This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr L & Mrs V from Essex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

Holiday of a lifetime (so far....)

Namibia between 7 Sep 2010 and 20 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have visited South Africa before but this was first visit to Namibia. We loved it.

At one of the resorts Wilderness Safaris left a questionnaire asking us to comment on our visit, and I think 'life changing' was one of the available options. We avoided this classification as we thought it was completely over the top. But now we're home with time to think about it, we're not so sure...."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2010
"The room was very comfortable, the food very good and the staff extremely helpful."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Never seen so many stars at night..."

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2010
"This was our first visit to the desert. We enjoyed it but probably wouldn't go again...the views were great and it was very peaceful, but our main interests are animal/bird watching. We were fortunate to have a guide (Cristoff) to ourselves and he was extremely knowledgeable and kind.

NB: Just for info... don't know if you've visited the Lodge recently but when we were there they were finishing off some new rooms to be used from end of September 2010. They face away from the really good views.... if we'd ended up with one of them we'd have been disappointed."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Magic time at a magic place"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2010
"This was highlight of the holiday. Seemed to be a very well run place. Service and food were excellent and the guide (Festus) was outstanding. Apart from the game in Etosha, we were fortunate enough to have some very good viewing on the Ongava private reserve.

One day we arrived early for breakfast, and the serving staff asked to borrow our binoculars so they could look at some lion cubs that were in sight of the camp. It was that sort of infectious enthusiasm and enjoyment that made the place so special."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Great place to relax but...."

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2010
"This was a very good place to relax after some hectic days in Etosha. The standard of accommodation was very high and the food excellent. Although the brochure stated communal eating this was not the case - we had indivdual tables.

The waiting staff were very good indeed ... however we understand the camp managers have only been at the camp for six months and we're not sure exactly how at ease they feel in the job.

The private game reserve was truly poor - perhaps we'd been spoilt by Ongava/Etosha. We had a good guide who normally worked at a first rate private reserve in South Africa, and although he put on a brave face it was obvious that he was a bit embarrassed.

Overall we felt this was a people oriented rather than a wildlife oriented place."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"We upgraded to the Bush Camp - great choice!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2010
"NB THESE ARE COMMENTS FOR BUSH CAMP

As we had some spare budget we upgraded to the Bush Camp. Although we didn't have a view of a water hole from our room, we did have a sunken bird (or warthog) bath and a supply of birdseed directly outside. For birdlovers like us it was marvellous.

This was another very comfortable place to stay with great staff, good food and a very knowledgeable and helpful guide (Albert.)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team