremely enjoyable stay. The gift shop was good too!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Unique and wonderful place to stay"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2016
"This was a lovely place to spend our final night in Namibia. The accommodation blends almost seemlessly with the surrounds making it feel at one with the environment.

The room itself was very comfortable with a lovely bathroom that was partly open to the air (whilst maintaining privacy!).

The restaurant and pool area was well laid out and comfortable for relaxing.

We went on the sundowner walk and also the 2 hour morning nature walk. Both of these were very good with knowledgeable and friendly guides (Emmanuel on the morning walk). The landscape in this area really has to be seen to be appreciated - we were very glad to be able to see it and explore a little on the walks.
The food was very good (especially the evening meal)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team