This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs Barn owl from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

Holiday of a Lifetime in Namibia

Namibia between 14 Sep 2007 and 30 Sep 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"The initial delay [Ed: their flight to Namibia] at the beginning of the holiday was unfortunate as we did want to spend some time in Windhoek but that was the only problem we encountered.

Strange though, was the fact that the highlight of our trip to Etosha was perhaps a slight disappointment, and that other areas not expected to be as good, actually exceeded our expectations. The stay at Desert Homestead and the balloon ride were great. Swakopmund and the Skeleton Coast had a totally different atmosphere. I'm so glad that we entered the Skeleton Coast Park. Its seems a barren forsaken area but the great waves pounding onto the shore and the mists rolling in gave it such a dramatic feel. Absolutley wonderful.

Damaraland was attractive but we didn't see many animals. I believe the area has been heavily poached up till quite recently and the Rhino Conservation is doing well now and other animals are increasing in numbers also.

We saw loads of animals at Etosha but didn't expect quite so many people. There is a speed limit to the roads around the park but we saw very few people adhere to it. Especially at the mad rush to get back to your camp before they closed the gates. There were birds and smaller animals run over because people either couldn't stop or couldn't see them in time. There were also instances at waterholes when people in 4 wheel drive vehicles decided to leave the ample veiwing areas around the waterholes to get closer to the animals for better filming. This was dangerous and very inconsiderate to the animals. We just wish that this area could be policed to stop this unthoughtful behaviour.

Erongo exceeded our expectations, although we were already looking forward to seeing it. The walking was very good and the birdlife beautiful. Personally if I had gone there first I probably would not have moved on.

I have no suggestions to help you improve your service, but must say that it was good not to be pressured as some agents do on a daily basis and it was very thoughtful of you to send a map with the suggested route to take. There were lots of little details that put your service above other agents and I would have no hesitation in recommending you to anybody. Thank you all."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"One night stay at Hilltop House"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2007
"Due to a delayed flight we arrived at Hilltop House at midnight. We were welcomed by the owner who had kindly cooked a meal for us when he had heard how we had been stranded at the airport for the best part of 16 hours. He really put himself out to make sure we had everything we needed.

The breakfast that morning was brought to our room and was very much enjoyed. The accomodation was very clean and from the balcony you had a great view. I'm sorry that we spent such a short time there in Windhoek"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"A day at Bullsport"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2007
"The accomodation at Bullsport was probably not as good as some on our trip but was clean and tidy. The staff were helpful and the food was great.

One of the nice touches of this stay was how the owners sat with the guests at the table for the evening meal. They were charming people and made the evening meal feel very 'homely'"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Lovely setting at Desert Homestead"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2007
"We loved this place. The staff were fantastic and in particular Colin the manager was exceptionly helpful and had a great sense of humour. This place is very relaxing and in a beautiful setting.

The only one downside to the accomodation was that there were no powerpoints in our chalet/hut. (How can a girl do her hair?) Not the end of the world though and we would certainly go back again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze Guesthouse

"Aptly named Sea Breeze"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2007
"This was a delightful stay. After the desert it was great to come to the coast and cool down. The owner was a great guy who would book tables at restaurants for you if requested. He and his staff were so helpful and the breakfasts were enjoyable sitting upstairs looking out towards the sea.

It was a long walk into town which was not to be recommended after dark only because of no lighting. Taking the car was no trouble, with plenty of parking (watched by attendants) for a few dollars. We liked the location of Sea Breeze although it was a little out of the town. To be able to walk down to the shoreline and breath in that invigorating air was great.

There's lots to see in this area which could keep you busy for few days,"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Great experience ballooning over the desert"

19 Sep 2007 • Morning excursion

These trips are very well organised. The pilots are very competent and good fun. The views are great and give you fantastic opportunities to take some unforgettable photo's. The breakfast was much better than I expected.

We had some wonderful food, some of it home cooked, and plenty of bubbly to wash it down with. The crew were very entertaining and I would really recommend adding this experience to your itinery.
Excellent
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Peaceful Palmwag"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2007
"Palmway was in a beautiful and peaceful setting. The accommodation is spread out along the river bed where elephants wander from time to time. The reeds along this river bed supply excellent cover for huge flocks of birds whose wing beats, in that quantity, were astounding.

We were told that the management no longer recommend you walking out of the camp by yourselves but did not stop you from doing so. Quite a few folks (including ourselves) did walk, but just take care of the elephants around the riverbed area.
You can pay a guide to will walk with you if required."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"The gateway to Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2007
"My first impressions of Okaukuejo Restcamp was of how busy and large it was. It took us ages to book in and to find our accommodation. It wasn't that clearly marked.

The restaurant was good and the sandwich bar during the day was great value.The accommodation was clean and comfortable and being able to walk to the waterhole, day or night, and sitting there with a drink was memorable.

The deposit for your room key was $500 or your passport/driving licence and you could not book out until someone had checked that your accommodation was complete and in one piece. So allow some extra time when you leave. This applies to all the camps in Etosha"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

"The long and winding road to Aoba Lodge"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2007
"This Lodge is out of Etosha park to the east. It's only a short drive by the main road but when you turn into the drive it may take you 20 mins to reach the Lodge along a narrow winding road.

The accommodation was clean and basic in a woodland setting. Very peaceful. The meals provided were very good and the staff were lovely. Ask to see the Bushbabies."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Just another restcamp"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2007
"Accomodation was good and comfortable. The restcamps are all much the same. They cope successfully with lots of people. The waterhole here provided some good sightings."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Picturesque Erongo"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2007
"The accommodation was set in the hillside and provided privacy and good veiws. Not suitable for those who find steps difficult. The managers, Adele and Brian, were great people, who did as much as they could to make your stay enjoyable.

Brian regulary fed the birds in the morning and the porcupines at night which could then be watched whilst you ate your own meals in the restaurant. The area was good for walking and had some great sunsets which set the mountains aglow.

I would like to come back after the rains to see how the landscape changes. Loved it here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team