This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by J+K from Canada

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Our First Safari

Zambia between 25 May 2018 and 7 Jun 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We could not have had a more amazing trip for our first safari! Ten days at three camps in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia, followed by 2 days at Victoria Falls, provided incredible wildlife sightings and experiences. Our trip goals were for wildlife and photography, which were absolutely me above and beyond what we hoped fort! We saw every animal on our list, including all of the Big Five except rhinos (since they are not in the region), two leopard kills, and three different packs of wild dogs!

Each camp we stayed at (Flatdogs, Kaingo, and Tafika) was excellent in its own way, and we felt pampered at every stop. We also felt exceptionally comfortable with our dietary restrictions (vegetarian and severe allergies) everywhere which was a huge relief and greatly added to our stress-free vacation.

We could not have planned this trip without the extensive expertise and help of Amanda Bond and Expert Africa - she really took our trip goals and worked with us to build the ideal trip. Everything was perfect from start to finish and we couldn't have asked for a better safari experience. We are so grateful to Amanda and Expert Africa for taking care of every single detail so that we could make the most of our time in Zambia. From the time we stepped off the plane in Zambia everything was smooth sailing.

We would not hesitate to work with Expert Africa again in the future and cannot recommend Amanda Bond enough! Thank you so much!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None, we were extremely impressed with every aspect of our experience."

Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Latitude 15"

1 night Arrived 25 May 2018
"We enjoyed our brief stay at Latitude 15, it couldn't have been more ideal for our stopover in Lusaka."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Flatdogs Camp"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2018
"Flatdogs was an excellent introduction to our safari! It has a very relaxed atmosphere, and we enjoyed spending time each midday by the pool. Our guide, Joffrey, was fantastic, and really made an effort to tailor our game drives to our interests. The food was delicious, and we had no issues with our dietary restrictions (vegetarian and severe allergies).

We stayed in the Luxury Safari Tent, which was huge and provided every amenity we could have asked for. We were thrilled to be able to sit on our porch and watch herd of about 15 elephants bathe and graze right behind our tent one afternoon!

Given the size of the camp, there were several families with young children staying there, which did cause some louder poolside afternoons, however we had no other complaints or issues about our stay!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Luxurious Stay at Kaingo Camp"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2018
"Kaingo far exceeded our wildest expectations! The facility, both our room and the common areas, were breathtaking, and the service was unparalleled. Our chalet was spotless, and we enjoyed spending each midday (when we weren't at a hide!) on our riverside deck, from which I even was lucky enough to see a crocodile kill a monitor lizard one day!

The camp chef, Catherine, was extremely accommodating of our dietary restrictions (vegetarian and severe allergies), and took extra care each meal to point out what was appropriate for us to eat, which was always plentiful and delicious! We were even treated to a surprise riverside picnic one lunch.

The game drives at Kaingo were spectacular, and we saw everything we could ask for, including a leopard kill. Our guide, Sylvester, was excellent, and took extra care to tailor our game drives to our interests."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

"Unforgettable Night Under the Stars"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2018
"We took advantage of the camp-out option at Kaingo camp, where we were able to spend a night "under the stars", and would highly recommend this unique experience!!

We were taken to a private campsight by our guide, where we were treated to a delicious dinner by the campfire overlooking a beautiful lagoon and a stunning moonrise. We spent the night on very comfortable mattresses with only mosquito netting between us and the sky, hearing the sounds wildlife all night long, including a pride of lions that turned out in the morning to be only about 300 metres away from camp!

Needless to say this was an incredible experience and would not hesitate to recommend it."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Rustic and Remote Experience"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2018
"Tafika was a unique blend of rustic and luxury. With grass hut cabins that were rebuilt every season, you get an authentic remote experience, while having all the comforts and luxuries of a top notch camp. The owners, John and Carol, are very hands-on, and would join us each day for lunch. We very much enjoyed hearing their many interesting stories.

Without another camp nearby, we had the sense that the animals were less accustomed to safari vehicles and as a result were slightly more skiddish than those at other camps. However, this was balanced by us not seeing other vehicles, and we still felt we had excellent sightings.

We were able to make a visit to the nearby village of Mkasanga, and share song and dance with local Zambians. Tafika extensively supports this community, and it was very rewarding to be able to directly see the benefits of our tourism."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2018
"Avani was the perfect hub from which to experience Victoria Falls, as from our room to Falls was only a 5 minute walk! Our room was basic but very nice, and the pool and lounge area was excellent. Being inside the national park, Avani has zebra, monkeys, baboons, and giraffe always roaming through the grounds, and it was nice to be able to see these animals up close on foot.

The hotel staff were very accommodating, and it was extremely simple to book activities through the activities counter.

We took a microlight flight over the falls (highly recommend, the best way to see them!), the sunset river cruise, and dinner at the nearby Elephant Cafe (being up close and personal with these amazing animals in an ethically responsible experience was unforgettable)."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team