This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by T & T from woodside

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

Driving around Namibia

Namibia between 14 Jul 2018 and 28 Jul 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was such a wonderful trip. Namibia is beautiful, the people are so friendly, and so much wildlife!

We rented an SUV and drove in a big loop around the country alternating driving days and exploring days, staying in nice lodges. Expert Africa did an awesome job organizing the trip for us. I had been worried about driving so much on gravel roads in isolated places, but everything worked out great. Being well prepared helped -- and Expert Africa helped a lot in that respect.

We enjoyed meeting the other guests at the lodges. The landscape is so incredibly beautiful. And we saw more wildlife than we could have imagined.

One of our best trips ever!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"nice place to stay "

1 night Arrived 14 Jul 2018
"This is what one calls a "pension" in Germany. Very comfortable with a great view from the balcony.

Awesome breakfast with eggs, cold cuts and yummy french toast. Because of the unseasonal storm it was too cold for breakfast on the balcony, and the staff moved the table into the room.

Friendly staff, and fine way to start our trip!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Super awesome!"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2018
"This place is a bunch of superlatives. The setting with the orange dunes is spectacular. Just the drive in is interesting as we saw Oryx, Ostriches and Jackal.

We parked and were welcomed and got a ride up the hill to the lodge. We had our own cabin/tent which opened up on a spectacular view. Meals are communal, very tasty, and with excellent company to chat with. Due to the odd stormy weather the nights were intense with incredible thunderclaps and wind, but by morning it would always clear.

We went out an excellent excursion, saw zebras and red hartebeast and oryx and Springbok. The landscape is iso incredible with the blue-green grass, the camelthorn trees and the red sand. In the evening we did the sundowner and became fascinated by some unusual flowers. The storm had caused a sudden greening of the landscape. Just an excellent experience -- the setting, the activities, the accommodations and the staff.

One has to have a ton of respect for Albi Brueckner -- and his vision both for this place and for Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"beautiful location"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2018
"Set against the edge of the mountains this lodge has a visually impressive location.

We were greeted on arrival by the super friendly and ever hard-working owner. We had a lovely cabin/tent of our own. The central lodge is an attractive building.

The staff is friendly and very hardworking. Very nice meals too. For our activity we took the day trip to Sossusvlei. They also gave us a nice bag lunch for the drive out.

Couldn't be better!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Incredible landscape!"

18 Jul 2018 • All-day excursion

The dune landscapes are visually stunning. We spent some time with the guide looking at animal tracks on the dunes, and dug out a white lady spider and a yellow scorpion for us.

We climbed up and down the dunes, admired the otherworldly dead forest, and then had a nice lunch watching gnu and secretary birds.

It was fun chatting with the guide and the other guests over some drinks as we contemplated the plain in front of us.

We were joined by the aptly named Sociable Warblers. On the way back we explored the Sesriem canyon where we encountered a Puff Adder.

Great adventure!
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"clean, quiet, nice place"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2018
"The Cornerstone guesthouse has relatively small, very clean rooms in a very quiet location convenient to the "downtown" and the beach. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. The room has a nice patio.

It was a fine base for exploring Swakopmund. We combined this with the Turnstone tour of Sandwich harbour which is highly worthwhile.

Our guide was entertaining, our fellow guests fascinating and we met some very friendly jackal, a hyena active in the daytime, seals, and lots and lots of flamingos and other sea birds."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"True highlight of trip"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2018
"What an amazing place. We had our own house to stay in. From the patio one could watch animals all day long. The birds come visiting and want one to put out birdseed, which is provided. Once one obliges one gets a true bird picnic. The Monteiro's hornbill is the clear ringleader. Meals are quite tasty. Again, very nice staff.

The activities were awesome. We encountered a leopard who had dragged his warthog dinner into a tree and was munching on it. He then came down and we surprised each other driving right past him, got some good closeups of a surprised looking leopard. We visited with cheetahs, who were in a mellow mood and purred like huge house cats. We saw a family of giraffes. And one of baboons. Lots of different antelopes - kudu, oryx, Springbok, duiker, impala, eland, the usual jackals.

A visit to the Africat Foundation was quiet interesting. Our guide was knowledgeable and interesting to talk with. After dinner we went on a night hike and from a blind watched hyenas having their dinner.

Truly a great experience!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"ok place to rest"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2018
"The location -- built onto huge rocks in the mountains -- is amazing. Our tent/cabin had an incredible view. And the sundowner is fabulous. We were a bit tired, so this was a good place to unwind a bit. We went for a nice hike in the morning -- saw a big flock of Springbok.

We did the afternoon execursion to see the Tweifelfontein rock art. The rock art is great, but the heat was brutal. It's too bad they don't do this excursion in the morning. On it's own though this place is a bit dull in comparison with the other places we visited, which was ok because we needed some down time.

The food was odd -- the menu is fine, and it looks pretty, but tastes weird. The chef has few taste buds. It felt more crowded with guests than the other places we stayed, and the service seemed a bit off at times, even-though the staff certainly is working hard to please. It's not a bad place, the setting is amazing, just doesn't quite compare to the other lodges we stayed (eg Woldewans).

A small thing about this place is they charge you for all drinks, even bottles of water. It's kind of like USA domestic airlines charging you random fees. No big deal really, but ... somehow this was our least favorite place on our trip. Maybe we had just gotten spoiled by all the other places."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Excellent!"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2018
"This is a very intimate, quiet camp where all the tents and the main eating area look out on a water hole. The water hole provides an endless supply of animals who come to drink -- all kids of anteopes (oryx, red hartebeast, kudu, eland, Springok, waterbuck, black-faced impala came by. At dawn hundreds of silly Guinea Fowl show up. It's too much fun watching the animals directly from the deck.

One interesting thing about this camp is that you can't leave the walkways, and you can't walk from building to building at night unescorted because there's no fence. The animals are right there. For our excursion we went out and found a bunch of lions who had killed a giraffe and were eating it. We got very close to some very bloody looking lions. We met a mother white rhino and baby at a waterhole. That night a whole family of rhinos came to the waterhole and splashed around while we were eating dinner, looking like pale ghosts in the moonlight.

The next morning we went to Etosha. We saw huge masses of zebras, gnu and antelopes politely taking turns one species at a time at the waterholes, Huge bull elephants slowly approached like some huge container ship and splashed into the waterhole for a drink, all the other animals giving them a wide berth. In camp a funny fat hyrax munched on leaves in a tree, and the Monteiro's hornbills came to our table again. Way fun! Our tent was comfortable -- but it is a tent, it gets cool at night in winter, although they do put a hot water bottle in the tent which sure helps. It was fun chatting with other guests. Our guide was great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2018
"We stayed there our first and last nights.

The second night was as good as the first, and this time the weather was good so we could actually enjoy breakfast on the balcony!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team