This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms S. from Missouri

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

1

My May 2022 trip

Zambia and 2 other countries between 8 May 2022 and 27 May 2022

Trip rating: Good
"Really good trip overall. The transport issue mentioned in Namibia did not set the best tone and I admit to being worried about how the rest of the trip would go after that happened.

Everything was great from there on out, except until the very end when two persons in my traveling party tested positive for COVID at Splash Camp, Botswana. There were a lot of details that needed help and attention for these two persons when they were told they had to stay in Botswana an extra five days, at a camp with zero internet availability. The camp does have a satellite phone for emergencies. They reached out to Expert Africa to request help in making alternative travel arrangements and important notifications to people at home and received zero assistance.

This lack of helpful response did not set well with us as a group of five travelers having spent a combined (approximate) $50k between us on this once in a lifetime type of travel experience. So the beginning and end of the trip were not the most shining examples of Expert Africa’s service. But the majority of our trip was great. So take that information any way you wish. Just sharing our true experiences."

Feedback response

I was sorry to realise that the comms that I, and my colleagues, had with these travellers when they contacted us for assistance were not what they’d hoped for, nor apparently came across in the way we’d usually like.

On both occasions, our team on the ground were working very actively to resolve the issues, whilst myself and my colleagues in Expert Africa monitored and worked behind the scenes to assist. In Botswana, there was nothing that we could do to bring internet to the camp where two people were quarantining due to positive Covid tests, but we worked with the camp’s team to make sure they were as comfortable as possible.

We have reviewed these issues and looked at what we might have done a differently to ensure a better outcome. In retrospect, we should have tried harder to understand exactly what these travellers wanted of us, and then focused on those things in order that they felt reassured.

So I’m sorry that these travellers felt let down; we’ve tried hard to learn from this experience to improve our responses in the future.

Arranged By Maruska AdyeRowe


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2022
"Loved the warm, musical welcome at Kulala. The meals and accommodations were great, along with the included touring of the area. I’ll just add that my shower drain in the chalet did not drain well at all, but this was a very minor annoyance.

I would like to say I wish I had been advised to fly from Windhoek to Sossusvlei. I remember being advised specifically that the roads in Namibia were good. This was definitely not the case for our drive. To make matters worse the transport company that Expert Africa contracted to transfer us from Windhoek to Kulala sent us a vehicle with four extremely worn/bald tires, and only one spare. We had a flat tire within a few hours of our 7-hour journey. And then about an hour later incurred TWO more flats. No spares.

Took over 3 1/2 hours to get a helpful response from the transport company. Kept getting told it would be 20-30 minutes, multiple times. Finally reached out to Expert Africa after continuing to get the runaround from transport company management. The response from Expert Africa was not what I really expected, It was lackluster to say the least.

Tracy at the England office answered our call and did not offer much help, saying that she was going off shift shortly and advised us to essentially wait a couple hours if problem not resolved on its own and contact our booking agent in New Zealand when it became working hours in her time zone. Not an acceptable response after being stuck on the side of the road in the middle of Namibia for nearly 3 hours at that point. Very disappointing support experience when trouble arose.

It would also be nice if the transportation company contracted by expert africa would consider supplying at least some bottled water to drink. It’s a simple and inexpensive courtesy that I was shocked was not offered. As stated we were stuck on side of road for a total of nearly 4 hours, and did not have enough water to drink, the store at Solitare was closed by the time we made it to that pit stop area."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Image alt

An der Mole Apartment

"An der Mole Apartment review"

3 nights Arrived 13 May 2022
"Perfect place to stay for larger groups, or even if you’re not a large group.

very affordable, lovely oceanfront location, comfortable and roomy. LAUNDRY facilities in the apartment was a very big deciding factor in My decision to stay here. Swakopmund is a gem. Definitely recommend a visit to the town."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

14 May 2022 • All-day excursion

Enjoyed the visit to Sandwich Harbour.
Good
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali review"

4 nights Arrived 17 May 2022
"Just about a perfect experience at Nkwali. Robin Pope exceeds expectations when it comes to personal service of all the staff, such a warm and friendly place….wonderful meals, fantastic game drives, creativity of experiences with some sort of little surprise nearly every day. Also really loved the smaller size of the camp, made it feel very exclusive.

My only complaint is that the rooms are open air, which allows the baboons to wreck pure havoc on your personal belongings. Really wish there had been an option for a screened partition to keep the baboons out of the rooms. I realize the open air shower area also provides access to the baboons with the tree branches overhead. It is indeed a difficult situation to remedy.

It’s a lovely camp, my first impression of the open air concept was very positive, until I learned about the habits of the baboons in camp. In future I will definitely inquire whether there is some way to prevent larger animals from entering the rooms/tents. I do not mean this to be disparaging in any way against Nkwali camp.

It’s a unique experience and the South Luangwa NP is stunning and exciting to visit. Just be aware of the situation and make an informed decision."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

3 nights Arrived 21 May 2022
"Great place to stay when visiting Victoria Falls. There is access on hotel property to viewing area to see the Falls without having to pay extra national park fee. But the nicest advantage to staying here is your access to the Royal Livingstone Hotel just a short golf cart ride away. The Royal Livingstone offers a big upgrade on the meals and grounds.

So save yourself some cash and stay at the Avani to sleep, which is very comfortable. Take your meals at the Royal Livingstone. Free transport offered back and forth to the Avani guests. It’s also really fun to see the zebras and giraffes wandering the hotel grounds freely. Definitely makes you smile.

Also want to give a big thank you to Tom, the Concierge when I was there. Helped me organize a day trip to Hwange National Park across the border in Zimbabwe, even though it was not one of their “sanctioned” activities. I asked if it was possible any other way and he reached out to another contact and made it happen. Very thankful to get the help to make that happen.

It was an extremely long day and a lot of time traveling to and from, but worth the time and effort. Saw a huge pride of lions that I did not get to experience anywhere else on the trip."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2022
"Amazing accommodations, fully screened, so no issues with Baboons or other animals entering rooms here. The chef at Splash Camp is Michelin star worthy. Meals and “high tea” here were a definite highlight.

Loved the landscape of the Okavango Delta. My favorite animal sighting here was “Mr. Special”, a 12-year old cheetah with such a chill and friendly attitude towards the game drive vehicles. Got to spend a lot of time with him over the course of my 3-night stay."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team