This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Prof. R from Goring

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2018 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 28 Aug 2018 and 11 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our first safari holiday and our first time in Africa and as such this was an excellent holiday with all expectations met or exceeded and with many surprises on the way. The holiday was very well organised and transfers between the lodges never caused a problem.

We saw all the animals we had hoped to see, and a few more, and despite the early morning starts, the immersion in the world of safaris was both restful and refreshing. Driving in Namibia was unproblematic and the border crossings in and out of Botswana were relatively quick.

My personal highlights: watching giraffes taking on cheetahs at Okonjima; walking to a group of Rhinos at Ongava; the beautiful Tree Top camp at Onguma; fishing in the Okavango at Nxamaresi; and the huge herds of elephants at Nambwa and Garden Lodge."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2018
"Excellent rooms - very good to recover from the overnight flight from London;

Lunch on the terrace was excellent

Dinner was OK - a little 'trying too hard' maybe"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"We were too busy with the activities to enjoy all the facilities at the hotel but it was, overall, an excellent place to start our safari holiday.

The use of radio transmitters to find the cheetahs and leopards seemed a little odd at first but, as we learned later from the many safari drives elsewhere, both animals are difficult to spot and we did not see any after the Okonjima drives, and were grateful for the experience.

Highlight: observing the stand-off between a group of giraffes and two cheetahs ... the giraffes won."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"Overall a very enjoyable visit, with some exciting drives and overall very high quality tents.

Highlights: walking up to three rhinos and having the waterhole visited late in the evening by a black rhino!

Comment: my wife very much disliked the use of margarine in various dishes - surely, butter is better!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Onguma Tree Top Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"Our absolute favourite place of the whole holiday - small camp with outstanding and bespoke service, an amazing watering hole that is popular with many different animals and excellent food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Safari Lodge

"Taranga Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"Nice tents but the whole experience was rather underwhelming.

Staff seemed lacking confidence, there was little flexibility and the ordered lunch bags never appeared.

Sundown cruise on the river was very good with lots of kingfishers (Giant, Pied and others) to see and with expert commentary"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"What fun we had here, fishing on the Okavango! Our guide Fish was excellent in finding the right spot, and was very patient in teaching us how to fish. One very big catfish (14 lb) was my record. Also very much enjoyed the outing in the mokoro, a most peaceful outing.

Food and accommodation were very good, although a mosquito net in the cabin would not be a luxury."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

"Nambwa Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"By far the most luxurious of all the 'tents' we stayed in, which was much appreciated coming to the end of the holiday.

The drives (by boat, on foot and in the car) were all excellent with much wildlife on display."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Garden Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"A very pleasant last night stay in Kasana in Garden Lodge; the lodge feels a bit dated but the food, company and the excellent and very exciting boat drive on the Chobe was more than memorable.

Ideally located for some last minute souvenir shopping."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team