This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr B & Ms M from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2013 trip

Zambia between 14 Jun 2013 and 29 Jun 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Old Mondoro was definitely the highlight, followed by the two bush camps (Chicoko and Crocodile). The wildlife highlights were the elephants in camp at Old Mondoro, and the sighting of three honey badgers together on a game drive.

On completion of the holiday, in hindsight I believe we could have been better advised on a couple of points
1. The split of the days between the two parks, especially as we mentioned about water activities.
2. Kaingo - I didn't appreciate it was a serious photographic camp
and 3. There seemed a reluctance to book Flatdogs

The transfers from BA to Proflight was very tight, it took us absolutely ages to pass through immigration even though we had pre-purchased visas. In fact we had to ask if we could queue jump in order to ensure we got through on time.

Coming home the transfer was even tighter and thanks to one of the ground crew of the airport unofficially queue jumped two massive queues. We felt rather embarrassed, but without this I doubt we would have caught the BA flight to LHR."

Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Flatdogs Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2013
"We chose Flatdogs on a room only basis as a relatively cheap start to the holiday in order to 'recover' from the journey to Zambia and not undertake a full set of activities

The only minor grumble was that the quality of the guiding on the game drives left something to be desired (compared to the remainder of the holiday). This however did not diminish the enjoyment of the start of the holiday.

Overall Flatdogs started our holiday in exactly the way we planned.

Even though we were only on a room only basis, they tried there best to accomodate my diet (diabetic) providing us with un-sweetened bread (+ marmite and butter)."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2013
"Excellent start to the stay at Tafika, as we were pleasantly surprised (only heard 24 hours prior to the transfer) that we would be picked up at Mufwe and transported directly to the camp by light aircraft rather than a long journey by 4x4 over bumpy roads.

Our original plans were to stay for 3 nights at Tafika and then walk to Chicoko for 1 night. However hearing how we enjoyed our 1st walk it was suggested by Tafika that we modify our stay by replacing our last night at Tafika with their other walking camp (Crocodile) and then transferring to Chikoko from there. Thank you to Brent our walking guide.

The walking highlights were the stalking of lions, and our close encounters with both buffalo and elephants.

Food, guiding and accommodation was excellent at the main camp and both bush camps. As expected the bush camps were much more rustic but gave a much truer back to nature feel."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko and Crocodile"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2013
"Much more basic accomodation as expected, as these are bush camps - but I'd still describe the as luxury camping. We enjoyed both camps and the sence of isolation as there are no roads at all to the camps.

Again enjoyed the walking with Brent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2013
"I believe we were not adequately warned by our tour company concerning the nature of the camp which is set up for the true photographer and not for the amateur point and shoot merchants like myself. This said Kaingo matched us up with a couple with the same attitude to photography and hence on most drives we were not affected by the photographer who must have a particular kind of shot whatever and obstructed viewing due to a large camera and their owners standing up to operate them.

That said we really enjoyed ourselves as the food, guiding and accommodation was excellent. Visits from the elephants whilst on our veranda overlooking the river was one of the highlights.

Having to put up with a diet low in sugar I usually have to forgo the sweets. However Kaingo were very pro-active and made up some very tasty fruit salads for myself. Many thanks."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2013
"Again I believe we were poorly advised in our initial discussions with Expert Africa, in which we were discussing the split of time between S Luangwa / L Zambezi. I believe we should have been advised to stay longer at the L. Zambezi.

Old Mondoro was by far the best camp we stayed at in Zambia in all aspects. The Lagoon room was a perfect location especially with the close attention of the one tusked male elephant 'guarding' our tent. One day we were the only ones in camp at lunch time, so they served our excellent meal on the verandah overlooking the lagoon, where we treated to a show of several elephants crossing, a buffalo bathing/eating and our friend the one tusked drinking/eating and bathing only a few feet from us. The highlight of our holiday.

Mentioning diabetes again! Following discussions, they said leave it to us and we'll sort things out. I had some wonderful low sugar sweets (especially the fruit crumble)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team