This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs C from Brentwood

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Our Oct 2015 safari to Tanzania/Kenya

Kenya and 1 other country between 2 Oct 2015 and 12 Oct 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our transfer from Olakari to Rekaro was very tedious with 2 flights and 2 35km road journeys quite apart from delay at Kenya immigration. The new EVisa was not fully understood by border control. The transfer from Wilson Airport to Jomo Kenyatta Airport was long and dusty but might have been even longer if routing through Nairobi itself. Kicheche camp location was a bit disappointing.

Our trip was amazing but even after planning nearly a year prior we were not able to experience our first choice camp in Naboisho especially as we only saw one vehicle with 2 people from Naboisho Assilia camp over 3 days when we were told that that camp was full."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Olakira

Olakira

"Great staff and animals at Olakira."

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2015
"Simple vibrant camp with super welcoming and friendly staff. Wonderful animal sightings including 3 crossings, female leopard with week old cubs, cheetah and lion cubs. Nathan was very informative about animal behaviour and excellent at finding animals.

For a temporary camp it had everything you could expect from a permanent camp. The food was very good although as a temporary camp lighting in the tent was not very good. Hot water for wahing could have been provided in thermos flasks as we had at Rekaro camp, another Asilea camp but in Kenya.

We have never had hot water bottles in bed before when on safari!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Rekero

Rekero

"Beautiful situation on the river bank."

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2015
"Outstanding camp for viewing animal crossings on both Talek and Mara rivers. It was a pity that we were the only guests although there was a specific party of 6 who ate separately.

All the staff made every effort to make our stay exceptional. Sami, our guide, was amazing providing us with unbelieveable sightings not only of massive wildebeest and other animal crossings but also ensuring that every day we saw something different. His intuition as to how animals behave and second guessing where next they would appear from the bush was excellent.

Our wonderful experiences at Rekaro will remain in our minds forever."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

"Peaceful camp location at Kicheche"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2015
"The location in a valley has its detractions as although very peaceful it is a bit of a drag to get to the river beds where most of the animal activity occurs. The waterhole was dry so there was little animal activity although a leopard and her 2 cubs were visible one day from the camp.

The camp is very comfortable and the food excellent. Unfortunately we were the only guests, whilst not affecting our safari meant that there was less ambiance about the camp.

Unusually for a safari camp we were not greeted with a moist towel when we returned to camp when getting out of our vehicle. The staff were very good at explaining the setting up and workings of the Conservancy and always available and responsive to anything we needed. Our guide, Francis, was very knowledgeable and imparted it very well.

Our sightings of cheetah and cubs, leopard and cubs and 3 prides of lions were superb. The pride of 13 lions including 3 dominant males feeding was amazing as was the behaviour of 12 jackals fighting over the territory at the lion's kill."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A thoroughly enjoyable trip to Botswana.

Botswana between 10 Mar 2010 and 16 Mar 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a thoroughly enjoyable trip to Botswana.

We look forward to returning to Africa soon, perhaps to Lagoon & Lebala or the migration in Tanzania or Kenya."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2010
"Highlights were the wild dogs and a pair of mating lions"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2010
"Would definitely recommend Nxai Pan but the ability to get close to animals is restricted by no off road activities. Apparently the authorities are considering putting more roads to cross the pan and this would help a lot.

Good for searching, listening and using binoculars. Loads of Zebra, Springbok, giraffe. Nxai Pan Lodge excellent especially the staff. It was a good time of year to go and a place to end our safari.

We managed to see a Caracal and bat eared foxes as well as cheetah and lions. It was good for seeing birds."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Zambia & Mozambique Experience

Mozambique between 15 Sep 2008 and 14 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Good
"Having been on 10 previouse safaris in most of Southern Africa we were disappointed with our trip to the three camps in Zambia. Apart from a general paucity of game and probably still feeling the effects of poaching and constant either accidental or deliberate bush fires in Lufupa the Puku safari as set out in the brochure and the animal information on each camp did not match what we found generally but specifically at Lufupaas regards the camp and game. Whilst we had the same driver and guide it was asking a lot of him to drive and spot animals without a spotter to help.

The Musanza camp experience was good and both Lufupa and Musanza gave a real authenticity of being secluded and out in the bush. Lunga was a good way to finish with a bit more luxury.

The high spot of the trip was Quilalea. It was a super place for R & R and is a beautiful island with wonderful staff and accomodation. We hope the new owners will not change anything."

Feedback response

Clearly these travellers have returned feeling that they had a patchy safari – and a super time on Quilalea Island.

