This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs E from Broom

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Very well organised

Namibia between 3 Nov 2007 and 17 Nov 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip as a whole was excellent.

Tracy gave us a very good idea of what to expect and there were no surprises. It was very easy to drive round and the 'notes for travellers', accommodation vouchers and maps made for a hassle-free trip. It seemed everything had been thought of.

Tracy's recommendations of where to stay and what to see and do were spot on and just right for us. (For example we were very pleased we were on half board basis at most of the places so we were independent and able to our own thing. Had we been fba at most places, we'd have felt obliged to do trips and activities that often we were much happier doing ourselves.)"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 3 Nov 2007
"This was a good place to stay for our first night. It was easy to find, had good parking, a nice swimming pool and was near Joe's Beerhouse!

The rooms were clean and the service friendly and efficient. In terms of the standard it was very much what we'd been led to expect and lived up to expectations."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Fantastic views"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2007
"The service was very good and the rooms and atmosphere were lovely. The views were spectacular. We were slightly disappointed with the trip into Sossuvlei because we were delayed and left late.

The guide himself was very good and informative but in hindsight we would have preferred to drive ourselves in order to get in a bit ealier and also to have more time to do walking and explore the dunes - being with a group made it a little restrictive."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2007
"Sam was very helpful when it came to recommending restaurants and activities.

The rooms were a bit basic but comfortable and clean. The breakfast was always good with lots of choice."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Beautiful setting"

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2007
"Mowani was in a beautiful setting. The rooms and communal areas were exceptional. A highlight was the sundowner.

One night was the right length of time here as we felt there wasn't a huge amount to do although it was very nice relaxing by the pool."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Wonderful location"

1 night Arrived 11 Nov 2007
"We were pleasantly surprised by Palmwag. All the animals wandering around the lodge were a real highlight.

The swimming pools were very nice and although it was quite big, it still felt quiet and relaxing."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2007
"Our room was fantatic with a superb view of the waterhole from the balcony. Unfortunately while the decor and setting of the 'waterhole chalet' was excellent it was far from matched by the experience as a whole.

The service was unfriendly - we were told off for checking out ten minutes late even though we'd done so because there was no running water and had to wait for them to switch it on so we could have a shower! The communal dining area was pretty chaotic and the food wasn't great.

That said, the waterhole made up for it seeing several black rhinos but if we were to do it again we'd definitely opt for a basic room as the money spent on the 'waterhole chalet' wasn't worth it given the bad service."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Fabulous lodge"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2007
"This was an excellent lodge in a lovely setting - definitely the best on the trip. Our little 'private fort' with its view of the fairly active waterhole was lovely and had a huge bathroom. The swimming pool was really fantastic and the first one we found where you could actually swim lengths rather than just cool off. The food was without a doubt the best we had anywhere in Namibia and the service was very good.

Although we chose to drive ourselves around Etosha rather than take the organised trip, the guides were still very happy to give us tips on where to go. Because Onguma is so close to the gate we were able to get into Etosha as soon as the gate opened and we ended up being a lot luckier than those on the main trip (who left a lot later) and saw white rhino, two leopards as well as lots of lions all within two hours. We also did a night drive on Onguma's own reserve which was excellent - with a very informative and enthusiastic guide.

One small suggestion would be to have mosquito nets over the beds as we were innundated with moths as the netting at the side of the building had quite big gaps under it. The roof also leaked when we had rain but it didn't detract from the overall experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Great seeing the leopards & cheetahs up close"

1 night Arrived 16 Nov 2007
"Seeing the leopards and cheetahs up close was fantastic and the guides were very well-informed. The food was very good although the communal dinner was a little formal (especially as we were probably the youngest by about 25 years).

Everyone was very friendly but for our last night it would have been nice to have dinner a deux. Overall a very well worth doing."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team