This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr D & Mrs G from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Namibia

Namibia between 22 May 2009 and 8 Jun 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"A wonderful & memorable trip.

It's hard to say what's so great about Namibia, for me it was the sheer isolation and desertedness of the place (especially coming from London), driving for hours and maybe seeing 1 or 2 other cars. Lovely, friendly people. Guides who were all really passionate about what they do and their country, and proud of their country and their way of life.

An amazingly clean country, everyone really cared about keeping it clean and tidy, preserving their resources, looking after the wildlife, the environment etc.

Suggestions for improvements:

Your brochure is excellent compared to others I've used.

The only thing missing is an estimated price for the accommodation. This would be really helpful so we know whether we're choosing the most expensive or cheapest accommodation, and therefore, if for example, your quote is a bit high, we could've looked at choosing accommodation that might've brought the price down a little."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2009
"This was a lovely homely lodge. Our room was lovely and had everything we needed. The hosts (Merke & Tom) were lovely and really made us feel welcome.

Dinner was lovely sitting with the hosts and other guests, and the food was all beautiful, probably the best food we had on the entire trip. The location was superb, we did the canyon walk (4-5 hours) and the views were amazing. We also did a sundowner drive and the guide was very knowledgable on the geology, animals etc of the area.

It was quite a difficult drive from the main road to the lodge (around 5km) in a normal 2x2 car. We managed it, but had to go very slowly and we could hear the car scraping on the broken up road/stones etc.

All in all, a wonderful lodge, I would definitely recommend it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2009
"The chalets at KDL were lovely and well equiped, it had everything we needed. The meals were all very nice, including the afternoon tea. The serving staff were very quiet, it was often hard to hear what they were saying, but they were very efficient and polite. They also did some singing and dancing for us one night during dinner, which was wonderful.

I feel guest should be aware how expensive the trips are with camps under the Wilderness Safaris group, and it's a bit of a shock when you find out. Given how cheap things are locally, it's surprising to find out the main activities are around €100 per person for a 1/2 day trip.

We did the dune trip as that was the main reason for being there and it was an excellent experience. Our guide (Naguiri) was very knowledgable and really looked after us. We also did the self-guided walk along the river bed near the lodge and came across quite a few antilope.

The location can't be beaten as you can see the dunes from the lodge and watch the sunset over them from the deck, and their private entrance into the National Park is a real bonus for getting there for the sunrise."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2009
"RR was a nice stopping off point between the dunes and further north. I'm not sure there's enough there in itself to attract people, but as I say, a good spot if it's on your way.

The rooms were a little bit smaller than we'd had elsewhere, but still well equiped.

There's great views from all rooms, restaurant, pool area etc. over the area, and the resident zebra is cute. Don't get too close to the meerkats though, we stopped to take a photo and they all came out and chased up away!

The food was all very nice."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2009
"This was my favourite lodge on our 2 week trip. The tented rooms were lovely, very well equiped with mini-bar, kettle for tea etc. and their homemade mosquito repellent was excellent. The stone bathroom was huge.

The guides, and in fact all the staff, are what made it so special for us. We did walks with Kulis, Charlie and Charles and they were all so friendly, helpful, interesting and very knowledgable. They explain everything along the way about the trees, plants, geology, animal etc. and they were all really good fun to spend time with.

The food was also lovely, the serving staff were really lovely and friendly.

A wonderful place to stay, I would highly recommend it and was sad to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2009
"I have mixed feelings about Doro Nawas. The accommodation itself was by far the best we had i.e. the rooms were huge, well equiped, beautiful decor etc..and I loved the outdoor shower! But I found the staff almost unfriendly and when we asked for things e.g. ice in our drinks, butter for our toast, I got the impression it was a hassle for them.

I was also left with a bad taste in my mouth due to the cost of their activites. As I mentioned with Kulala Desert Lodge, I find the camps under the Wilderness Safari group very expensive. But where as I found the dune trip with Kulala worth it for what was included, I didn't with Doro Nawas. Given how cheap things are locally N$1,305 for the elephant trip was silly.

The main reason for going to this lodge is to see the desert elephants, but you can't drive yourself, so you have to join their trip, so I guess they can charge what they like. It was basically a game drive, and the independant lodges we visited generally charged around N$200 for a game drive. The lodge is in a lovely area, and it was great to see the elephants, but the cost of it spoilt the experience."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2009
"This was a very friendly lodge. They don't have animals in the same numbers as in Etosha itself, but we really enjoyed the game drives.

The rooms were lovely, the food was excellent and serving staff were really friendly and helpful. It was nice to have buffet style meals as the amount of meat was becoming too much by this point on our trip, so it was great to see some vegetables!

The owners drove us out to the hide one day and left us for 2 hours, which was lovely as we saw an elephant (as well as looots of zebra, oryx, springbok etc). The lookout point from the main lodge was also good, and pool lovely. It was all set out very nicely.
A very enjoyable stay."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2009
"We had a Bush Chalet, which was very good with lots of room and a little living room and kitchen area. We were also quite near the waterhole, where we saw LOTS of animals - lots of zebra and antelope during the day, and elephant & rhino at night.

The animals were of course the highlight and the camp is excellently placed for that.

The restaurant is slightly school-dinner style. It was all buffet style, which is difficult when there's around 100 people in there, and it was hard to get a waiter's attention for drinks etc.

For the location it was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2009
"This was the friendliest lodge - all the staff were incredibly friendly. There weren't many activities, but it was a lovely place to relax, it had a very homely and relaxing feel to it. The rooms were lovely, with fridge, kettle etc. and bath & shower.

The food was lovely and wonderfully presented.

The staff were wonderfully chatty and friendly and very easy to get along with and gave the place a wonderful feel. Mr Indongo picked his staff well!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team