This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family V from Belgium

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2017 trip

Namibia between 13 Jul 2017 and 25 Jul 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"A wonderful experience with wonderful memories.

Breathtaking from beginning to end, especially in terms of nature and wildlife but also very nice places to stay (mostly). The only 'down' side I can think of is the cost, as this was indeed by far the most expensive holiday we've ever booked... but no regrets! Next time I would however do the trip in the opposite direction (as was the plan originally -I know-, but couldn't be achieved because of booking restraints) and leave the highlights (etosha and okonjima) 'til the end.

Thanks for the good planning and organization and the help throughout!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Overwhelming Namibian Safari experience"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2017
"We arrived at Okonjima Plains Camp straight from the plane and were overwhelmed by the view from our rooms as well as from the main lodge. We spent the first afternoon just gazing at the animals passing in front of the room and had our first sundowners right there.

The next day we went on the cheetah- and the leopard tracking drive with Peter and were again overwhelmed by the wildlife we saw, including a leopard at the end of the drive.

Food was great and evening atmosphere around the fireplace on the terrace was memorable.

On the second morning I had a run towards the Bush Camp and was accompanied by four giraffes!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2017
"We had great expectations but were somewhat disappointed. Staff was disinterested, (unnecessary) queues at the reception, morning drive for next day fully booked (not a problem as we had our own car, but in general not nice if you have only one day).

Room/cabins although very nice inside, had only a cramped little outside terrace and no view at all. Restaurant as well as food were disappointing.

The fort itself is abandoned except for a little souvenir shop in the corner: no bar or restaurant in sight contrary to what was advertised.

Next time better to take a nice lodge outside the park, which wouldn't cost more, even if that means getting up earlier 'cause you're not allowed in the park until after sunrise."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2017
"Rooms very basic, dark and small; no (or hardly any) view, with tiny barred windows.

Facilities nicer, with pleasant restaurant, terrace and bar.

Water hole impressive.

Altogether a nice set-up but still comparatively expensive for what you get."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2017
"What a wonderful, heartwarming and pleasant retreat this was.

Such friendly and helpful staff, very relaxed and laid back atmosphere, lovely chalets, small scale luxury (but not exaggerated).

Delicious food and beautiful surroundings.

Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

"Palmwag Sleep-out review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2017
"Glad we didn't have to stay at the Lodge itself, which seemed (over-)crowded, noisy, with 2 small pools and rooms/chalets with hardly any privacy. The restaurant however looked nice (the snackbar didn't, and was very expensive).

We immediately took off on our "under canvas sleep-out"-trip with our friendly guide and his assistant : a wonderful experience that started with a wonderful sundowner in the middle of the savannah and continued with a deliciously cooked dinner under the stars at a perfectly set table perched between our tents (ready made on arrival).

Tents had everything, from nice bed-linen to mosquito repellent, soap bars etc. and even little canvas hot water basins at which you could wash yourself in the morning: this is glamping!! We all loved it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Activities
Average
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

"Vingerklip Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2017
"What a surprise to find this beautiful pearl of a Lodge in these stunning surroundings.

Lovely private luxurious chalets, beautifully decorated inside - pity we only had one day. The (2) swimming pools are stunning, as are the views basically from everywhere.

The Eagle's Nest up the mountain is a must for a sundowner and preferably for dinner too, with glorious 360' views, all in all very romantic. Book ahead 'cause there's only a few tables."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"Spitzkoppen Lodge: Magic place"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2017
"What a magic appearance, this little pearl hidden between the boulders!

Beautifully laid out and set up and tastefully decorated place with friendly and helpful staff and delicious food.

Fairy-tale-like and beautifully lit boulders (at night) surrounding the cabins.

The pool is one of the most stunning, original and special pools I've ever seen."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
The Delight

The Delight

"The Delight review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2017
"Clean, nice, big bright rooms. View not very interesting but balconies make up for it.

Definitely the best breakfasts in Namibia or at least of our entire trip.

Good location, a bit boring but within easy walking distance from wherever you want to go in Swakop."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2017
"Beautiful comfortable terrace (and restaurant behind) with lounge chairs etc. overlooking the desert.

Cabins / chalets equally lovely with very nice private veranda/terraces in front with the same beautiful views over the desert.

Professional guides, friendly staff - well-organized."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team