This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs J & L from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

A wonderful experience

Namibia between 12 Oct 2007 and 28 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip went almost without a hitch ( Roys restcamp was a bit of a hitch!) and every day brought a new small adventure."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2007
"This camp was a good way to start a holiday in Namibia - it was very friendly and relaxing. Radio tracking the leopard was good fun."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2007
"The waterhole is always a delight! Our rooms were well placed near the waterhole which was great. The refurbishment was good on the whole but some of the air-conditioning was noisy. The restaurant is fairly basic which may concern some people and the pool tile surrounds were broken but perhaps they haven't updated that yet."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2007
"I think they have made some real erors in the refurbishment there. Superficially it looks good but already the window blinds in the rooms are bent and tangled, the twin washbasins mean there is no room to place washbags, the loo is in sight of all and sundry and our air conditioning didn't work ( we had to move rooms). I think they should have gone for low tech rather than a sophisticated look. They were working under real pressure in the restaurants as the kitchens weren't ready so they were doing really well to provide food. The service under the circumstances was good. The waterhole was pretty poor and odd looking and they now charge day visitors to go up to the viewing platform. If you're staying there its free.
The waterholes around Namutoni were excellent so jsutified staying there."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2007
"We arrived to find we had been put in chalets K1 and K2. These were the new chalets (they are building quite a few new ones, and were on a building site on top of the others being built!) and were definitely not really ready for occupation. Very bare with no mosquito nets, nothing on the bare cement floors, and very little furniture. I was completely despondent! I insisted we were moved while feeling sorry for them because they were fully booked. Luckily they decided to move us and to take the flak from the later arriving tourists! Our new chalets were very good overlooking the river and we went on to enjoy this lodge and especially the food which was very good indeed. I suggest you insist that any future clients are in the original chalets and not the new build."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2007
"This is a fantastically comfortable lodge with a lovely position. There wasn't much to see though in the park( maybe we were unlucky) but our guide was excellent, warm and friendly. Everything ran very smoothly there, including our transfer to Kwando Lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kwando Lagoon Lodge

"Kwando Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2007
"I think this was an ideal safari lodge - not too smart but everything you need. Our rooms were great and we saw hippo and elephant passing by in the night. The guides were excellent ( Alan did have a concern about the tracker and the guide
talking in their own language to each other and not informing us of what they were deciding etc.) and we particularly enjoyed the night drives and the birds."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2007
"As an overnight stay this was fine. A trip into Mahungu Park was unexpectedly good and enjoyable. The main owners were away and another couple were looking after the place for them. This may have accounted for the food being rather poor!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

"Roys Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2007
"I'm afraid we found the lodge wierd rather than interesting! There was a slight voodoo feel about it. The chalets - being brick built - were extremely hot and there was sacking stuff over the windows which didn't help. The pool was green - the service was virtually non-existent and not particularly friendly. We did see Eland though at their waterhole which was good as we hadn't seen them up to then. There is a new lodge just opened on the main road on from Roys camp. We stopped for a coffee and croissant there (very good) and had a look at the rooms which were smallish but nice. I think it's just called 'the Lodge'."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2007
"This is more like a very upmarket hotel than a lodge but as such it was excellent. It was my birthday when we arrived and my daughter had emailed them to see if they could do anything to celebrate it and they really were lovely. There was champagne and 4 glasses in the room - flowers on the bed - and they had made a huge chocolate cake which we had with a cup of tea. My only caveat is that the animal side is more like woburn safari park but if you disregard that and just see it as a restful and fairly luxurious end to the holiday then that's OK."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2007
"This was a bigger setup than we had realised and for some reason we weren't too taken with it. Nothing specific as the rooms were good so I can't really explain why we felt slightly unhappy here. Perhaps it was because it was the end of the holiday!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team