This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs C. from Crewkerne

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Our best family holiday to date!

Namibia between 27 Jul 2019 and 11 Aug 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have had many family holidays but this was one of the best.
Tom at Africa Expert was brilliant at helping me put together our itinerary - and making suggesting on things to do and see and at finding the best lodges for our budget - and they were all great.
There is such a variety of things to do and see in Namibia - and self driving gives you so much flexibility. (Tom had even given us a map which had the route highlighted in felt pen so we couldn't get lost!)
Our highlights were: the sand dunes at Sossusvlei, the rock engravings at Twyfelfontein, Ongava Lodge and Etosha National Park.
If you are going at peak season it is worth thinking of booking certain activities in advance. We wanted to go kayaking with seals in Swakopmund but we tried 5 different companies and all were fully booked.
We will definitely return to Namibia!"

Arranged By Tom Morris


Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"Lovely views and staff and we could walk into town (to Joe's bar which was fabulous) Felt very safe."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2019
"Great lodge with delicious food and incredibly lovely staff.
Right on the edge of the National park so access to dunes was shorter - and we did make it to the top of the dune before MOST people - though I think you could self drive from the main gate and get there just as quickly.
The decent from the dunes down into Deadvlei was great fun."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2019
"Self catering.
Immaculate, quiet, modern, central, parking - everything you need.

[Edit: these guests stayed at Cornerstone's Moringa Gardens Self-catering Apartment]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"Spectacular Spitzkoppen!"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2019
"We loved this uniquely different lodge!
The chalets are delightfully unusual to look at and the rooms are huge and luxurious - with fabulous rocky views from the balconies and zebra grazing right outside the tent.
The bike ride to see the sunrise is really worth getting up for - and there are lovely walks.
The dining room is beautiful - but a little cold!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Tented Camp

"Malansrus Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2019
"The camp is delightful with very friendly staff and lovely tented rooms. However, we did feel it was a little under-staffed and felt
a bit "end of season" (though wasn't!)
Because of the drought (no proper rain for 3 years) there is nothing to do or see here because the river is completely dry.
We did a day trip to Twyfelfontein to see the Desert Elephants and the rock engravings (both of which are fabulous and a MUST) but it would have been easier to stay closer to Twyfelfontein."
Poor
Location
Poor
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Wonderful spot in the middle of nowhere"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2019
"Wonderful spot in the middle of nowhere.
This is a proper tented camp with outdoor bathroom and bucket showers.
We loved the communal dinner chatting with the other guests, Dennis the owner and the lovely guides.
Delicious, simple but real home cooked food with attentive staff.
Huge star filled skies (we had a brief star gazing lesson with a telescope)
Game viewing was a little disappointing due to the drought but the game walk with Bonny was fascinating and we learnt so much about animal tracks/poo etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Our favourite place in Namibia!"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2019
"This was our favourite camp in Namibia.
Beautiful, hugely spacious reception/eating area with several separate sitting areas with stunning views over the plains and watering hole.
Bedrooms were luxuriously enormous with an outdoor shower on the veranda - and fabulous indoor bathroom.
The food and service absolutely excellent and swimming pool was great - but the best bit was the hide overlooking the watering hole where you could go at dusk (with your glass of wine!) and quietly watch the animals come to drink.
We saw a rhino with her baby and giraffe with her baby - plus lots of plains game.
We had a brilliant game drive and saw an elephant, 2 lionesses with a kill, lots of rhino and plenty of plains game.
Wish we could have stayed longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"We arrived at dusk from Etosha and left early the next morning so this was just a stop-off for us.
The rooms were excellent and we had a fabulous barbeque - set out on tables under the stars.
Great service and food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

"Pure self-indulgent luxury!"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2019
"This is top end luxury with your own cook and housekeeper! The bedrooms are huge - with beds that could fit about 4 people in and glorious bathrooms. The terrace has a (very cold!) pool, a fire pit to enjoy a post dinner drink while watching over the waterhole (though there wasn't anything much to see because of the drought). The food was delicious and personal service exceptional.
We had a brilliant game drive in the late afternoon where we saw a leopard with a kill in a tree. The head of the killed animal fell out of the tree and then we saw there was another leopard underneath the tree waiting to catch it!
Quite an experience!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Great way to finish our holiday"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2019
"We stayed here for a very short time as we were on the way to the airport.
The pool is tiny but we had a lovely sunrise walk up the rock behind the lodge and saw lots of baboons.
Lighting in the rooms could be improved."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team