This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Hassocks

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Our First Time in Namibia

Namibia between 24 Mar 2017 and 7 Apr 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have travelled a lot but this trip is one of our most memorable.

Not only is Namibia a fascinating place but Expert Africa made the trip easy.

We enjoyed the Self Drive and the itinerary which was planned.

The standard of accommodation and level of service and food were beyond our expectations."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Our first night."

1 night Arrived 24 Mar 2017
"This was a perfect place to spend our first night. It was about 40 minutes from the airport and a 20 minute walk into town.

The room was large, a huge shower and comfortable bed. The room opened out onto a shared terrace. The service was very good and we had a lovely meal here in the evening outside. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We would come here again."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Two nights on a farm"

2 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2017
"This was one of the highlights of our trip. We enjoyed eating our meals with the owners and their other guests.

We learned so much about Namibia and Johanna and Ernst were kind enough to answer all our questions.

We had a very comfortable, family room - it had 2 bedrooms, although there were only two of us.

The meals were excellent. This is a remote location but that made it even more interesting."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Two nights overlooking sand dunes."

2 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2017
"This is a very special place. Our room/ chalet which was close to the main building was fantastic. It had great views, a deck, lots of room and comfortable beds. The view to the dunes was marvellous.

The public area had many places to sit, a small library of books, bar etc. The swimming pool was well maintained and most welcome as it was 40c when we were there. The set meals were very good. There were tea and cake available in the afternoons - this was also very welcome. Service here was particularly good. All the staff did their best to make us welcome and often had time for a chat. When we were here it was unusually hot and there is no AC, but we just opened the vents in our tented thatched chalet.

You can also spend the night under the stars, as they will put a mattress on the roof of your room!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"A short break in Swakopmund."

2 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2017
"We spent two days here and really enjoyed it.

Our room had everything including a charming terrace with table and chairs set in a lovely interesting garden. The staff here were excellent, friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were great. The Cornerstone is a short walk to shops and restaurants.

We had our washing done here; it was quick and efficient and good value. We would definitely come again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2017
"This is a fantastic place in an amazing setting. It's worth the long gravel drive!

We were given a warm welcome and the service was very good. The reason we didn't give it excellent is that we found the room, although huge and very well furnished, gloomy. I add this is an entirely person view and I know that other people will find it paradise.

The room had two showers and was very well appointed. We did pull our beds outside onto the deck one night to sleep under the stars. Incredibly memorable!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

"Etosha Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2017
"We really loved this place. We had a chalet near the main building - No4, so just a very short walk to the restaurant, bar and lovely swimming pool. Good that we could park nearly outside our room too.

The views across the 'veldt' were wonderful. The staff were really friendly and we had some great conversations - mainly about football! The food was great and it was good to have an allocated table outside.

The room was lovely with AC and mosquito net, bright and well furnitured, with a great shower and separate toilet."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Onguma Tree Top Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2017
"This is a very special place. There are 4 lodges on stilts, either side of the small main area, with a view of the waterhole. The lodges are open on one side, so you are able to sit in bed and view the waterhole and the visiting animals. The shower is outside on the deck, a fantastic experience.

We were there two nights and on each night only one other lodge was occupied. This meant that we had dinner with one other couple which was memorable, helped by the fact we had our own chef, cooking the meal in an open kitchen. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. There is a deck outside with a fire pit which was lit each night.

We went to Bush Camp on our second day for a swim and lunch. Another lovely place on the same reserve."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Apr 2017
"The only thing wrong with this place is that we didn't have a chance to make the most of all the possible activities available here.

We arrived late afternoon and had to leave early for the airport. This is another wonderful place. The chalet (no 3 with view) was spectacular. The design and furnishings were magnificent. One of the best rooms we have ever stayed in!

It had everything - a reading area, a desk, a huge shower, separate loo, double basins, two double beds, decking with comfortable chairs and a lounger and last but not least a great view of the reserve.

The public area, with shop, bar, places to sit and restaurant was also really well designed. We enjoyed the food and the service again was very good.

We intend to come back for longer!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team