To put this in context, the safari element of their holiday was a ‘set-departure’ trip – which takes a week to visit three camps around northern Kafue. These safaris have the advantage that they are the least costly way to visit this park, and great continuity as they are driven and guided by one (usually excellent) guide. They have the disadvantage that some of the drives can be long, and the camps used are the simplest, and most basic camps in the northern Kafue.

Like many safaris throughout Africa, the guide drives the vehicle as well as does the guiding – although it must be noted that these trips usually also have an armed game scout who acts as an additional pair of eyes. On this particular trip, the scout was absent.

Kafue’s game isn’t as dense as some other parks in Africa. However, during their safari these travellers still saw lion, leopard, cheetah and the rare sable antelope, amongst many other species – which some would consider a good ‘tally’ of very special sightings. Kafue is the only park in Zambia where anyone could see all of these species.

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Lufupa Bushcamp, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Disappointment at Lufupa Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2008
"This was not the camp that we had expected to stay from the accommodation voucher and the detailed description sent to us. Although the site was attractive by the side of the rapids the accommodation was poor in Rondavels with no ventilation except windows which had no mosquito mesh and the game was very sparse and hardly any birdlife due to the amount of bush that had been fired unlike the area around Lufupa Tented Camp.

The bush Camp had only been opened for 2 months and no explanation, other than the tented camp would have too many vehicles on game drive, was given as to why we were at the bush camp and not the tented camp. There were only two reference books, Noltings and the Bradt Zambia guide. In fact an area explained as a library had no books! They were unaware as to whether Wilderness had advised tour operators of the change.

The boat trip was a pleasant interlude without much being seen. Because there are only two loop roads inevitably you go over the same ground all the time. As there was lack of game the night drives were a bit wasted. Lighting in camp was poor and halogen lamps as we had at Musanza would have made a big difference."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Poor
Image alt

Musanza Bushcamp, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Good experience at Musanza Bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2008
"The management's attention to detail was superb with welcome drinks and face towels each time we returned to camp. This camp was on a different side of the river to where it was last year. The downside is that the camp is 8km from the Busanga plains with very little game close to the camp.

The night drives were interesting but inevitably not very much was seen, although we did see leopard on the night drive having a stand off with a hyena. We saw Lion and Cheetah but a lot of driving had to done as the plains are huge and the game widely dispersed as water holes are plentiful. Most of the concentration of game was 20km+ from Musanza. The roads on the plain are very bumpy but that cannot be helped as ther flooded each year.

The road journey from Musanza to Lunga is long although it is a game drive but very few animals were seen except for one sable,a few other antelopes and 3/4 buffalo. The lighting in the tents could be a lot better with more halogen battery lamps.

The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Overall, a pleasant experience."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Lunga River Lodge, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Last night at Lunga River Lodge"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2008
"A good place to end the trip. However arriving at Brunch time and leaving after breakfast the next morning did not allow much in the way of game drive other than the boat trip and the night drive back to camp. Unfortunately the game seemed to be elsewhere. Surprisingly we saw only 3 elephants. Hippos and crocs also seen. Not much antelope activity. It was a long and boring game drive transfer from Musanza."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Southern Sun OR Tambo, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Good stopover at Southern Sun Airport Hotel"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2008
"An excellent airport hotel which will be connected directly to the airport by a walkway when the improvements to the terminals are completed next year. The bus transfer was very good, speedy and efficient. The buffet dinner was good value and very good selection"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Azura at Quilalea

Azura at Quilalea

"Great time at Quilalea Island"

6 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2008
"A wonderful place to finish a holiday. The snorkelling off the beach excellent with access to fish and coral only metres away from the edge. Great variety of fish and noticeably different at varying tide levels. We were told that the diving was also very good as were the diving instructors.

The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble for them. Inevitably fish and shellfish were the foundation of the menus but if asked prior to mealtimes they would always find an acceptable alternative. The bungalows were very attractive beautifully furnished with a lovely balcony and sundeck all looking over the sea as indeed were all windows for the main part of the room.The sundowner snacks at the bar were delicious as was your private picnic on Turtle Beach and your special private dinner.

It has now changed hands as from 1 September but the Resort Manager does not believe there will be any changes to the experience for guests. Nathan, the Resort Manager, was quite exceptional having been Chef for the first 4 years of the Islands operations and progressed upwards to his current position. Exceptionally knowledgable about the island, the resort, marine biology and the birds of the island.

A grat experience and one to be treasured."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team