This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M & Ms H from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Unforgettable- in a good way!

Namibia between 6 Aug 2009 and 18 Aug 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"One could write so much that it is not worth starting to... Just a brilliant and inimitable place to go."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A very pleasant first or last night"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2009
"A good place to stay on our first night - easy to access from the aiport, very comfortable and fresh decor, and immaculately kept.

The service and food were good, and the option to have an evening meal was much appreciated when the main priority was getting to bed after a long journey."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"Great food and wine in a spectacular setting"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2009
"Great location for the drive in to the dunes, with delicious food and wine, and very comfortable 'rooms'. The viewing tower should definitely be visited, and the various game on offer at the grill should not be missed. The only slight criticism was occasionally sloppy service; a few long waits and the beginning of meals, and one missed turn-down.

Make sure you are out bright and early (5.45) for the journey to Sossusvlei, as big queues for the entry tickets form shortly after this. Sesriem Canyon was a slight let-down."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund Guesthouse

"Clean and central, but uninspring"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2009
"This was the most functional accommodatioin we stayed at in Namibia - very clean, but unfortunately our room was very cold on the first night and there were not spare duvets easily on hand. This was rectified after requesting duvets on the second night, but a single small radiator was inadequate for the apartment we were in. Breakfast was OK.

Avoid Kucki's at all costs; the food was very disappointing, atmosphere very much pub rather than restaurant, and when we complained our feedback was met with extremely rude behaviour typical of somewhere reliant on one-night only visitors, unlikely ever to return. Our pizza at Western Saloon the next evening was a much better experience and there were quite a few locals (who we had been served by in a book shop and who worked for Turnstone Tours) eating there as well, which seemed to be a good indicator.

Our trip to Sandwich Bay with Turnstone Tours was outstanding - defiitely recommended."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Sublime place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2009
"Our stay here was excellent, with fantastic 'rooms' (especially the outdoor showers) and outstanding service in a truly spectacular location.

Food was delicious and we spent a long time in close proximity to Desert Elephants on our morning activity. We were also shown where to find Welwitschia in the grounds and the night sky viewed from the roof was breathtaking."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Amazing waterhole, but downhill from there"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2009
"This was the only disappointing accommodation on our trip, feeling every bit the government run camp it is. Rooms were average, though poor value for money in comparison to other places we stayed, but food was a real shock after our other experiences - a real scrum, and akin to a Little Chef in terms of quality, which left us resorting to bread and coleslaw! The basic service all round is also a let-down after other places.

However, the Waterhole probably just makes all this worth putting up with, given the amazing views of all sorts of game long into the night."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Terrible
Facilities
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Fantastic and relaxing experience"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2009
"Fantastic food and fantastic service, with very comfortable and brilliantly decorated rooms/tents, and a beautifully laid-out main area.

No criticism possible!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2009
"A great place to stay, in a spectacular setting and surrounded by fantastic wildlife. Seeing both Leopards and Cheetahs was brilliant, and the quality of the guiding outstanding, reflecting the specialised activities which the tourism aspect of the camp supports.

The shared tables at dinner are different, but also an interesting change from solitary dining; while the accommodation is very comfortable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team