This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr D & Mrs S from Wilts

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Exceeded expectations

Namibia between 24 Oct 2011 and 5 Nov 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We knew it would be a good trip but it was all we hoped for and more. All went very smoothly and the highlight was definately Okonjima.

We would have no hesitation in using Expert Africa again, or in recommending you to others.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We took torches with us but I'm not sure this was emphased in your info. They were very useful and we would have struggled at times without them."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

"Idea 1st stop over"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2011
"Easy to locate after a long journey from UK.

Made very welcome and staff aware that the trip was our anniversary and asked if we had any special requests."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Fantastic birds!"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2011
"Our room had a letter wishing us Happy anniversary with flowers and dough hearts to decorate the table and bed.

As a keen bird watcher I was delighted to see so many birds enjoying the water feature. There were plenty of game visible from the lodge and we did the walking trail in the evening."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2011
"A very busy camp. The room was the most basic of the trip but the beds were very comfortable. The waterhole was the highlight as there was always something to see. Staying in the park meant that is was possible to visit the waterhole at any time during the day or night and that would not have been an option if we had stayed outside the park.

Meals were fine but there was a need to book a table at reception earlier in the day.

We drove ourselves on safari and were delighetd with how much game we saw. Easy roads and well marked."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Shame about the kids"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2011
"Sadly there had been a recent fire and a lot of the area was burned. There was very little game and the waterhole deserted. The sum total of our viewing there was 3 impala in a 2 days visit. However this could also have been due to noise. There was a French family with 3 children, a baby and 2 under 7. While the parents watched at the waterhole the baby cried and the other 2 children ran around playing. No amount of requests to be quiet had any impact. The same family were also present a meal times and equally badlt behaved.

The room was wondeful. Very quiet and well equipped, hard to believe to was also Park service accommodation. There is quite a walk from rooms to waterhole but for the less mobile it is possible to drive to a parking place nearer the waterhole. Torches very useful here.
We did see game when we drove around but the landscape was very charred.

Our visit was at the weekend and on both nights the evening meal was a braii (bar b q). I struggled with this as I am not keen on vast amounts of meat. However it was possible to just have the salad and pud for half the cost."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Blue crane"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2011
"Not as easy to find as we expected. Although we knew it was just outside the park gate there is no road sign. The brown sign pointing at the entrance gate is labelled for another lodge. The entrance gate does have Onguma on it but we were misled by the lack of sign and went several kilometres past before turing round and seeing a brown sign when we got back to the park gate. So no probs finding it if you are travelling from outside the park.

Waterhole is new and close to the camp so not well used, either because it is new or too noisy. It was great to eat meals and watch what game there was though.

No opportunity to drive around Onguma in your own vehicle so we used the camp as a base to explore the east of Etosha and went back into the park."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Fantastic experience."

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2011
"What a place and the perfect ending to our trip. We were upgraded to Bush Camp as the main camp was full. It was wonderful.

Our chalet was super and there was bird seed to feed the birds (and a hungry warthog!). We tracked cheetah on foot and leopard from the safari vehicle. No opportunity to drive yourselves around but we didn't want this as we hoped to see cheetah and leopard and did just that we the help of the guides.

The staff prepared our dinner table with a crad from them all wishing us Happy Anniversary and included a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine.
This was a wonderful stay and we can't praise it enough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team