This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Honeymooners from Brussels

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

3

We'll return to celebrate some anniversary!

Namibia between 20 Jul 2012 and 2 Aug 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Nothing much to say other than: it has been several months since we came back and we still get excited remembering our honeymoon.

Everything was worth it and Expert Africa really helped us out. Their suggestions were spot on and their assistance was invaluable in planning such a trip to a destination completely unknown to us.

Our only regret was not having taken more time to see more of Namibia (we wish to go see the Caprivi region and Damaraland). We'll have to leave that for the next time we visit the country!"

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2012
"Where to start?
We loved the food (tough to make a choice since the standards were VERY high everywhere we went to but, if I'd have to make a pick, this would be my favorite place to eat from our whole stay).
We really had a good time at the communal table
We loved the style of the place (very tastefully decorated).
Excellent guide and super friendly staff.
We loved the sense of privacy of the place, with the added possibility of taking a drink next to the fireplace: an excellent way to share stories with fellow travellers and/or take in the beautifull Namibian night-sky.
The room was very cozy and the bed was a joy to sleep in.
Wonderful place and can't wait to go back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Wildest part of our trip!"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2012
"Very exciting camp!

Again, the food was excellent, the rooms were super comfortable and cozy. The waterhole is great to check out animals after dark.
The game drives were great and this private reserve has no shortage of big game to watch (we saw a group of a female lioness and three cubs on our first outing and a group of 6 adolescents on our second, a white rhino stopped by the waterhole in front of the camp during dinnertime on our first night there).

The staff is a particular strong point of this lodge. Very friendly and with a high standard of service quality.

I wouldn't recommend this camp for families travelling with small children as you find yourself much more in the middle of the reserve and can feel much more exposed to the wildlife, but that makes it ever more so thrilling!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2012
"This is more like a "Good+".

Again, this place was excellent for a one-day + one-night stop on our way between Etosha and Swakopmund. The setting is very beautifull with the tents set up amongst the huge boulders. Food was good and the morning walk is just great (thanks in great measure to the guide). There is no big game to see here (we saw mainly dik-diks and other small antelopes), but there's some interesting cave paintings and the possibility to stretch your legs and walk around for a couple of hours, all while listening to very fun guides who are very knowledgeable about the geology, flora, and fauna of the area, makes this place worth your while.

It was just right for one night to make the transition from fully-fledged safari mode in Etosha to Swakopmund. And I guess it'd be just as good when travelling in the other direction. Talk to the camp manager about the night sky and, if lucky, prepare yourself for a great description of the stars and constellations above you, together with full mythological references and the aid of a very powerfull laser pointer! Talk to everyone; they have plenty of great stories to share, and this made us enjoy our stay here even more so."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A good night's sleep!"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2012
"I personally appreciated sleeping for a couple of nights in Swakopmund's non-wilderness setting.

The manager of the guest house was very friendly. She helped us settle in, provided advice regarding our scheduled plans, and helped us with restaurant recommendations and arranging the reservations.

The room was very clean and comforable. The breakfast was also excellent. We truly enjoyed our stay at this b&b.
The restaurant that was recommended to us was "The Jetty", at the pier on the seaside. Very worth the visit as well.

Expert Africa arranged an excursion kayaking from Pelican Point for these travellers. They commented:

The most relaxing part of our trip!

We were both a bit stressed about doing this activity at first, but motivated each other into doing it as "if we're already all the way here, we better do all these things that we will not be able to do once we leave!".
Best. Decision. Ever.

It is amazing to be so close to the sea lions and see them just splash around and play with you. We were not lucky enough to see dolphins close by (we saw them some 50 meters away), but what we did was still enough to make it the most relaxing experience of the whole trip (and one of the most ever, in my case at least). The light sport, the sea, and being so "in the middle of it" seeing the wild sea lions playfully interact with you was just fantastic.

Take a camera with you (a small, inexpensive one that you won't be so stressed about if it gets a bit wet). You will want to remember that moment.

Personal recommendation, we arranged at the last minute to combine this activity with a 4x4 drive to Sandwich Harbor. Also worth it! It's a great activity, with action (quite a fun bumpy ride in the 4x4 in the dunes and the beach), great views of the dunes meeting the sea, and a VERY nice lunch in the middle of the dunes."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"The most relaxing part of our trip!"

