This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Keen walkers from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2008 trip

Namibia between 6 Jun 2008 and 25 Jun 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved Namibia and will go back. We had a great time

Its the first time we have ever used an agent rather than independant travel! Generally we were happy with the information and organisation. Thanks"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Hilltop House review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2008
"The Guest House is fine. Unfortunately there is a building project right next door and one opposite which obviously leads to some noise and dust. It'll be great when it's complete.

We had aimed for somewhere that was walking distance to town but the distance and the final hill means it was more of a hike than most people would want. However driving down and parking was easy."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Great private canyon hiking trail"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2008
"Good for walkers for 1 or 2 days. Also fairly close (by Namibia standards!) to Nankluft Park with excellent day walking"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Real bonus being inside the Park gates"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2008
"We actually had a bit if trouble finding it because we knew it was inside the park gate and we believed there was only one road in the park BUT you don't go through the gate to get to it!

We loved Sossus Dune Lodge, the layout ,the location, the rooms ,the people , everything. The only comment we would make is that, despite everyone trying really hard to provide 5 star treatment there is just a slight feeling of it all not being quite co-ordinated at the top somehow. However it is still early days for them and we wish them every success."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Guesthouse Indongo, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Guesthouse Indongo review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2008
"Perfectly ok but it was very quiet when we were there and it just felt a bit impersonal"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2008
"We loved expolring the Sleleton Coast and Terrace Bay was like this little outpost at the end of the earth!. We thought it was really quaint.

We understand it wouldn't suit everyone and the rooms are tired and old fashioned but still comfortable. We had been warned it wasn't 5 star and it exceeded our expectations. Staff were great."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Excellent desert elephant safari"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2008
"Fantastic place, very slick operation.

Would rate as excellent except we like to get out walking in our surroundings and this wasn't possible at this location without a guide. If there was someway of including some walking it would be heaven.

The wheel-out onto the balcony beds are inspired. Loved it"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2008
"We are real outdoors people so this suited us fine but I'm not sure it quite matched its description. For example Etendeka and Erongo Wilderness both describe themselves as wilderness BUT luxury in tents However there is a big difference between the 2 and someone expecting the same might be disappointed in Etendeka.

Bonny the guide was brilliant. The walking and game drives really suited us"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2008
"Think it was my misunderstanding but I thought Waterhole chalets actually overlooked the waterhole as opposed to just being close to it so I was a bit disappointed on arrival. The rooms are beautifully done but a bit on the cramped side compared to everywhere else. However we had a great experience at Etosha overall.

Staff rated as less helpful than elsewhere. Small example, we checked in after long dusty drive. Went to our chalet and stripped off for a shower. No water. Got dressed, walked back to reception and they said "Oh yes, its a problem all over site, they are working on it" I've no problem with this at all but it might have been sensible to mention it at check in before we went to our room."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2008
"Beautifully done"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2008
"A perfect place. Wish we had stayed longer. Fabulous walking country"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team