This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms G & Mr F from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

Great Namibian adventure!

Namibia and 1 other country between 22 Sep 2017 and 8 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thought our whole trip to Victoria Falls and Namibia were top notch. Expert Africa did a great job and nothing went even slightly wrong the whole way round. The pre-trip information covered everything we could have asked for and Maruska was excellent!

Namibia is very varied and friendly and easy to drive around by yourselves. Everywhere we stayed were really comfortable and luxurious and the whole tourism industry feels very professional and well run. We have and will continue to recommend both Namibia and Expert Africa to others considering a varied, exciting holiday in Southern Africa.

One recommendation: Rent a bigger car than a Renault Duster. The roads are quite bad and there is a lot of driving to do!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

"Basic and far from falls but good"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"Looks a bit dilapidated but actually very nice and very comfortable rooms.

Helpful staff, tour bookings on site and tasty food. Main downside was that it is a bit in the middle of nowhere and they recommend not walking back at night. Was a long walk to the falls but very easy none the less.

Because of distance we ate dinner both nights in the hotel which was actually very good so no complaints from us and very happy to recommend to others."
Good
Location
Poor
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Friendly welcome, great view, good service"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"Only stayed a night but owner was super helpful and gave us loads of tips for our journey.

Even offered us a cool box he had spare. Room was very nice and the balcony had a great view over the town. Breakfast was top notch and great service.

Was a bit far from town center, but not a problem for us."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Super amazing stay. Excellent excursions!"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"Amazing location, super rooms, excellent service, great food. No bad words to say at all. Sleeping on the roof under the stars was really nice and guided tours were great!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Big massive hotel - does what you expect"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"Big hotel on the peninsula. Sea views on three sides (although we were on the 4th).

Three restaurants: we ate in the beer and meat one and had one of the best meals of our trip. Front desk was helpful: helped us book restaurants for next night.

No real complaints, but not particularly homely or exceptionally special.

Felt a bit corporate, which is to be expected really.

While staying at Strand Hotel, these guests took part in a kayaking with seals excursion and this is what they had to say:

This was one of the best things we did on our trip.

Didn't realize how close you get to the seals and how many there would be.

Good guide, good equipment. Highly recommend."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Super Mega Amazing"

29 Sep 2017 • Morning excursion

This was one of the best things we did on our trip.

Didn't realize how close you get to the seals and how many there would be.

Good guide, good equipment. Highly recommend.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Amazing rooms; great stay"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2017
"One of the most amazing rooms we have stayed in. Very comfortable with option outdoor shower and bed on wheels you can roll outside to watch the sunrise.

Main building a fort on a hillock with great views. Excursions were pretty good. Guides were excellent and seeing desert elephants was really great. Good food and service (singing on arrival, departure and after both dinners was a bit much though).

Overall very relaxing stay although not too much to do in surroundings. Would have liked to have been a bit more active."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Basic, but access to Ongava reserve = great"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2017
"Room was the most basic we stayed in on our trip. Tent flaps didn't quite do up, so very loud and flappy in wind.

The super thing about this camp though is access to the Ongava reserve + waterhole at the site. We had Rhinos come down to drink 30m away from us both nights at dinner and also lions one night.

The reserve is also the best place to see Rhino's in the area if you go on a driven excursion (we didn't see lions or Rhino's self driving in Etosha but saw both at Anderssons).

Service and food were both ok. Had to inquire about quite a lot of things and got forgotten one night at dinner."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Great facilities and setting."

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"Setting and rooms are really idyllic. Nice lodge & cosy setting.

BBQ buffet in outside area one night was really good and food overall very good. Big well constructed rooms and big pool.

Generally not that welcoming though.

Had to unroll all our tent flaps ourselves, no bottled water or water cooler available to refill our drinking water, staff generally quite absent and cold compared with everywhere else."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Wish we would have stayed two nights!"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"We thought this was just a stop over on our way to the airport but it was actually really great.

Rooms were excellent. Very big and isolated from each other. Every room had a mini water hole outside and massive windows to watch the animals. Also had a separate hut with cosy sofas exposed to the outdoors to relax in.

Plenty of excursions offered but we only got to partake in two as stayed just one night. Would have like to have done some of the walks and extra excursions. Service excellent and food great (massive breakfast omelette was great and Kudu wrap for lunch great). Slightly smaller camp so more intimate and great central setting."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team