This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr S & Ms M from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Overall Trip

Namibia between 27 Sep 2009 and 12 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great. Saw and experienced everything we had hoped to and trip lived up to expectations in full."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Hilltop House review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2009
"Good option for first night in Namibia. Alan was very helpful - gifting a travel adapter to us for the entire trip (it turns out that what had been sold to us in the USA as a Namibia adapter was no good as the pins were too small since all the sockets are actually South African format).

Expert Africa --- be useful to advise clients that the typical multi-country adapters that traveller have are no use for Namibia - most places having SA sockets as indicated above. Also local supermarket stocked adapters at very low price."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2009
"Generally good. Felt that kitchen could have been more creative with food. Also, noticeable difference in quality of service on second night (seemed there had been a shift change)."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2009
"This definitely did not live up to expectations. Great location with excellent walking opportunities. Service was really poor (bordering on terrible). Food wasn't really up to much either. When we arrived we were met by the new owner, but she seemed more focused on some other stuff she was doing than checking us in - she also just pointed us in the direction of our room -- couldn't be bothered walking to it with us to show us the ropes so to speak.

At dinner the owners, their friend and the other guests all sat round one table. Very noticeable that the owners etc. served themselves first before offering any food from the pot to the paying guests. The next day a small coach load of guests arrived and dinner was delayed by over an hour until they returned from a sundowner drive -- note that it wasn't option to get a G&T before dinner at the Lodge itself because the sundowner party had taken all of the gin with them!

Breakfast on the first morning was poor - first we had to ask for food. Second, the teapot was empty. When owner joined our table and i pointed out the teapot needed refreshing she reached to the other table for a full coffee pot, since she wanted coffee, but the teapot remained empty.

Bottom line: the owners are not service-minded and no matter how much they renovate the place, i don't see the level of service improving beyond "poor"."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2009
"Very good. Welcoming and friendly hosts. Marked difference from Zebra River Lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"As far as location goes, this was perhaps the best place we stayed in Namibia.

Would have been nice to have had a few walks offered from the Lodge, but otherwise service good and only thing that could have been improved was food (perfectly safe but not particularly creative)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2009
"One of the best waterholes in the area. Rooms are not fancy but very comfortable. Meals are all buffet style.

Note that accommodation cost does NOT include park fees (contrary to Bradt Guide)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2009
"Ordinarily, this would have been a fine place to stay, however, many of the roads East of Halali and West of Springbokfontein are closed for the remainder of 2009.

This meant that a number of waterholes were inaccessible and that we needed to drive at least 20 kilometers each day to get to see any animals (waterholes with water). It was repetitive driving too --- one road in and one road out.

Expert Africa: While roads are closed I would avoid Halali and have guests stay at Okakuejo or Namatumi."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2009
"We were upgraded to a Bush Chalet (we had been booked into the Main Camp). This was superb.

Service was excellent and the best we experienced in Namibia. In addition the food was also excellent. Although the animals are in an 'enclosed' space -- this is so huge (thousands of square kilometers) that even the animals that are radio-collared were difficult to find."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2009
"Fine for a 2 night stay, not enough walking to warrant more than that. Location is very good and management/staff were very helpful.

Afternoon tea is certainly worth partaking in (great cakes). We were sufficiently impressed by the sundowner walk that we did it both nights."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team