This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Clitheroe

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

Our Big Adventure

Namibia between 9 Oct 2016 and 24 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Good
"We debated long and hard about the difference between Very and Fairly satisfactory. We chose the latter for the following reasons:

1) Bullsport was a good stopover, but not in the style of the other lodges. We knew it was a working farm and perhaps we should have chosen differently.

2) We are not convinced that visiting at the end of the dry season was a good choice. We were aware of the lack of rain, but did not realise that it would be so unusually hot. This was not the fault of Expert Africa.

3) Although happy with the 2 x 4 car, a more powerful diesel model would have been more suitable.

On a positive note, we were delighted with Expert Africa's response to our delayed arrival after we had difficulty contacting Wilderness Safaris. We also feel that the whole process from the initial enquiry to the actual holiday was well managed, with excellent advice and information. We would (and already have) recommend Expert Africa.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The guidebook does need updating. The wifi in most camps is better than described for example. Conny's restaurant (page 181) was very welcome, but there was only """"chicken"""" or a toasted sandwich. It was very clean and had some very interesting geological specimens.

Solitaire has a memorial to Moose who died in 2014, (page 265). The Kameldorn Garten restaurant in Otjiwarongo (page 405) closed some time ago.

We greatly appreciated camps with good wifi, bean to cup coffee machines and chilled water. Sounds trivial, especially when we have also greatly enjoyed the friendliness of staff and the beauty of the country that is Namibia.

Thank you."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Galton House

Galton House

"Comfortable stay at Galton House"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"Friendly welcome from Helen. Shown to the elegantly decorated room 5, which suffers a little from a rather small bathroom. We enjoyed a couple of beers by the pool.

Helen arranged a taxi to take us to the excellent Joe's Beerhouse (thoroughly recommended). Good breakfast.

No problem for Helen to give us directions to find the route south out of Windhoek."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"Due to problems with our flight, our two night stay was reduced to one night. To be honest, we weren't really sorry. We arrived at 14:45. There was no one around, but eventually we were booked in.

Accommodation was refreshingly cool and comfortable. If you are not into horse riding or energetic walks in hot weather, it's a good place to just chill out and bird watch.

We were made very welcome by Johanna and Ernst at dinner and breakfast where the food was good."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Hot stay at Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"Welcoming reception. Wilderness Safaris are trying to reduce plastic bottle waste. We were issued with named drinks bottles and encouraged to fill them from the water cooler. What a good idea!

Elegant décor and considerate staff combined to make this a very enjoyable stay. No one could do anything about the temperature of 50.5 degrees in the shade however.

The afternoon nature drive and sundowners with our guide Castro was informative and interesting. The promise of sunrise over the dunes could not be fulfilled as the gate did not open until 06:25. This meant that the ascent of Dune 45 and the visit to Dead Vlei took place in the hot sunshine of late morning.

Our afternoon visit to Sesriem Canyon with Castro was fascinating. We had expressed an interest in the geology of the area and he provided all the explanation that was needed.

If you are interested in star gazing from your roof terrace, make sure your visit does not coincide with a full moon! Once it had set, the sky was amazing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Immaculate guesthouse"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2016
"Very helpful receptionist who confirmed our reservations and organised a taxi. The guesthouse is surrounded by charming gardens which reflect the pristine décor.

Breakfasts were excellent. On our first night we ate at The Wreck, an upstairs restaurant with views over the beach on the opposite side of town. Delicious food.
On our second night we walked to Kucke's Pub for another excellent meal. Beware of large portions though."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"A day on the edge at Sandwich Harbour"

15 Oct 2016 • All-day excursion

Collected from our guesthouse by Birger, we were advised that we needed to hurry as there was a long journey to make before the tide turned. The route to Sandwich Harbour took us along the beach where we saw sea lions of all ages, wonderful pelicans and both greater and lesser flamingos. The desert dunes end here and are washed into vertical banks by the tide. We passed the deserted and sand filled former whaling station and reached the lagoon where we were given time to explore or climb one of the dunes.

The return journey turned out to be quite a race against the incoming tide. The beach had all but disappeared and there were hair raising moments when Birger had to time our progress with the advancing waves. We made it unscathed and stormed up and down the dunes to reach a viewpoint where a delicious homemade lunch with soft drinks emerged from the back of the truck.

The final part of the return journey was through the ugly salt works. Not the fault of the tour company.
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Welcome, welcome to DMC"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"We missed the 14:00 pickup deadline, but this was no problem and we were quickly collected by our guide, Teek. As we cooled off with refreshing towels and drinks, the staff choir assembled to greet us with their welcome song performed in multi part harmony.

Dinner was a delight with the menu announced by Patricia and translated into the Damaraland tongue by Korbiana. After dinner the choir assembled once again to joyfully perform tracks from their CD. On Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays dinner is served in the Boma on the hill. This is an enchanting spot with a candle lit path from the lodge.

An exciting morning trip took us searching for the desert adapted elephants. Teek clearly loves these animals and spoke with passion about how they have adapted to their environment. The scenery is stunning and we enjoyed exploring the local geology.

Probably our favourite camp of the whole trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Greeted by elephants"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2016
"This camp has its own, busy waterhole about 10 metres from the terrace. We were greeted by elephants as we checked in. Later visitors included kudu, springbok, giraffe and a black rhino.

Our first sundowner trip was memorable for our close encounter with a female black rhino and her calf. We later watched lions relaxing by a distant water hole. An early morning trip into Etosha saw us visiting busy waterholes in the south of the Park. Our guide Leon proved an expert at spotting game. Our final sundowner trip in the Reserve gave us the chance to spend some time watching the pride of lions with their enchanting cubs. The evening finished with a sighting of a white rhino with her calf.

We believe that Ongava was previously run by Wilderness Safaris. It seems to lack the same esprit de corps as the WS camps we have visited. This is why we have rated the camp as Good rather than Excellent."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Stylish and convenient access to Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"This camp is set in the bush without open views. It is 10Km from the Von Lindequist gate on the eastern edge of Etosha, so access to the waterholes is good.

There is a beautifully constructed, thatched central area with an elegant décor. The grassed area in front was a favourite grazing area for local wart hogs. One evening, dinner was served at the lantern lit Boma.

The accommodation is well spaced. We were in number 8 (of 16). It was about 200m from the lodge."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Bouldered over by this camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2016
"This was the camp with the best setting of our trip. Weathered granite outcrops provide a surreal landscape within which nestle the tented chalets.

One wall of our bathroom was a boulder. Every tent has a view of the landscape. Wooden walkways lead you up and down and over boulders. The restaurant is up fifty steps but provides a spectacular view over the terrain and a small waterhole.

Activities included a choice of morning guided walks, way marked trails and a late afternoon visit to a local cave containing painted rock art."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team