This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs L & family from Kent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Exceeded all expectations . . .

Namibia between 1 Sep 2010 and 17 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Because we had done a very simalar trip before our hopes and expectations were high,and we were not disapointed.......
apart from two lodges which did not quite meet our high hopes,it was the perfect trip......

From 4 years ago we have found Namibia & it's people much more friendly & outward going, especiall at the fuel stations where it seems that the oil companies have made large investments in buildings and most definately staff.

We will recommend (& have done so already) both yourself Sabina & Expert Africa . . . Thank you once again.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We liked the way Sabina Worked with us, guiding us on our previous knowledge, with the route & itinery.
We wlll try air namibia from germany next time we travel with you."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Ideal first night stop over."

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2010
"Very friendly owner, lovely gardens & breakfast, room good size with TV, however room could do with an update, table for TV...!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Great stay at the Lodge."

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2010
"Good accommodation, beautiful view, all bathroom facilities good. Friendly owners & staff. wonderful dining area looking out over rocky terrain, 2 open areas made it possible to see various bird & wildife.

Activities ie. am & pm walks great, friendly & knowledgeable staff. Wonderful views with a knowledgeable guide, need to be fit, fairly strenuous climbs! Owner/manager made a particular point to do a stargazing 1/2 hour, afternoon tea & cake was a nice touch.

Good food & catered well for vegetarians."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"As previously visited, everything to high std"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2010
"Nice lodges, good bathroom facilities, lovely personal touches (notes on turned down bed to sleep well!)

Lady manager most friendly & attentive, her husband, less so. Excellent staff, wonderful songsfrom waiting staff. Mchael the guide led a great safari drive to see Desert Elephants. Afternoon tea & cake nice touch.

Catered well for veggies. Vsited by scorpion at one evenin meal, caused great amusement !

Need to be advised to take money on drive, as we pass interesting local artifacts being sold !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great few days, lots of animals..."

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2010
"Very much improved facilities & whole area /site looks cared for & inviting since our last visit, 4 years ago ! !

Lovely white bed linen, good moquito netting, lounge area comfortable & good cupboard space. However we had a bit of trouble with drainage of toilet/shower.

Friendly staff, food not wonderful for veggies, but we expected that as catering for many people. Super waterhole, excellent for viewing plenty of animal interaction."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Wonderful relaxing location."

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2010
"Accommodation, dining area and food/ wine all first class, highly recommended. Friendly & courtious staff, we regret not staying longer here one night certainly not enough !!! Lovely to have a shop for those last minute buys.

Great pool area & lovely comfortable bed with own mini outside sitting area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Has great potential..."

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2010
"On reaching the lodge we saw a lovely river frontage, well kept gardens, pleasant bar and patio area. We were disappointed to find that our individual huts, looked good on the outside , but were not prepared fpr our arrival! We opened the doors to find numerous large wasps inside, the insect door netting had holes , the rear bathroom window had been left open, & the manager had to spray our rooms heavily, so it was some time before we could enter our rooms.

Staff seemed casual, but some made an effort eventually! However the river boat guide Michael was very courteous & knowledgeable.
Vegetarian meals promised but did not materialise. Food not great.

This lodge has the potential to be great, but dark rooms need updating , more care with food & general running of the place."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Mahangu Safari Lodge

"Same as before."

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2010
"We first visited this lodge 4 years ago. This lodge too has the potential to be fantastic. It has a great location, good river trips & safari drive with excellent guides, however the rooms & reception & bar area was a bit dark/dull, & had not been updated in last 4 years. ( they needed it then ! ) Ok it's nice to have a traditional Namibian/ African feel about the place, but camp beds, black bottom sheets , no fridge & very old mosquito netting, did not feel comfortable ! Light paint would make the rooms feel much larger & new shower curtain.

The site now has a fantastic viewing tower, saw lots of elephants & plenty of birds from it , great! . Also a new table & seating shaded area between our 2 Huts ( 11 & 12 ) is a good idea.

A good effort was made by the chef with the veggie meals."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"How can you improve on excellence..."

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2010
"Very courteous manager, lodge well organised, clean & obviously well looked after. Lovely, well cared for grounds/ gardens, improved viewing deck, new mini shop is nice touch.

Rooms clean, lovely white bed linen, comfortable beds coffee & tea area, good shower & added extra of TV on wall. Athough we much prefered to watch the animals!!!

Lovely friendly staff, especially the dining young ladies."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great stay @ the lodge"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2010
"Once again we regret not staying here longer, great welcome. Lovely dining & lounge area, very friendly staff, great food, well catered for veggies, & tasty afternoon tea & cakes, most welcome.

Amazing how ordinary ( not ot tatty, but well painted plus a mini sitting deck) the hut/room looked from the outside, then when you walked in to be met by a huge bed, lovely clean white linen, and the most ENORMOUS picture window over looking the bush. ( Oryx just outside beneath a tree! ! )

Lovely bathroom, super shower & v large, plus own wash basins, very nice. Will certainly be back here again.

Good afternoon safari drive & night time visit to water to see porcupine up close, great !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team