This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr S from West Yorkshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My May 2019 trip

Zambia between 2 May 2019 and 13 May 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"lost count of the times that I have traveled with your company. I think it must be 6 or 7 and always receive great service.

Amanda's suggestion of having a 'private' transfer back from Lower Zambezi worked very well and enabled us to connect with the international flights on the same day; this was something that I would not have envisaged had I booked direct with the lodges.

Zambia , I believe, provides a unique safari experience and although this time was no exception for us Brits (with the cost being $ linked) it is becoming rather expensive."

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2019
"As usual the Taj Pamodzi gave a great refuge from the now busy Lusaka.


The 'bureau de change' facility previously used does not seem to be functioning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 May 2019
"The Old Mondoro must be regarded as different from its sister camp at Chiawa. Facilities are more basic (perhaps more authentic of old style bush camps) and open to the animals.

The canoe trip was both exciting and provided close encounters with many animals and great bird viewing. The local area was very dry with less vegetation than normal at this time of year following a poor rainy season so we saw substantially more game than anticipated. As always we particularly enjoyed the walking trip.

My companion has vegan food and, having given prior notice, was well catered for."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2019
"5th visit says it all. Chiawa and particularly its staff are both amazing and do great credit to Lower Zambezi National Park.

There has not been as much rain as hoped during the rainy season so the surroundings were dry with little vegetation and consequently we saw far more game than anticipated at this time in the season. Impala, baboons and elephant seemed to be everywhere and is a reflection on the conservation work being carried out.

My companion follows a vegan diet and, with prior knowledge, was well catered for."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Apr 2013 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 26 Apr 2013 and 13 May 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"This feedback is far too long and not what you want to receive on your return from holiday when you have a million other things to do!! This is why it has taken me so long to complete after the end of the holiday. Why bother to ask about S A Airways and B A?

I have travelled with your company on several occasions and remain a great fan of the effort you take to make a holiday, to what could be a difficult area, run as smoothly as possible. This time was no exception and the following comments are for your guidance / information and in no way a criticism.

As you suggested we collected our baggage in Jo'burg and checked in again. On both occasions that we passed through Jo'burg the airport was EXCEEDINGLY busy and it was a good job that we had a 3 hour wait (as you had intimated) otherwise we would have missed the connecting flight. Anyone who was nervous of crowds and queues and delays may have felt concerned especially as a dangerous situation occurred as there was no room for passengers to alight from an escalator to join a massive queue through passport control.

Please see comments on the car at Mundulea.

When we arrived to check in at the Taj Pamodzi they asked for credit card details (which is usual in a hotel) and then asked how we were paying for the accommodation. It took over 10 minutes to convince them that we had already paid our travel agent. They had the audacity to say 'has it cleared through your bank account'. Eventually someone agreed that Expert Africa would be paying for the accommodation BUT THEY HAVE NOT YET PAID. Who was correct? At one time they wanted us to contact you before they would let us stay.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Whilst I can appreciate that you want as many good comments as possible I feel that you may miss out on the odd nugget of criticism / feedback because some like me considered giving up and are put off by the length of this feedback form.

The availability of a paper form would have been appreciated."

Feedback response

Firstly we would like to apologise to these travellers for the inconvenience caused at the Taj Pamodzi regarding payment for their reservation. Recent Government regulation changes in Zambia have meant that all payments now have to be made in Kwacha as opposed to US Dollars; which has been the norm for many years. These travellers stay coincided with this change over in currency and unfortunately there were some slight hiccups in processing payments over this period. We are sorry that they got caught up in the middle of this. This has never happened before and we would like to reassure any future visitors to the Taj Pamodzi that this should not happen again.

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness lodge was very relaxing"

3 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2013
"Although we had been to Namibia previously Erongo is a very easy and relaxed introduction to Namibia for any one new to the country and a good place to start our holiday after a day of travelling. It was just about driveable after arriving at Windhoek Airport in the early afternoon.

Accommodation and food were excellent and the presence of several local guests confirms its popularity with residents of Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okunjima Bush Camp was very patatial"

1 night Arrived 3 May 2013
"Okonjima had been sold to us as a great place to overnight on the way to the airport. It turned out that it would have been worthy of a longer stay. Perhaps another time. Although some distance from the airport it was an ideal place to stay to catch a mid / late afternoon flight.

We were booked on a half board basis and, therefore, had to pay for activities which seemed rather expensive and I wonder if a different 'package' would have given better value."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"Great place to overnight in Johannesburg."

1 night Arrived 4 May 2013
"As we were overnighting between flights in Jo'burg this hotel was ideal. You can walk to and from the arrivals / departure which was a great bonus.

The hotel was very clean and the evening meal menu was better than the hotel suggested . As an alternative you could order in a 'take away'.

There was a small gym and outside pool."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro was amazing"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2013
"We had previously visited Chiawa and wondered if Old Mondoro could match it. We need not have worried!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"My fourth visit to Chiawa"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2013
"The fact that this was my fourth visit to Chiawa says it all. Perhaps moved a little up market since my last visit!! Please leave Old M as it is, Can't wait for the 5th visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"The Taj makes Lusaka human"

3 nights Arrived 10 May 2013
"As a regular visitor to the Pamodzi I find it an ideal place to stay in Lusaka. The staff are very attentive and welcoming.

We made good use of the gym and associated facilities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team