This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr D from Devon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Family Safari

Tanzania between 6 Jul 2018 and 15 Jul 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a most enjoyable safari.

The 4 day stay with Kichaka principally involved walking. This was balanced by 3 days of more luxurious living in Jabali Private House.

This combination served our family group well, it being a mix of those who have been on many safaris and one who was new to the experience. All the guides and staff that looked after us at both operations were excellent.

The holiday was a great success."

Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2018
"This is not applicable to the UK group so I cannot comment from first hand experience; only the member of the party travelling from New Zealand stayed there.

She reported that the hotel room was comfortable and there was a pleasant area outside to sit and relax in after a long journey."
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

"Adventures with Kichaka"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2018
"Our family group of 6 had 3 nights at the Kichaka main camp and 1 night fly-camping, though the latter title rather under plays the standard of service and comfort that Moli, Noelle and their team provided. The main camp is on a ridge with breathtaking views out over the bush. Very comfortable facilities, delicious food and excellent hospitality; Noelle and her staff provide a well run camp as a base for the safari adventures.

The walks with Moli were a wonderful experience; his enthusiasm, passion and knowledge were inspiring. Within 2 hours of setting off on our first morning walk we were following a pair of young bull elephants. This ended with our group observing one of the elephants at a distance of about 15 metres. A memorable experience for us all, particularly for the "safari novice" in our group who was 2 hours into her first safari. On another occasion we followed Moli's instruction - boots and socks off - and waded into the river to watch 3 elephants coming into the river to drink and then wander across to the other bank. Magical moments standing on a sandbank mid-stream as the elephants drank and then walked across in front of us, all with the backdrop of the cries of fish-eagles. The walks were not just about elephants, though they are Moli's great passion, there were many other wonderful experiences - sightings of other game, the scenery, the birds and their calls, the smells as we walked through wild sage. It is a complete immersion in the African bush.

Moli's careful guiding and skilful reading of situations meant that we always felt that we were in safe hands. He was ably assisted by the Park Ranger who accompanied us on all our walks.

The night fly-camping was at a beautiful location on the banks of the river. The standard of service and food remained outstanding even though we were "fly-camping".

The pattern of activities over the 3 full days we were with Kichaka was a walk in the morning (a certain level of fitness is required to be able to enjoy this), lunch followed by a rest and then another walk or a game drive in a vehicle in the late afternoon. Kichaka operates in a part of Ruaha that is well away from other camps and so there is a real sense of remoteness in the experience. The whole adventure with Moli, Noelle and their staff was fantastic."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

"Luxury at Jabali Private House"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2018
"Our family group of 6 enjoyed 3 nights of luxury in Jabali Private House. We were well looked after by the chef, Hassani, and the butler, Max. The food was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble for them both. A small swimming pool was great for relaxing in the heat of the day.

It was a short walk, or drive in the dark, to the main part of the camp, Jabali Ridge. We went there one evening for a delicious barbecue.

We were taken on game drives by Moinga who was assisted by Marcus. They were excellent in their keen-eyed spotting of game and their knowledgeable descriptions of what we were observing. A highlight was breakfast in the bush during one morning game drive. A table full of fruit, cereals, cheeses and meats with omelettes cooked to order as we sat by the dry river-bed.

The options for walking from this camp seemed to be limited to an area away from the river and as we had spent 3 days walking with Kichaka we just did vehicle game drives from here. There are several camps in this part of Ruaha so we did see the occasional other vehicle on our game drives and you should not expect that you necessarily view any spectacular sighting on your own."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A Great Family Holiday

Seychelles between 30 Sep 2017 and 13 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a wonderful trip.

Our family group of 13 people aged in range from 9 months to 72 years. We were in 2 villas, each of which had a generously sized swimming pool. This was a great success, providing endless fun for the children and relaxation for the adults.

The beach was about 200 yards from the villas and was beautiful with safe swimming in warm clear water. There was a selection of activities to try, some of which were free whilst others (scuba diving, zip wire) incurred an additional charge.

The staff at the resort really did everything that they could to provide an excellent and friendly service in every way."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Constance Ephelia Resort

Constance Ephelia Resort

"Wonderful Holiday at Constance Ephelia Resort"

10 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2017
"The resort is a little piece of tropical paradise. The accommodation is spread through well kept grounds that lead to a wonderful beach. The site is set against a backdrop of beautiful mountains.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. There were plenty of activities to occupy all our party, with there being much to entertain the children.

The food is excellent.

We were on a half-board tariff; any food or drinks that were not included in that tariff were very expensive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A wonderful adventure

Tanzania between 28 Aug 2010 and 5 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a wonderful experience.

We could only manage one week away and the balance of walking/camping to time in Sand River and Beho Beho was just right. Beho Beho sets the standard for safari camps.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No"

Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"First Night at Sand Rivers"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2010
"After the overnight flight from the UK and a short flight out into the Selous, we received a warm welcome at Sand Rivers.

The camp is perched on the bank of the Rufiji River in a beautiful setting. We enjoyed an evening drive and a "sundowner" whilst watching a young elephant grazing peacefully amongst lush vegetation.

A good dinner and an early night in readiness for the walking safari to follow."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking mobile

"Great Walking Adventure"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2010
"Our walk was led by Rem whose sharp eyes and ears never ceased to amaze. His knowledge about all things great and small provided us with fascinating information about the game, the flora and all aspects of our environment. He judged the fitness level of our group perfectly so that by the end of each day we felt a sense of achievement at having walked the distance that we did without ever being over fatigued.

The camp team was efficient with Spider always in helpful attendance. Cold drinks were always ready for us when we walked into camp. The food was very good, particularly considering the mobile facilities that were being used to produce it. Each of the 3 camps was pitched in a beautiful setting; one night on the Rufiji River and two nights at different places on a lake. At each site we were serenaded by hippos as we relaxed in the beautiful evening light after the days exertions.

There were many wonderful birds to be seen at all the locations. Marvellous encounter with 2 young giraffes, but a few days old, and their anxious mothers on an afternoon walk."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Luxury and Wildlife at Beho Beho"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2010
"Everything about this camp is of the highest quality - the accommodation, the staff, the food, all the guiding, the setting and the game near to it. A wonderful place to relax and from which to watch the game down on the plain below or at the waterhole, and also from which to venture out on expeditions.

After our 3 days of walking we first had a very pleasent afternoon game drive with Heribert, visiting the overcrowded hippo pool. Over the next 2 days we were guided on walks by Sacha and Ian. Plentiful game. Sat under a tree having our morning tea with Sacha as 300+ buffalo walked by to their shady spot.

On the evening walk with Ian we walked on the outskirts of the forest listening to the low rumbling noises of elephants invisible to us amongst the trees. Drove to a hyena den early on our last morning where we watched as bloodstained members of the pack made their way home after their night's exertions. Watched the submissive rituals of the male as he approached the matriarch and the frolics of a young cub who tried to emulate his mother's yowls.

This camp is a perfect safari destination."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

"Oyster Bay - Luxury back in Dar"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2010
"A perfect way to end a safari.

Very luxurious room and superb food. Greeted with a splendid lunch of lobster salad; then a trip out to try and find some gifts to take home followed by a relaxing swim in the hotel pool. Then another great meal at dinner!

All the staff were most helpful and provided excellent service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team