This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dune-hoppers from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

Namibian trip

Namibia between 21 May 2008 and 3 Jun 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Perfect holiday. The guide book was excellent and we found the map very helpful."

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Ballooning"

25 Apr 2008 • Morning excursion

Fantastic experience. Wonderful pilot and support staff. Champagne breakfast was great.
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2008
"Lovely welcome. Friendly, helpful staff. Interesting nature drive.

Good food.

Nice location of chalet with pleasant outlook."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 May 2008
"Excellent in all categories.

Would have liked to have been told (though I guess I should have known) that we could drive ourselves to Sossusvlei; I gained (perhaps mistakenly) the impression from our introduction that a 4 by 4 was needed.

Particularly impressed by Namibian staff, here abnd at all the other lodges we stayed at."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2008
"Excellent in all respects.

Balloon ride was fantastic.

We were not given key to our chalet but having a key was not necessary. Wonderful relaxation area with comfortable chairs and fire."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2008
"Really enjoyed wine tasting and meal. And Sam recommended a fantastic dune safari ( Christopher Nell); this was one of the best moments of our trip. Sam was a delight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2008
"Fantastic. Had tent no 2 with a beautiful outlook to the west. particularly enjoyed sundowners and sunsets on the high granite rock.

The bushman art tour was so so .... might have been better to go ourselves and spend more time. But nature tour was fantastic.

Host and hostess and whole staff helpful and efficient. Enjoyed watching the many birds drinking from their series of rock pools while in the comfort of their spectacular `lounge'.

Our last morning breakfast on the high granite rock was a delightful surprise."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

"Hohenstein Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2008
"Now under overall direction by Ulf, owner of Luderitz hotel. Newly installed manager and wif, a delightful couple. Promise of improvement.

Good overnight stop for people going north or returning from North. Not ideal for longer stay ... pretty hot in midday and nowhere cool to sit , and mountain rather too far to walk to and climb. I think Expert Africa should have discouraged us from staying two nights (we left after one night).

Night safari was very enjoyable, especially the rock art on massive boulders and potent sundowner.

However ride was long, road bad, and landrover emitted strong petrol fumes. The Namibian tour guide was excellent and very knowledgeable."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Hilltop House review"

1 night Arrived 2 Jun 2008
"Lovely location, and perfect hostess and staff. Fantastic breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team