This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Bucks

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful trip, scenery and unique lodges

Namibia between 18 Oct 2009 and 31 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Wonderful trip - what a varied and beautiful country Namibia is. Just wish we could have gone for longer - could happily stay for several days at each of the lodges. Each was unique and of high quality. The hosts were friendly and helpful, everywhere clean, and the food excellent.

We were so glad that Gwynneth persuaded us to stay at Barchan Dune Retreat (rather than our own choice). Her local knowledge on this and the road journeys (eg how difficult the Spreegshoote Pass would be) was invaluable. She answered our queries quickly and efficiently and was always courteous and good-humoured.

We usually do our own booking when we travel but appreciated having Gwynneth doing this for us and fitting the jigsaw of the accommodation together. It was helpful to be able to read other people's comments on your website."

Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Great place to relax & explore Windhoek"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2009
"Attractive, spotlessly clean room. Pleasant areas to relax - comfy sofas inside and shadey tables and chairs outside. Great place to relax and read the guidebooks on arrival in Namibia or just look at the grass area over the road and the scrubby hillside. There's tea and coffee available throughout the day.

We enjoyed the walk into Windhoek - up over the hill through residential roads. The residential area surrounding the guesthouse is also very pleasant - another nice walk past jacaranda trees dripping with purple flowers. But the best thing is the friendliness of the staff - always a smile and cheerful greeting and happy to help."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Magical place to stay"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2009
"At the bottom of the Spreegshoote Pass with no other buildings in sight, surrounded by the ancient dunes, this is a place where you really feel in touch with the magic of Africa. Solar panels and sensitively designed rooms which snuggle into the landscape give an eco-friendly feel to Willem and Hannetjie's home. Willem will take you on a tour around the farm to spot animals - a huge herd of oryx in our case - and watch the light change on the mountains as the sun begins to go down.

A delicious home cooked evening meal is eaten round a large table with other guests and Willem and Hannetjie who make everybody very welcome and ensure a relaxed and enjoyable evening. Its like staying with friends who want to spoil you!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Best access to the dunes!"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2009
"Excellent location for visiting the dunes - KDL has its own gate which makes being on the dunes at sunrise very easy. The guides were friendly and incredibly knowledgeable - good company on the two excursions we did.

The rooms are delightful separate buildings on stilts - any breeze blows through which helps things to cool down. The swimming pool is another place to get cool - the water is somehow kept almost cold! There are lovely views over the dunes from the verandah of the main building and a little water hole which attracted deer and owls when we visited. The dry river valley provided a safe, easy walk just before sunset with the light playing on the dunes and some springbok surprisingly close-by.

Food was good and staff helpful. As this is probably more upmarket than we were used to, we were amused by being greeted with a cold drink whenever we came back from an outing (whether arduous or not).

Expert Africa organised a scheduled afternoon nature drive, about which these travellers commented:

It was nice to see some of the bush around the lodge and learn about the natural history but also the farm settlement history from our knowledgeable and charming guide. Strange to have some heavy rain in the desert!

Sundowner drinks ended the drive - complete with table, chairs and nibbles which appeared out of the back of the landrover.

Expert Africa organised a morning trip to the dunes, about which these travellers commented:

Worth staying here to be driven into the dunes so quickly in the morning. The early light on the dunes was very beautiful. There were only 4 of us in total so we could enjoy walking on the dunes at our own pace. The climb up dune 45 was definitely worth it - and not too hot early in the morning.

The guide then took us to Dead Vlei where we chose to spend quite a bit of time - such a strange place. The guides were very knowledgeable - stopping to show us interesting plants and animal tracks. He could tell where the snake stopped in the sand - I wonder if it got its mouse! The trip finished with a banquet of a brunch under the trees - out came tables, chairs, plates, and a meat and salad meal which was delicious!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Pretty quiet guesthouse near town centre"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2009
"This guesthouse has been most attractively designed and decorated - fresh and light with lovely pictures on the walls. There is a colourful garden to relax in and tea and coffee in the spotlessly clean comfortable rooms. It is in a quiet location but within easy walk of restaurants at night and the town and seafront by day.

Pete and Margo are welcoming and kind. We had a problem with our vehicle and they went out of their way to help us get it sorted. They both work hard at breakfast time to give you a feast to start the day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Bird lovers paradise"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2009
"A place that respects its environment and allows you to be close to nature. Birds come really close to the dinning room and swimming pool area so its easy to sit and watch them. There may be harmless insects attracted to the lights at night so if you don't like being that close to nature it may not be the place for you.

The rooms are scattered up the hillside and are very comfortable with a verandah to sit and admire the view. They have tea/coffee making facilities and a minibar. The poshest tents I have ever seen!!

The surrounding hills provide some lovely walks - either guided or unguided - with a chance to see small animals, buck, baboons and many different birds as well as good views. The guides are charming and very knowledgeable. The food is good and the staff friendly.

The "back route" to Erongo takes you close to the mountains and is worth the extra time if you have a 4wheel drive or high vehicle (the road was badly eroded by the rivers which cross it)

Just one thing that is a shame in such a relaxed environment. Immediately on arrival you are required to sign a harsh indemnity which absolves the company of any responsibility. Nowhere else confronted us with such a document - let's hope that they can find a more customer-friendly approach."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

"Quirky character close to Etosha"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2009
"Good location as a springboard for Etosha - it is a quick and easy drive into the park. The camp has a quirky character - kind of upmarket mock African township. It is comparatively big and busy with tour parties.

The rooms are huts with iron roofs which make them quite hot but they do have air-con. There is a swimming pool to cool off after a hot drive. The buffet style food was good - plenty of it and a good choice with more salad and vegetables than in some other places we stayed in."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Relaxed camp with lovely waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2009
"It seems to be quite big and so busy but the rooms are spaced out so it's not noisey at all. Rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. Restaurant is buffet style with a good choice of food. Chef cooks steaks etc quickly as you wait - a good humouired performance!

The waterhole is a little walk (or you can drive) from the centre of the camp. There are rustic benches overlooking the waterhole which is floodlit at night. On the whole people sit very quietly and there is a great atmosphere of waiting and expectation as different animals and birds come and go. Both nights we were there white rhino came to drink. During the day it was nice to be able to watch animals without being in a vehicle."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Beautifully designed relaxing place"

1 night Arrived 29 Oct 2009
"The buildings are beautifully designed inside and out - comfortable places to sit inside and out on the deck overlooking the farm.

There is a great variety of animals - unusual types of buck, zebra, oryx who come to the waterhole. The food was very good and the staff friendly. There is an attractive swimming pool and a tower which gives great views over the surrounding plains.

There are self-guided walks within the farm - the walk up the hill was worth the climb in the heat for the view and the pleasure of the walk. In the evening zebra and oryx were fairly close to the path before they spotted us and took off."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Attractive, relaxing place with pretty garden"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2009
"Our room was spotless and large with a private outside sitting area which we enjoyed. The garden and pool area is an attractive place to sit with trees giving welcome shade. Good choice at breakfast, including cooked options.

The Haus is in a pleasant residential area with large trees giving a green and shaded backdrop. It is not in walking distance of Windhoek but is a attractive, quiet place to stay and excellent value."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team