This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms P & family from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Trip of a lifetime

Kenya and 1 other country between 4 Aug 2017 and 24 Aug 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip we organised with expert Africa was unforgettable - hugely well planned and happened seamlessly leaving us free to soak up the incredible experiences. But the planning of the trip was also enjoyable! I loved talking to Richard and felt he was a very real person responding to our needs as a family rather than pushing us in the old well trodden directions.

When there was a very minor hiccup with a hotel booking (not the fault of Expert Africa but a mistake Africa side) Richard called our guide and spoke to us to ensure everything was OK. Top service.

I can't recommend him highly enough."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"Ok for a stop over"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2017
"It's certainly secure here if you are anxious at all about travelling through Nairobi and it is close to the airport..

The hotel is nice enough but rather lacking in any atmosphere at all and a little bit uncared for even though it is so new. The food is good but pricey.

The bedroom is clean and OK but I'm afraid to say the beds are as hard as concrete. We had no idea why they would have chosen the mattresses they have - at least in our room.

I wouldn't choose to stay there if and when we return to Nairobi. But if security is your priority it's a good choice."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Selenkay Adventure Camp

Selenkay Adventure Camp

"Perfect start"

4 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2017
"We were so pleased we started our safari at the Selenkay Adventure Camp. The camp itself is brilliantly run by Daniel and his team. There is a great atmosphere in the camp and the experience around the campfire here was the best of our whole three week trip.
The tents are comfortable and the toilets spotless. The outside shower is always a wonderful experience and they deliver hot water in a lovely retro enamel jug when they wake you too. Strangely one of my favourite things - washing my hands and face in the early morning light outside the tent before going off on the game drive.

We met some lovely guest and had a great laugh. Daniel's team were wonderful - from the cook, Titus to our guide, who we loved, Amos and our great driver.

The lion sightings are fantastic and the walk with the Masai guides is a joy. We had only just left the airstrip when we saw a male lion and lioness running through the bush, then were able to watch them meet the rest of the pride.
We were a little doubtful about the visit to the Masai village but in actual fact it turned out to be a hugely enjoyable event in which we learn a lot. Being with Daniel and his team gave us a real taste of the Masai traditions and culture in a way none of the other camps quite did which is why it really was the perfect start to the trip.
We were sorry to leave and would definitely return to a similar camp again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Severin Safari Camp

Severin Safari Camp

"Now for a bit of luxury "

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2017
"Severin was my son's second favourite camp of the trip and we all loved it. Driving through Tsavo West with Jurgen on our arrival was wonderful. The landscape and animals are quite magical.
We knew the camp was bigger than the others we had booked and quite frankly did not expect the fantastic personal attention we received here. The hosts - Jurgen and his amazing wife Manja are unbeatable. From beginning to end Manja has a golden touch with the guests. She is genuine, interested and works out very quickly what kind of stay you want and tries (and succeeds) to make that happen.
We upgraded to the Kibo suite which was available and we were offered at a fantastic price. If you can then it is seriously worth it! Wonderful lying on your own personal viewing platform with two waterholes in view. We were told a leopard sometimes visited the nearby water hole and amazingly a leopard did indeed come on each of the three nights of our stay!! On the second night we awoke to noises and looking out of the tent gauze windows we found we were surrounded by giraffes - beautiful, otherworldly beings gently strolling round the tent eating away. On the third night a big herd of buffalo came through just after dark which was quite an experience. Otherwise even though Severin has several tents and a permanent area you do feel you are very much in the bush. Zebras, giraffe, antelope and even a couple of crocodiles wander around. Despite it's size and restaurant and pool the animals and nature around have been completely respected and so you feel very much as if you are still in the wild. The imprint beyond the buildings and tents is very little.
We rested here and only left the camp to have a 4 hours pre arranged walk with the wonderful Dickson and a ranger. Such and varied and beautiful walk through the palm forest and along the river and finishing up on Dickson Hill. Great experience with an amazing guide.
We also had a nature walk with Dickson ending with a bush lunch - one of the best meals we've ever had ! All the food here is great.
The pool is gorgeous though obviously cold and luckily we had massages in the spas room which were really excellent.
All in all - an absolutely wonderful stay, a real treat. Huge congratulations to Manja and her team."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

"Encounter Mara"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2017
"Naboisho Conservancy is absolutely beautiful and I would definitely return. It is a cross between driving through Jurassic Park and the Garden of Eden!!
Encounter Mara is a well run camp with gorgeous tents and fantastic food. The drives are extremely well done - there is a sense that the guide is not going out to tock a box but to seriously find things you have not seen before. We saw cheetahs, a leopard and of course the pride of lions with small cubs were a highlight.
The nature walk is a little over produced and certainly if you have done many other walking safaris it might not be for you. But the guides are very knowledgeable, they just do need to relax a little whilst of course keeping security as the chief concern.
The camp is closed off by a fence to the bush although there is plenty of space in front of the tents and a feeling of total privacy. Nevertheless at times Encounter Mara can seem like you a bit too cut off from the more open experience of the other camps we went to."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

"Saruni Wild review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2017
"We loved Saruni! From the amazing open skies of Lemek to the incredible food and the fantastic feeling of being right in the middle of the bush...it is an unbeatable experience.
Our guide Tinka was a wonderful person to spend time with as well as being a relaxed, knowledgeable and extremely dedicated guide. The two hours or so we spent with him and the leopard we found literally just outside the camp border was unforgettable.
And our journey down to the Mara river to see our first crossing also a lifetime memory.
The camp itself is gorgeous - tents very comfortable and the dining fantastic. But it it the fact that you are surrounded by the wild without a fence that makes the experience unforgettable. One evening we drove into the camp surrounded by three female lions and a male strolling along and through the camp. But please please remember that the feeling of security and safety here - managed by the amazing William and his team is top notch. You feel secure at all times as long as you obey their extremely sensible rules.
So thanks you so much to William, James and the rest of the team - and we miss you Tinka!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"We will be back"

4 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2017
"What can I say ? I had a tear in my eye when we left Namiri and the three of us all said that on balance it was our favourite camp of the trip. The Serengeti is a mind-blowing experience and the lions, cheetahs and leopards are the stars of the show. Our guide George was wonderful. We were lucky enough to share the truck on occasions with a couple from Chicago and together we all became the cheetah team - running off a gang of hyenas from three cheetah cubs. It was an unforgettable experience, much more emotional than you can imagine.
The whole team at namer are like a family - Dickson ! Diana, Wilfred, Hassan, various, Chuma and of course Goerge. The food is amazing and the tents gorgeous - all at the edge of the best adventure you will have. Sit by the campfire and listen to the lions calling each other in the night....
Thanks to Dickson and all the team - we miss you!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

"beautiful setting"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2017
"Lovely setting for this farmhouse, gorgeous gardens. Even though they cater for a lot of guests and the lodge does have a more large hotel feel to it Elisha and his great team add a personal touch. The food, buffet style is fine ti good. Our room, Heroe had a great view and was extremely quiet. The pool is great and a real treat after three weeks nearly in the bush. But all in all it is the personal care from the staff which makes the stay here special.
We were a little bit underwhelmed by the crater...an amazing location but once you are in it the viewing is not great - so I would check the season if you are interested in seeing rhinos etc as there is very little chance in August. We saw them from up on the rim through binoculars."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team