This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs S from Toronto

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

3

Our trip to Namibia December 2016

Namibia between 13 Dec 2016 and 25 Dec 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fabulous time on our trip. Namibia is a very special and beautiful country.

We thoroughly enjoyed all of the accommodation especially Kulala Desert Lodge and Doro Nawas Camp. On our first day at Kulala, we took a sundowner tour from the lodge and were also lucky to see the full moon over the dunes. On our second day, we took an early morning guided drive to Sossusvlei. The guide was excellent. He found a shovel-snouted lizard and a white lady spider for us. At Doro Nawas, we also had an excellent guide. We saw about 25 desert-adapted elephants; at night, the same guide showed us scorpions.

We also liked Swakopmund and the Sandfields Guesthouse. The two-hour flight from Swakopmund was a unique way to see the dunes, the desert, the flamingoes, the seals and the skeleton coast. We also enjoyed kayaking with the seals.

There was a bit of a glitch on our day tour to Sandwich Harbour. There were two vehicles on the tour, and our family had a junior guide who was a good driver but was not knowledgeable and could not provide us with any information. However, this problem was later resolved by talking to Bruno, who offered us a free three-hour tour the next day to a magnificent area located about 10 km from Swakopmund. Bruno also included sandboarding as part of the tour. His tour was definitely one of the many highlights of our stay in Swakopmund.

We found Etosha National Park to be a very special place. It was raining before we arrived in Etosha, and as a result the animals found different sources of water and were not attracted to the waterholes. We sometimes had to drive for a few hours before spotting animals. We did, however, see many animals in the end, including three lionesses, a sleeping lion, a black rhino and a group of about 15 hyenas. As far as accommodation goes, we liked Mushara Bush Camp better than Andersson's Camp.

Franz Indongo Lodge was also a fine place to stay and well located to visit the CCF. The cheetahs were quite active when we visited, and both the tour and the museum were very informative.

In conclusion, our trip was a great success. Although we drove a lot, we found the roads well maintained and the car very comfortable. We would like to thank you for organizing this trip for us. We are already thinking about other destinations in Africa and we will be in touch.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Keep up the good work"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Dec 2016
"Kulala Desert Lodge is perfectly located near the spectacular dunes of Sossusvlei.

The early morning guided drive to visit the dunes is highly recommended. Climbing Big Daddy with our guide was a unique experience.

We also enjoyed watching the stars from the bedroll on the flat rooftop."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

"Sandfields Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2016
"Sandfields Guesthouse is lovely place to stay while visiting Swakopmund. The rooms are spacious and very private.

We enjoyed the warm hospitality, the delicious breakfast, and the many wonderful activities in the area.

Whilst in Swakopmund these travellers enjoyed a scenic flight over the desert and coast; here's what they said about it:
The Scenic flight over the coast and Namib Desert is a truly unique experience to see the magnificent landscape from above.

Since we couldn't do a balloon safari from Kulala Desert Lodge due to the age of our children (8 and 4 years old), we decided to do the two hours flight from Swakopmund. It was a delight to see the desert including Big Daddy, which we climbed before.

It was equally amazing to see the Skeleton Coast and the many flamingoes and seals.

Whilst in Swakopmund these travellers also took a guided excursion to Sandwich Harbour; here's what they said about it:
Sandwich Harbour is a great place to visit. The drive and the climb over the dunes is a great experience. Unfortunately this tour did not fulfill our expectations. There were two vehicles on the tour, and our family had a junior guide who was a good driver but was not knowledgeable and could not provide us with any information.

However, this problem was later resolved by talking to Bruno, who offered us a free three-hour tour to a magnificent area located 10 km from Swakopmund. This tour by Bruno should be included in everybody's itinerary while staying in Swakopmund.

Also whilst in Swakopmund these travellers enjoyed a kayaking excursion to Pelican Point; here's what they said about it:
The guided kayaking beside a seal colony at Pelican Point was great.

It was during the breeding seasons so we were fortunate enough to see the baby seals.

We had a great guide who took photos during our kayaking and later on emailed the photos to us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Scenic flights in Namibia

Scenic flights in Namibia

"An amazing experience, not to be missed"

15 Dec 2016 • Morning excursion

The Scenic flight over the coast and Namib Desert is a truly unique experience to see the magnificent landscape from above.

Since we couldn't do a balloon safari from Kulala Desert Lodge due to the age of our children (8 and 4 years old), we decided to do the two hours flight from Swakopmund. It was a delight to see the desert including Big Daddy, which we climbed before.

It was equally amazing to see the Skeleton Coast and the many flamingoes and seals.
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"A great place to visit with a good guide"

16 Dec 2016 • All-day excursion

Sandwich Harbour is a great place to visit. The drive and the climb over the dunes is a great experience. Unfortunately this tour did not fulfill our expectations due to the fact that we had an unknowledgeable guide.

However, this problem was later resolved by talking to Bruno, who offered us a free three-hour tour to a magnificent area located 10 km from Swakopmund. This tour by Bruno should be included in everybody's itinerary while staying in Swakopmund.
Average
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"An excellent way to see the seals"

17 Dec 2016 • Morning excursion

The guided kayaking beside a seal colony at Pelican Point was great.

It was during the breeding seasons so we were fortunate enough to see the baby seals.

We had a great guide who took photos during our kayaking and later on emailed the photos to us.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Great Safari to see Desert Adapted Elepanhts"

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2016
"Doro Nawas was our favourite place to stay. The hospitality and the safari was first class.

We loved our stay; the welcoming song, the bush dinner, the sunset, the scorpions at night, and last, but not least the Damara people."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A good place to stay "

2 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2016
"Andersoons Camp is well located near the west part of Etosha National Park. We had a great guide who went out of his way to show us the wildlife.

Unfortunately it rained before our visit to Etosha and most of the animals found many sources of water and were not attracted to the waterholes. Nevertheless we did see many animals and we enjoyed our stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"A beautiful place"

2 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2016
"Mushara Bush Camp is a beautiful place. We loved the verandah where breakfast, lunch, and dinner were served.

We loved our drives from the camp to Etosha National Park."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"A reluxing place with beautiful scenery "

1 night Arrived 24 Dec 2016
"Frans Indongo Lodge was an excellent accommodation.

We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, the food, the game drive, the sunset, the sunrise, the Cheetah conservation, the walks, and the many antelopes grazing on the property."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team