27 Jul 2012 • Morning excursion

We were both a bit stressed about doing this activity at first, but motivated each other into doing it as "if we're already all the way here, we better do all these things that we will not be able to do once we leave!".
Best. Decision. Ever.

It is amazing to be so close to the sea lions and see them just splash around and play with you. We were not lucky enough to see dolphins close by (we saw them some 50 meters away), but what we did was still enough to make it the most relaxing experience of the whole trip (and one of the most ever, in my case at least). The light sport, the sea, and being so "in the middle of it" seeing the wild sea lions playfully interact with you was just fantastic.

Take a camera with you (a small, inexpensive one that you won't be so stressed about if it gets a bit wet). You will want to remember that moment.
Personal recommendation, we arranged at the last minute to combine this activity with a 4x4 drive to Sandwich Harbor. Also worth it! It's a great activity, with action (quite a fun bumpy ride in the 4x4 in the dunes and the beach), great views of the dunes meeting the sea, and a VERY nice lunch in the middle of the dunes.
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"So peacefull."

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2012
"The rooms were great. We really liked taking a short 1h walk around the lodge and going to the nearby hills. It gives you a nice perspective of the lodge and the surrounding area and the beauty of all of it.

Here, as everywhere we went to, we loved the food. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and beautifull. The outdoor shower is a treat when you're back from a long day of desert safari and playing in the red sands of Sossusvlei.

The lodge is not right next to the entrance at Sesriem, but very reasonably close. The guide was also great and, if you have not been at Sossusvlei yet, don't leave this lodge without taking the day drive to see it.

Expert Africa arranged an excursion to Sossusvlei for these travellers during their stay. They commented:

Angula was excellent!

Angula was our guide and he was a very knowledgeable and polite guide. He walked with us all the way up the dunes (no easy feat, exept for him) and showed us around everywhere, culminating with a fantastic picnic lunch before our last stop at Sesriem Canyon."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Angula was excellent!"

29 Jul 2012 • All-day excursion

Angula was our guide and he was a very knowledgeable and polite guide. He walked with us all the way up the dunes (no easy feat, exept for him) and showed us around everywhere, culminating with a fantastic picnic lunch before our last stop at Sesriem Canyon.
Excellent
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Great!"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2012
"Wolwedans is a fantastic place. It's a fantastic eating experience (all three meals).

The rooms are very, very comfortable and waking up to the views of the valley in front of you and the mountain on the other side is just out of this world.

Here, there is not that much animals to see (I mean this only when compared to Etosha or other fantastic game reserves), but we still managed to see giraffes, jackals, and plenty of zebras and oryxs. We did a very nice balloon flight, which was the highlight in terms of activities, and by this point we were more in the mood of good wining and dining, of which you have plenty to get satisfied in this lodge.

Expert Africa arranged a morning's ballooning trip for these travellers. They commented:

A big reason why I went to Namibia...

Amazing. We REALLY wanted to do this. The view of the red dunes from the sky is really amazing.
Be carefull with your planning to give yourselves some flexibility when scheduling this as you may not be able to take off on occassion due to wind and weather conditions. We were lucky enough to be able to reschedule it because our originally scheduled flight had to be cancelled.

Other than that, just incredibly relaxing and breathtaking. Watching the oryxs stare back at you from below is just fantastic.
And the champagne breakfast is very good!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2012
"After having seen so much free-roaming animals, it was a bit dissappointing to see cheetahs in an enclosure. However, these cats are not easy to spot and this was the only chance we had to see them, which we greatly appreciated. We had the chance to see them getting fed from really close by.

The food was ok and the room was nothing special. The place was a good stop on our way from Wolwedans back to Windhoek in order to make the drive a bit less heavy."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"A big reason why I went to Namibia..."

1 Aug 2012 • Morning excursion

Amazing. We REALLY wanted to do this. The view of the red dunes from the sky is really amazing.
Be carefull with your planning to give yourselves some flexibility when scheduling this as you may not be able to take off on occassion due to wind and weather conditions. We were lucky enough to be able to reschedule it because our originally scheduled flight had to be cancelled.
Other than that, just incredibly relaxing and breathtaking. Watching the oryxs stare back at you from below is just fantastic.
And the champagne breakfast is very good!
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team